Ratings based on 145 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Long Island, N.Y.

The people at Nikko hotel were amazing!!!!

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: The staff was the best part!!! Van fishing (waiter) and Desiree (concierge desk) deserve a raise!!! They both provided outstanding service!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: At a certain hour it's hard to get outside the hotel. Should be more specific that king size is smaller, room service selection wasn't great
Location: If your in shape and not lazy you could walk everywhere (in San Francisco) from the hotel. Close to union square, not far from china town.
Everything was GREAT with one exception. I live in N.Y. and apparently I'm not familiar with a "California king bed" when I selected a king size bed I imagined it would be much bigger than the queen I have at home. It was slightly bigger than my queen and much smaller than a "king" sized bed. It was very comfortable though. We passed many hotels during our stay and even stopped in a few of them. This is one of the nicest hotels San Francisco has to offer. I was not impressed with the room service selection but that wasn't a big deal at all. The mini I pad in the room is a nice touch although it didn't work when we tried to order room service with it, as it said we could. As soon as I arrived I was asked if I wanted to upgrade my room for an additional fee per day, best decision! For that extra fee you get breakfast every day in the main restaurant, use of the pool/jacuzzi every day, and a wine/cheese service daily for a few hours. It was worth the extra money and they even moved us to the highest floor which had a great view of the city!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from d

Good Review for Hotel Nikko

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Stayed for extended weekend for a meeting. Very quiet, clean and centrally located. The morning breakfast buffet was quite spectacular and the morning wait staff was efficient and pleasant.
2 out of 5
by RoamAroundTheWorld from Sacramento, CA, United States

It should be called Hotel Nikko and Dime

Posted Dec 4, 2013
The room was nice and the location was great but the overall lasting impression we had was the ridiculous nickel and dime charges. Want to use the gym? That's a couple dozen dollars extra. Need wi-fi? Tack on another Jackson. Kind of silly when you can go down the street to Starbucks and use theirs for free. The straw that broke the camels back; however, was my missing quarters after parking in their pricey valet lot. Good grief - stay elsewhere. We come to the city often have have stayed in much better places with in-kind amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by willclarkfan from Los Angeles, CA

Great hotel in Union Square

Posted Oct 16, 2013
We celebrated our 8th wedding anniversary by spending a weekend in SF. At check-in, the attendant upgraded us to the Emperor's Level with a city view. Awesome! The hotel room was clean, comfy bed. The Emperor's Level lounge was great (free continental breakfast and daily wine and cheese reception). The hotel was central to shops, restaurants, BART station, Powell cable car line.
3 out of 5
by Argimiro from New York, NY

SO...SO...

Posted Oct 10, 2013
Striking lack of employees. Unsuficient for a Hotel of these stars and of those prices. Cold Reception: Automatic. Sushi Bar: No on Monday Room very small: OK. The carpet VERY DIRTY: THAT NOT OK ... All disappointing: Less Lobby (?!)
2 out of 5
by dontcare from Los Angeles

Who still charges for wi-fi?

Posted Oct 9, 2013
I was very excited to stay at this hotel, as I don't normally go outside of my "points program" hotels. I was very unhappy to learn that Nikko is a nickel and dime hotel. Anything and everything you wanted, was an additional charge. I am still mad that they wanted to charge for wi-fi in the room. In this day where wi-fi is offered free on airplanes, being charged a fee in my hotel room is unbelieveable. Hint: The Starbucks located in the lobby, offered free wi-fi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by moosejaw1 from San Francisco, CA

Great hotel for the price

Posted Oct 8, 2013
i really liked this hotel, most comfortable bed in SF. view was really nice too and the price was great. Number of great places to eat at. Only downside is parking is outrageous but the city has a 25% parking tax and everywhere is the same so cant blame the hotel. Kind of hard to find with navigation but just remember its on O Farell just down the block from Union Square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by DanielP76 from Santiago, Chile

Excellent!

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Very good location, close to Union Sq. Nice room. Evrything perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by RoyMc from Arlington, TX

Great Location

Posted Aug 20, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location is a block away from a Bart station, the hotel is beautiful and the rooms are quiet. Restaurants are everywhere. The staff is excellent, we were treated with genuine kindness by every employee- front desk, doormen, and the ladies cleaning the rooms. The pool was small but not swarming with little kids. The only glitch is that I was not told when I booked the room that there is a fee to use the pool and gym. I went ahead and paid it anyway but I should have been told up front of this additional charge when I was comparing hotel rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by pschun17

Great hotel if at the right price

Posted Mar 23, 2013
Cons: No free Internet
We booked this hotel at a price that's probably comparable to 3 star level hotels. For that price, this was a great hotel. Clean, great service, comfortable, convenient location. We got a standard room which was comfortable enough. A bit small but clean. Bathroom was clean as well. Would be even better if wireless internet was free.