Ratings based on 17 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by EHMomfrom Elbert, CO

Spectacular View!

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Our stay was fantastic -- the pools/spa were tons of fun and everyone enjoyed it from my 1 1/2 year old daughter to my 70 year old Dad.  The slide was intense and we really had fun sitting in the hot tub outside while it snowed! The rooms were nice, although a bit worn, but all that could be forgiven because the room had a fabulous view.  We paid for a "courtyard" view and instead looked over the Mountain Village and at the peaks surrounding Telluride.  It was amazing.  The brunch was reasonably priced and pretty nice.  The hotel's location was fantastic, service excellent and overall it was incredible, particularly for the price.  We would absolutely stay there again and highly recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A travelerfrom Conifer CO

August 2010 Most Enjoyable Stay

Posted Feb 12, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet, fabulous room with plush beds
I took my Sister there for her 1st time visit to Telluride and was NOT disappointed! The lobby area has fantastic mountain views, the staff were most helpful, the room just wonderful with beautiful plush decor and all the amenities. I was particularly impressed by the large spa for women-only (so no bathing suit needed) with a 1st Class shower & prep area that made me feel like royalty. The gondola to town is a short pleasant walk from the hotel so we didn't need our car. I hope to stay there again with my husband next Summer & try the breakfast buffet which we unfortunately missed (I heard it's great).
3 out of 5
by A traveler

renovations

Posted Jul 12, 2009
The Peaks Resort is under going renovations which started early in morning with workers outside my room making lots of noise. The hotel restaurants are not all open so your choice is to eat in the bar or at the pool for lunch and dinner with a very limited menu. The hotel staff was very nice and took good care of my needs. The construction will not be completed until the fall. The rooms are big but in need of updating. All that being said the price of the room was really good but they did charge a resort fee which I think under the current conditions of the hotel they should wave until the construction is complete.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Wonderful Resort, Nicest, most accommodating employees

Posted Dec 30, 2008
When arrived on Dec. 22, 08 the resort had just completed a major renovation. The resort was beautiful, decorated for Christmas, lots of employees to take care of guests. Any problems were quickly addressed. Ski rental and storage was right downstairs and the ski valet had your skis outside the door ready for you to put your boots in and ski away to the lift at the bottom of the hill! We are now spoiled to go anywhere else. They never expected a thing from us and always greeted us with a smile and helpful attitude. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet (on the breakfast package - very reasonable) which included everything you could think of - eggs benedict to Kashi cereal to chocolate croissants to oatmeal - EVERYTHING. My teens will be disappointed to go back home to the usual. The Peaks has the charm of a small hotel with all the amenities of a large resort. The Spa is amazing. We enjoyed the whirlpools, saunas, indoor/outdoor pool, facials, body wraps, herb tea in the meditation room while we relaxed after our spa treatments. Telluride is beautiful and uncrowded. No lift lines! We had a great experience at the Peaks and Telluride - (can you tell?)
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Highs & Lows

Posted Dec 10, 2008
This resort is huge! The front desk did not provide any directions on how to navigate around the resort. We had to ask the parking valet which door to exit through to get to the gondola that goes to town. The front desk also did not explain the Winter Package that gave us a $50 credit on our account while we were there until we were CHECKING OUT. The foreigners that worked in the restaurant, parked the car, & worked in the ski shop were FANTASTIC! The locals need to learn from them on how to provide customer service. The resort is beautiful & the location is great.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Once upon a time it was a top hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2008
The services at the spa are still top notch and the staff is still very helpful. The location is perfect. The hotel has been under new management for the last 18 months or so. It was originally part of the well known Wyndam chain. We have stayed here on a number of our trips over the last eight years. This time was different. We came to find out upon arrival that the new owners abruptly pulled all the money for a large scale renovation that was supposed to take place last year. But by the time the monies got pulled the renovators had already pulled all the fixtures from the hotel, including the tubs and brass fixtures and donated all the western furniture to an Indian reservation. At the last minute they had to quickly paint the rooms (bright white) and attain furniture from the liquidation of a hotel that was going under in San Francisco. Aside from the very comfortable bed and the wonderful view -- the room looked very cheap and slapped together.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Great place

Posted Aug 24, 2008
There is such a grab bag of reviews on this hotel. We are her on a family summer vacation. We found our stay to most enjoyable. This hotel has stunning views of the surrounding mountains and is close to the free gondola that takes you into town. The bell staff was very friendly when we pulled up and the desk staff was as well when we checked in. Our luggage was promptly brought up and the room which we found to be very well appointed. It was spacious sunset vista room with a nice walkout balcony. It was a little weird that the tub was covered, but was tastefully done. Some people make it sound like they put some cheap plywood over it and left it. Ours looked more like a finished bench. The bed was comfortable and the sitting area was roomy. The hotel lobby areas are beautiful as are the grounds around it. We went into town to try a variety of restaruants, but the breakfast at the hotel was good. For the price, I thought it was worth it as long as you don't have super high expectations. It's probably not a 4 star, but surely 3 to 3.5. The downside would be the $25/day conveinience fee for internet and ammenities, and the $18/day valet fee which both seem a liitle extreme. Lobby drinks are also expensive. All in all I'd stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

peaks resort

Posted Aug 4, 2008
Thank goodness I didn't pay more than 200.00 for this room, definitly not a four star property, Although the public areas of the building were well maintained and lovely,our sunset guestroom was not . buttons on old phone didn't work,clock couldn't be set, marks on wall, mismatched and outdated furniture, poor drainage in the bathroom, many of the amenities weren't funtioning such as stairway to spa, tiles and masonary near pool. irratatingly noisey construction daily starting at 7am. Except for the beautiful setting and views of Mountain Village an Telluride itself the properties available to stay in this area leave a lot to be desired. Having been employed in the hospitality industry for more than 25 years, I'd say this property seemed to be managed by amateurs, unless they think they can survive on location alone, they will need to find a proffesional in the hospitality business to bring this hotel up to even 4 star standards
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Great Vacation!

Posted Jul 20, 2008
Telluride is a great destination, the Peaks helped make our family vacation wonderful. We definitely plan to visit again!
1 out of 5
by A traveler

2 star hotel, past its prime, with 4 star prices

Posted Jul 11, 2008
valet parking overcharged daily rate 2x; hotel security was only manager available who advised staff was either in spa or gym and not available; this is hotel past prime, chgs prime rates, abuses own employees, has poor reputation in Telluride for overcharging guests, as we were advised to check our bill on departure and it proved good advice!