Ratings based on 133 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Nosiey

Posted Apr 20, 2015
I couldn't sleep as I could hear everyone walking in the hallway and then had to listen to two separate "vomiting" episodes through the night! Then, discovered my passenger side door had been scratched by Valet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

It was Good

Posted Mar 24, 2015
It's was comfortable n clean. I'd stay again there. Just the lady's at counter were rude. That's the only thing. The cleaning staff were nice and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Marysville, mi

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Loved the location. Nice hotel. Historical building and have a floor with history of the building during the big earthquake would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Christchurch, New Zealand

Centre City San Francisco

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Great heritage experience
Cons: No... nice place
Location: SFJazz concert venue
Stayed for only one night and was an excellent heritage hotel in the heart of the city with comfortable rooms and excellent service. Would recommend to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A travelerfrom East Bay California

Okay for price during World Series.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Rooms were old, no handle on the inside of the tiny bathroom. My boyfriend got LOCKED inside the bathroom! Couldn't reach the front desk, called housekeeping and they laughed when I told them. Waited for engineering to get to the room to pull the knob off and pry open the door. Needless to say we did not close the bathroom door for the rest of the trip per maintenance request. Made for an uncomfortable first trip as a couple, but a funny story to tell.....
2 out of 5
by A travelerfrom Philadelphia

Shabby Hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2014
This hotel was shabby and dark. I checked for bedbugs and didn't see any evidence of them, but I was still afraid they were lurking there. The carpeting seemed dirty and the bathroom could have definitely used an upgrade. The air conditioner and bathroom fan made a lot of noise and the closet didn't have a light. The only plus was the fact that there was a Starbucks adjacent to the lobby. I would never stay here again.
1 out of 5
by businesstraveler212

Just Don't Stay Here

Posted Nov 4, 2013
There isn't many nice things I can say about my stay at Hotel Whitcomb. Here are a few highlights: - Location/Area is overwhelmed with homeless. I could not step out onto the street without being hassled. And in the morning, the Starbucks would have frequent homeless visitors asking customers for food or money. Hold on to your purses ladies because they get pushy and aggressive. - The room I stayed in was cheaply renovated. The bathroom seemed to have no renovation at all. Toilet and bath tub were disgusting (old and falling apart). - For the 2 nights that I stayed, I was woken up at 1am both night to the sound of banging pipes. - Room walls are very thin. You can hear everything clear as day from your neighbors. - There was construction going on outside my window. I was woken very early in the morning (5am) to the sound of someone unloading a truck of metal pieces. - Elevators were not always working and had to take the stairs a few times during my stay. - Bell man was slow and not very helpful. Take my advice and don't stay here.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Jb1958from Ft Lauderdale, FL

Old hotel needs updating

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Good location if you and get past the homeless people. Maid kept our room clean but the bathroom needed to be gutted. No room service, no coffee in room however Starbucks on lobby. Never ate at hotel. I was told for San Francisco the room rates were good. Would not stay there again however if you just want basic it wii do.  Friendly maids and bell hops. I information desk was also helpful. Would recommend with a warning, do not expect much service and get ready for the homeless/ beggars as soon as you step out the door.
2 out of 5
by Suneefrom New Hampshire

Never again!

Posted Sep 22, 2013
Terrible customer service!  Terrible area!  Lots of homeless & pan handlers right outside the door!  Not once did we feel welcomed!  Front desk personnel need lessons in customer service - starting with smiling!
1 out of 5
by Suneefrom New Hampshire

Never Again!!

Posted Sep 13, 2013
Customer service is obviously not practiced at this hotel.  The only smiles & greetings were from the bell hops & housekeepers!  The front desk personnel bordered on rude!  The location was questionable as there were a lot of homeless & beggars right outside the door.