Ratings based on 136 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Located near good transportation for San Francisco

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Cons: Phone kept showing messages on light. Called operator, who said there were no messages twice. She said she would send someone to fix it but never di
Location: Busses and streetcar right outside the entrance.
Good experience with hotel and the staff. Beautiful older hotel. Enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Floriday

Unsafe Hotel w/possibilities egregious staff!!

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Lobby charm was decent.
Cons: Staff and repairing the rooms. I do not blame property for unsafe neighborhood.
Location: Nothing to do nearby as it is to unsafe.
The hotel is located in the most unsafe location in all of San Francisco. The hotel itself had some charm at first glance however it all fell apart when getting into actual room. Room looked really nice upon entering until I realized the sink didn't drain until it hit the overflow hole. The drain cover over the floor drain in the shower was simply laying over the hole. I stepped on it and it popped right out leaving the drain hole wide open. I asked to have both items fixed both days of my stay with nothing being done. I should have realized after they did not clean my room after my first nights stay that getting them to fix something was a waste of time. I stay in hotels about 75 nights per year and have done so for 10 plus years now. The most unbelievable thing I have ever experienced happened at this hotel. I was checking out and standing in line. I was about 5 feet behind the family at the counter. When the two parents and two kids were done the parents and one child turned to the right to leave, the 5 year old girl (I am guessing) accidentally turn left and ended up running into me. Poor little kid was embarrassed, her parents and I laughed about it but what happened next was incredible. The staff member behind the counter as I approached said to another staff member " some people have no manners or class " I felt it was being directed to me so I asked if it was and he said yes as I almost ran over the little girl. Cleary he did not see the entire event unf
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Chandler, Arizona

Nice hotel easily reached by BART from the airport

Posted May 12, 2015
Having to depend on public transportation, this hotel is right next to BART, Street cars, and buses. It is "downtown" close to many tourist destinations but for people who are not used to big city noises or seeing a' great diversity of people, stay away from the downtown area.. We found the old architecture charming---it is an old hotel with many flourishes, decorated ceilings, lots of beveled mirrors in hallways next to the elevators, etc. It was clean and functioning and the personnel cordial and helpful. The hotel restaurant is very good, not inexpensive, More upscale.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Nosiey

Posted Apr 20, 2015
I couldn't sleep as I could hear everyone walking in the hallway and then had to listen to two separate "vomiting" episodes through the night! Then, discovered my passenger side door had been scratched by Valet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

It was Good

Posted Mar 24, 2015
It's was comfortable n clean. I'd stay again there. Just the lady's at counter were rude. That's the only thing. The cleaning staff were nice and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Marysville, mi

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Loved the location. Nice hotel. Historical building and have a floor with history of the building during the big earthquake would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Christchurch, New Zealand

Centre City San Francisco

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Great heritage experience
Cons: No... nice place
Location: SFJazz concert venue
Stayed for only one night and was an excellent heritage hotel in the heart of the city with comfortable rooms and excellent service. Would recommend to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from East Bay California

Okay for price during World Series.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Rooms were old, no handle on the inside of the tiny bathroom. My boyfriend got LOCKED inside the bathroom! Couldn't reach the front desk, called housekeeping and they laughed when I told them. Waited for engineering to get to the room to pull the knob off and pry open the door. Needless to say we did not close the bathroom door for the rest of the trip per maintenance request. Made for an uncomfortable first trip as a couple, but a funny story to tell.....
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Philadelphia

Shabby Hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2014
This hotel was shabby and dark. I checked for bedbugs and didn't see any evidence of them, but I was still afraid they were lurking there. The carpeting seemed dirty and the bathroom could have definitely used an upgrade. The air conditioner and bathroom fan made a lot of noise and the closet didn't have a light. The only plus was the fact that there was a Starbucks adjacent to the lobby. I would never stay here again.
1 out of 5
by businesstraveler212

Just Don't Stay Here

Posted Nov 4, 2013
There isn't many nice things I can say about my stay at Hotel Whitcomb. Here are a few highlights: - Location/Area is overwhelmed with homeless. I could not step out onto the street without being hassled. And in the morning, the Starbucks would have frequent homeless visitors asking customers for food or money. Hold on to your purses ladies because they get pushy and aggressive. - The room I stayed in was cheaply renovated. The bathroom seemed to have no renovation at all. Toilet and bath tub were disgusting (old and falling apart). - For the 2 nights that I stayed, I was woken up at 1am both night to the sound of banging pipes. - Room walls are very thin. You can hear everything clear as day from your neighbors. - There was construction going on outside my window. I was woken very early in the morning (5am) to the sound of someone unloading a truck of metal pieces. - Elevators were not always working and had to take the stairs a few times during my stay. - Bell man was slow and not very helpful. Take my advice and don't stay here.