Ratings based on 127 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
1 out of 5
by businesstraveler212

Just Don't Stay Here

Posted Nov 4, 2013
There isn't many nice things I can say about my stay at Hotel Whitcomb. Here are a few highlights: - Location/Area is overwhelmed with homeless. I could not step out onto the street without being hassled. And in the morning, the Starbucks would have frequent homeless visitors asking customers for food or money. Hold on to your purses ladies because they get pushy and aggressive. - The room I stayed in was cheaply renovated. The bathroom seemed to have no renovation at all. Toilet and bath tub were disgusting (old and falling apart). - For the 2 nights that I stayed, I was woken up at 1am both night to the sound of banging pipes. - Room walls are very thin. You can hear everything clear as day from your neighbors. - There was construction going on outside my window. I was woken very early in the morning (5am) to the sound of someone unloading a truck of metal pieces. - Elevators were not always working and had to take the stairs a few times during my stay. - Bell man was slow and not very helpful. Take my advice and don't stay here.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Jb1958 from Ft Lauderdale, FL

Old hotel needs updating

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Good location if you and get past the homeless people. Maid kept our room clean but the bathroom needed to be gutted. No room service, no coffee in room however Starbucks on lobby. Never ate at hotel. I was told for San Francisco the room rates were good. Would not stay there again however if you just want basic it wii do.  Friendly maids and bell hops. I information desk was also helpful. Would recommend with a warning, do not expect much service and get ready for the homeless/ beggars as soon as you step out the door.
2 out of 5
by Sunee from New Hampshire

Never again!

Posted Sep 22, 2013
Terrible customer service!  Terrible area!  Lots of homeless & pan handlers right outside the door!  Not once did we feel welcomed!  Front desk personnel need lessons in customer service - starting with smiling!
1 out of 5
by Sunee from New Hampshire

Never Again!!

Posted Sep 13, 2013
Customer service is obviously not practiced at this hotel.  The only smiles & greetings were from the bell hops & housekeepers!  The front desk personnel bordered on rude!  The location was questionable as there were a lot of homeless & beggars right outside the door.  
3 out of 5
by ThePatriot from Miami, FL

Fair review

Posted Aug 13, 2013
The hotel was well connected to public transportation, in addition, if you have a car instead of paying 35 plus tax for parking at the hotel, you could go to the Civic Center parking which cost 1 USD per hour from 9:00pm to 9:00am. The bad thing about the hotel is that is surrounded by homeless and weird people.
2 out of 5
by disappointed66 from San Francisco, CA

Historic but Shabby - A big Disappointment.

Posted Jul 31, 2013
This hotel at one time was quite a top rate hotel. But unfortunately it now is shabby and they have not been keeping up with repairs. The room I was given had a toilet that was hard to flush and ran most of the night. The air conditioner unit was very loud and woke me up at night whenever it came on. The five nights I was there, I was never given the right number of towels for 2 people. The walls in the room had paint chipped off. Most of the things I have listed, to me seem easy enough to keep up with. The hotel is located in an area where there is a high population of homeless people begging for money. It made for an unpleasant visit to San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Waltocsliving from Kingman, AZ

Great Location, Great beds!

Posted May 10, 2013
We had such a great time, the hotel rooms were quaint and clean. The beds are super! Location is everything, and the location of this hotel is perfect. We were able to walk through China Town, to the Wharf and all along the piers. Just a short distance to AT&T Park to watch a game. The food in the little diners was awesome and plentiful. We had a great time!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by SCOTTANDJOSE from Calexico

I would stay here again.

Posted Apr 12, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants
I was reluctant to stay here do to the reviews I read. However, my experience was as follows: I arrived and was impressed with the lobby. It is elegant and clean. The staff checked me in quickly and were very efficient and friendly. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. This place is a very good value for your dollar. The room was clean but dated. It's an old hotel and you can tell it has not been updated in quite some time. The room color was not very pleasing for my taste "canary yellow" and there were some cosmetic issues that could have been fixed. For example a shoddy light fixture in the bathroom. But nothing to prevent me from staying there again. Now, the outside area was not so pleasant at night (riff raff).
5 out of 5
Recommended
by rpoole25 from Vancouver, WA, USA

Good location

Posted Apr 6, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
Cons: can get noisy early due to construction outside, no breakfast
This hotel has the Bart right outside the door as were the buses. A convenient location a few blocks from Union Square and many other popular locations. My plane was well after check out and the staff took care of my luggage so I could do a little more site seeing. To top it off, Starbuck's is in the lobby. What more could you want?
4 out of 5
Recommended
by MidwesternFamily from Ohio

One other thing

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, historical museum about the hotel
Cons: faded glory
We just wrote the other review and forgot a couple of things: 1. Nice fitness center. 2. In-hotel restaurant. 3. A must-see: The hotel has a little "historical museum" almost hidden in two small rooms at the mezzanine level: A collection of artifacts from the hotel's century-old history, including many of the elaborate menus from the 1920 with prices, advertisements and flyers, old photographs, 1940s bling such as matchbooks (including some old racist ones, probably from the 1930s). See photos.