Ratings based on 22 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
1 out of 5
by A travelerfrom dallas,tx

small rooms.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
No internet in the rooms. tv is from the 1980s. small room. not 4 star.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom connecticut

Nice hotel on main strip in colonial area

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Hotel staff was pleasant, hotel restaurant food was ok, wifi only worked in hotel lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by latamtravelfrom Chicago, IL, USA

friendly and good service

Posted Mar 27, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet
The hotel staff were extremely helpful and approachable. The rooms were clean, the bed comfortable, the room quiet, the breakfast delicious and healthy. We only had one minor problem, which was that the lock on our door ran out of battery twice, but maintenance worked on the issue straight away. I would certainly recommend the hotel to friends traveling to Santo Domingo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Elanafrom Atlanta, GA

The staff at this Hotel made me feel welcome and it is in a good locale

Posted Mar 10, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet
My family and I (10 of us) were in Santo Domingo for my son's wedding last year. The Hotel was clean and the included breakfast was very satisfying GREAT food. My sister and her family were booked at another Hotel and I with the help of the Manager at Mercure, got them to moved to our Hotel. The staff, including the Manager were very professional and accomodating. The location is great, we did some shopping in the area, and its surrounded by good Retaurants. I hope to go back there for 5 nights next month.
2 out of 5
by Atlreddfrom Atlanta, GA, USA

The price of the room is great but I would not return because staff is horrible.

Posted Dec 2, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast
Cons: Noisy, not feeling very safe in hotel
The hotel as a whole is decent for the price. It is clean, you get a free breakfast, and it is central to everything. HOWEVER, if you are looking for attentive staff, PLEASE go elsewhere. I believe the hotel staff work in conjunction with the taxi staff and the local, should I say, "other incentives" that most people go to Santo Dominigo for. They do not do anything to deter being accosted by local prositutes that permeate the area. A fellow guest was nearly robbed at the door of the hotel and they made it seem like it was the guests fault. They insinuated that we knew the culprit and somewhat deserved the attempted robbery. On another occasion, I was taken to an area mall and charged for the ride. However, I took a taxi back with another driver. The driver came back a couple of days later and told the hotel staff that they came back to the mall to pick me up. Long story short, I had to pay for him coming back to pick me up, his gas, as he put it, although I got a ride with another taxi driver. The staff person did NOTHING during the entire altercation. I would NOT recommend this hotel if you are looking to feel secure and safe in a country that speaks very little English and especially if this is your first time in Santo DOmingo. This was my third time at the hotel and If I do go back to Santo Domingo, I will not be staying at the Mercure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Deaniefrom Nebraska

This hotel was excellent, I would recommend it to a friend.

Posted Apr 12, 2011
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was helpful, the food in the restaurant was excellent, and our room was clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend it to a friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by btdwarffrom Vienna, VA

Great location to see the old part of Santo Domingo.

Posted Feb 21, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, great location
The hotel is located on the main pedestrian mall which runs through the Santo Domingo colonial distict. The hotel is within easly walking distance to all of the sights within the colonial district. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was more than adequate and offered good variety. There are many good restaurants near by for dinner. Street parking is available right outside the hotel. It's best to fold in your side view mirror when you park your car to preserve it. If you are driving, print a blow up of the colonial district which shows the direction of streets as most streets in the colonial district are one-way. The Diego Colon house and nearby museum are the best places to see in the colonial district.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by kramosfrom honduras

The Hotel was welcoming and located in the perfect area

Posted Feb 3, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, people were friendly
The hotel is in a perfect location to get to see most of the touristic places in Santo Domingo. Everything in the old town is in a walking distance. The people were graceful and I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Would Stay Again

Posted Jan 15, 2011
This hotel is a good place to enjoy a good relaxed vacation. Close to resturants and nightlife if you prefer either. Shops everywhere and if you like to walk or take a taxi. Youll enjoy the weather. I was there in October last year and will stay again. Just didnt like the surprise of hotel deposit when i arrived. But in all the service is excellent. And nice friendly people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler

Great Hotel!!

Posted Oct 30, 2010
At first i was kind of skeptical about the positive reviews because of the price of the hotel (very affordable), but i made the reservation anyways.When i got there i was very impressed with the hotel,it doesnt look like a hotel only when you enter you realize its a hotel.The lobby is very clean,the rooms are small but very clean and well kept.Since one only goes to sleep at the hotel,its perfect.There is a hard rock cafe very close,a supermarket also for you personal needs.Security is not an issue, there are tourist Police everywhere,there are some undesirables walking around but nothing some common sense cant resolve.Ive stayed at the Hilton and intercontinental hotels on business but this one is definately an option next time.Check in is a little slow but the service is good and the breakfast is awesome.The bed is good not super but good.Would defianetely recommend.