Ratings based on 99 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Embassyfrom Convention center Washington DC

Disappointing but adequate

Posted Jul 4, 2013
There was no cell service in the hotel especially in our room. Web reported room came with free wifi. Only free wifi was in the lobby. Very inconvenient . When I asked @desk they were aware of what the Internet said but said it wasn't available in the room. Parking had almost $10 per day in additional taxes above the $39/ day advertised.  Breakfast was terrific. Omelets cooked to order.
1 out of 5
by Neversleepatembassysuites

Very disappointed

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy, dirty and over priced, poor service and management, no blanket for the pull-out
We checked in Very late after driving from VA to Jersey City and then back down to DC in one trip, we were expecting to check into a very nice suite. When we arrived, we could not get for what we paid for and lost money right off the bat! The Desk clerk made us wait at 3AM and then came back out to give us our key. My impression was that she told staff to go clean the room while we waited. When we checked in the room was dark and much smaller than we requested, it almost appeared grungy. The bathroom had a foul odor that smelled like something I would rather not say. There was an old bar of soap in the bathtub, along with hair, that looked like it was there from shaving. The walls were paper-thin and I could hear a woman singing and very loud little kids early in the morning. Then there was NO HOT WATER!!!This was a huge disappointment because we wanted the larger room for a family gathering the next day. We were celebrating Easter on Saturday as we could not be together on Sunday and we had driven in from all over. I specifically wanted the larger table. The desk clerk told me the General Manager had just resigned and gave me the card for the interim manager. I checked the next day, he was too busy to talk with me, and we could not change rooms. I gave my number and he never called back. I can say we do a lot of business with people coming into DC and I would never send anyone there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rich4221from San Francisco, CA, USA

Last Minute Early Check-in

Posted Mar 11, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
Allowed us to check in several hours early after a morning meeting was cancelled. Much appreciated.
2 out of 5
by Dclocal1828from Dc

Unhappy with my experience

Posted Jan 5, 2013
Cons: No free Internet
I was disappointed with my experience. I only chose this hotel because it offered a smoking room. Unfortunately, I was notified that all smoking rooms were unavailable because the carpets were getting cleaned. The only room they could give me was a smaller, non-smoking suite. I got the room for New Year's Eve and I questioned the fact that they would pick that day to clean carpets. The man told me that they don't guarantee rooms when I book from a third party website too.
2 out of 5
by inst1gaterfrom New York, NY, USA

Will not stay again! Filthy Indoor Pool and could hear neighbors!

Posted Jan 3, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast
Cons: Noisy, dirty pool
Okay. First off let me say that the reason why we chose this hotel was for the indoor pool! My daughter loves pools and being that it's winter here in NYC, we thought it would be fun to stay at a hotel with a pool. The pool area was so gross! There was chewed up fruit everywhere and the floor was full of standing water. The temperature of the water in the pool was uncomfortably chilly. I tried out the jacuzzi and there was foam in it. First time ever in a hotel pool that is full of foam. That's not even the nastiest part. After getting out of the pool, there was this stuff caked on my shoulder. I was either dead skin cells or who knows what but I then noticed there was brown junk or skin cells on top of the foam. I ran over to a soap dispenser on the wall and attempted to scrub the junk off my shoulders and turned on the shower and waited and waited and waited for the water to turn warm but it never did........so I had to go into the pool to rinse off the soap. At this point the disgust was just too much so we returned to our room! Our room was fairly clean, we ordered food which was also decent but really expensive, took a shower and went to bed. At this point, I could clearly hear one set of neighbors fighting in one room and another set of neighbors going on it! Were they filming a movie? I dunno. But there was moaning and slapping and pounding going on so maybe....... I was afraid my 8 year old was going to wake up and I was going to have to explain how there was a gym next door and they were just working out really hard! Luckily, she never woke up. The breakfast was really good though and the housekeepers were extremely polite. Will not stay there again though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ADCTravelerfrom NC

Great place to stay!

Posted Jan 1, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants
The price was inexpensive compared to other hotels. The valet parking was $46 a day but it was available for guests and has in and out privalages. It is a one mile walk to the air and space museum. The Verizon center is close by. We walked almost everyday. We used a taxi the last day and it was not very expensive. The included breakfast buffet was great, just really busy after 8:30am. I would recoment this hotel and will stay here again for future visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Grammy5from Flagstaff, AZ, USA

Great hotel in DC

Posted Oct 23, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet
We enjoyed staying at the Embassy Suites at the Convention Center. The breakfasts were great! The staff was courteous and always ready to help. I met my son, daughter in law and grandkids. They had a great time, too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Franchxfrom Montreal, QC, Canada

Free quality breakfast and well situated

Posted Sep 14, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Free Internet
Excellent price-quality ratio,close to the white house and the washington mall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Gangnamstylefrom Gaithersburg, MD, USA

DC hotel in good location with swimming pool

Posted Sep 12, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, swimming pool
My family (with two young children ages 7 and 4 years) spent a recent weekend in the District of Columbia and stayed at the Embassy Suites by the convention center. One of the main reasons for choosing this hotel was that it had a swimming pool. The swimming pool was small and very crowded in the evenings, but less crowded in the morning hours. Another reason why I chose this hotel was its offering of free hot breakfast, which was generally good. It had the usual hotcakes, bacon, eggs, etc., but also offered an made-to-order omelets. The last reason I chose this hotel was it's location, which is a 10-minute walk to the White House, and 15-minutes to the Washington Monument and the mall for the Smithsonian museums. Although the area seems generally safe, there is currently a lot of construction nearby across the street. However, I didn't hear too much street noise surprisingly. Although we stayed in one of the larger suites, it was still modest in size and may not have been worth the price compared to a standard suite. Overall, the Embassy Suites is generally clean and affordable, and is a good hotel to consider if you want a hotel with a pool near the convention center or the monuments and Smithsonian museums.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by retire49from milwaukee wi

great stay in dc

Posted Sep 11, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Free Internet, Quiet
Cons: Nothing close
start the day with great free breakfast end with free drinks at managers reception. Staff was very helpful and friendly