Ratings based on 143 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by RoamAroundTheWorld from Sacramento, CA, United States

It should be called Hotel Nikko and Dime

Posted Dec 4, 2013
The room was nice and the location was great but the overall lasting impression we had was the ridiculous nickel and dime charges. Want to use the gym? That's a couple dozen dollars extra. Need wi-fi? Tack on another Jackson. Kind of silly when you can go down the street to Starbucks and use theirs for free. The straw that broke the camels back; however, was my missing quarters after parking in their pricey valet lot. Good grief - stay elsewhere. We come to the city often have have stayed in much better places with in-kind amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by willclarkfan from Los Angeles, CA

Great hotel in Union Square

Posted Oct 16, 2013
We celebrated our 8th wedding anniversary by spending a weekend in SF. At check-in, the attendant upgraded us to the Emperor's Level with a city view. Awesome! The hotel room was clean, comfy bed. The Emperor's Level lounge was great (free continental breakfast and daily wine and cheese reception). The hotel was central to shops, restaurants, BART station, Powell cable car line.
3 out of 5
by Argimiro from New York, NY

SO...SO...

Posted Oct 10, 2013
Striking lack of employees. Unsuficient for a Hotel of these stars and of those prices. Cold Reception: Automatic. Sushi Bar: No on Monday Room very small: OK. The carpet VERY DIRTY: THAT NOT OK ... All disappointing: Less Lobby (?!)
2 out of 5
by dontcare from Los Angeles

Who still charges for wi-fi?

Posted Oct 9, 2013
I was very excited to stay at this hotel, as I don't normally go outside of my "points program" hotels. I was very unhappy to learn that Nikko is a nickel and dime hotel. Anything and everything you wanted, was an additional charge. I am still mad that they wanted to charge for wi-fi in the room. In this day where wi-fi is offered free on airplanes, being charged a fee in my hotel room is unbelieveable. Hint: The Starbucks located in the lobby, offered free wi-fi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by moosejaw1 from San Francisco, CA

Great hotel for the price

Posted Oct 8, 2013
i really liked this hotel, most comfortable bed in SF. view was really nice too and the price was great. Number of great places to eat at. Only downside is parking is outrageous but the city has a 25% parking tax and everywhere is the same so cant blame the hotel. Kind of hard to find with navigation but just remember its on O Farell just down the block from Union Square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by DanielP76 from Santiago, Chile

Excellent!

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Very good location, close to Union Sq. Nice room. Evrything perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by RoyMc from Arlington, TX

Great Location

Posted Aug 20, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location is a block away from a Bart station, the hotel is beautiful and the rooms are quiet. Restaurants are everywhere. The staff is excellent, we were treated with genuine kindness by every employee- front desk, doormen, and the ladies cleaning the rooms. The pool was small but not swarming with little kids. The only glitch is that I was not told when I booked the room that there is a fee to use the pool and gym. I went ahead and paid it anyway but I should have been told up front of this additional charge when I was comparing hotel rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by pschun17

Great hotel if at the right price

Posted Mar 23, 2013
Cons: No free Internet
We booked this hotel at a price that's probably comparable to 3 star level hotels. For that price, this was a great hotel. Clean, great service, comfortable, convenient location. We got a standard room which was comfortable enough. A bit small but clean. Bathroom was clean as well. Would be even better if wireless internet was free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sellsy from New Orleans, LA, USA

Very enjoyable.

Posted Jan 1, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet, swimming pool to swim laps
Hotel Nikko was great. Good location plus an excellent value.
1 out of 5
by Luitch

The staff is ok, but my reservation was very dissapointed.

Posted Dec 31, 2012
We booked an executive floor room; however, when we checked in, we were being told that the executive floor was shot down due to some sort of construction according to the front deck. With almost 6 hrs driving from Los Angeles, my two kids were tired. So I had to accept the reception's offer without any sorts of compensation in terms of discount and promo to a better room /suite. Very disappointed. Internet was extremely slow....slow...slow. Robert