Ratings based on 86 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by penut62from Los Angeles, CA

Have been coming to this hotel for over 10 years

Posted Oct 15, 2013
I liked it better when it was the Holiday Inn. The rates were much better, there wasn't any non refundable cancellation, or a large deposit due when you made your reservations. Paid a lot of money for a bay view room, but the rooms were still the same, dingy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by CanadaCouplefrom Manitoba, Canada

The concierge is fantastic, and gives great ideas.

Posted Apr 5, 2013
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet, close to airport and downtown, close to trolley
Cons: local phone calls are $1.50
We booked in at this hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The concierge was phenomenal and gave us great activities to do. The rooms were clean and had a phenomenal room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This is an older hotel, but it is quite comfortable and close to a wide variety of activities. I would stay here again, and highly recommend others stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by SanDiegolover4everfrom Temecula Ca

Great Times!

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, great view
Loved everything about my stay! No Issues what so ever! Will definitely stay again!
1 out of 5
by Traveller13sdf

Felt closer to a Motel than a Hotel... sorry.

Posted Mar 23, 2013
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet
The heat would not turn on and thus the room stayed cold. I had to warm the room with the hair dryer. (no energy to change rooms in the middle of the night) The door unlocked with the card key, but felt as if it was latched from inside (as if someone was in the room). Hot water took forever to warm up. Bed felt small.
3 out of 5
by A travelerfrom New York

Lost item was not returned

Posted Nov 6, 2012
The hotel was cool, the view was great as we stayed at the top floor with a view of the Harbor. We forgot a small bag in the closet and called to make sure they keep it for us and our call was never returned by "security" staff. Returned to the Hotel to see what the deal is and was told that the "staff" did not turn anything in. Of course they did not. It was an $1,100 projector....
5 out of 5
Recommended
by RoadTripGirlzfrom Dallas, TX, USA

Great Location

Posted Oct 27, 2012
Holiday Inn on the Bay had a great location. From there we walked to the Maritime Museum, USS Midway and the Fish Market for dinner. Though our room did not have a view of the bay, we had a balcony with a view of San Diego. We used this hotel as our jumping off point for Sea World and the San Diego Zoo The bathroom in our room had a frosted glass sliding door that faced into the room. It would have been uncomfortable if I had travel led with someone I didn't know really well. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant one morning. Though a bit pricey (as most hotel restaurants are), the food was good. If you're sensitive to noise, you should know that there are train tracks a few blocks from the hotel. Since our room faced San Diego and the tracks, we could hear the train go by. Although, it didn't keep me up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by HighFlyer56from Kansas City, KS

Good hotel in a GREAT location!

Posted Oct 2, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
The Holiday Inn On The Bay was a nice place to stay while we were in San Diego. All of the staff we talked to were very friendly and helpful. The hotel and our room were clean, quiet and didn't have any of the smells other people have written about. The restaurant and bar are better than average. The hotel also has a nice gift shop and well-stocked convenience store. The heated pool was a nice way to relax! The hotel shuttle will take you to/from the airport (which is literally 5 minutes away!#, the San Diego Zoo, the Gaslamp District, and a few other destinations, but Not to Seaworld, which is difficult to get to if you don't have a car #we didn't). A couple of tips: Make sure, if you can, to get the breakfast coupons as part of your hotel deal. It'll be worth it because breakfast for 2 will cost you at least $25 at the hotel or the other restaurant in the immediate area. Also, plan on at least 2 hours aboard the USS Midway if you plan on really seeing much of the ship. The hotel is siuated extremely close to other attractions including harbor cruises, the Coronado ferry and the Star of India.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by mike4presfrom New York, NY, USA

very nice clean hotel.

Posted Sep 12, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, close proximity
Cons: Noisy
Hotel was all you could ask for.Staff very friendly and helpful.Only complaint would be noise level being that we had room by elevator and ice machine.
2 out of 5
by getarealhotelroomfrom Gilbert, AZ, USA

They charged me twice and couldn't figure out how to fix it.

Posted Sep 10, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: Poor breakfast
All in all it wasn't a bad experience, minus them charging us again for a room that was paid for in advance. The place is clean, right near the harbor, within walking/biking distance of many San Diego sites. The room was the biggest one they had on the bayside (for the building we were in), but was nothing special. Bare essentials, cheap furniture, cheap glasses/mugs, and really didn't seem worth it to me. But it was on the cheaper side for San Diego, so we did what we could with it. Their $20 breakfast deal is a ripoff, it's the same price as if you were to just go to the restaurant and buy it yourself, and you don't get a choice as to what you eat. The waiters don't give a rip either. I was at the table for over an hour and only saw my waiter when he was delivering the check. All in all, not worth it.
1 out of 5
by ABQEnchantmentTravelerfrom Albuquerque, NM, USA

Look somewhere else!

Posted Aug 5, 2012
Pros: Free Internet
It would have been worth the extra 30/40 dollars a night to stay somewhere else! The hotel is severely dated and dirty. Also the "double bed" size is a full size bed, so if you are planning on sharing, think twice-very small. There is also no hot tub to enjoy after walking everywhere in San Diego. The pool is also very small, compared to what the photos make it look like. Also it is a fairly long walk to the convention center, if you are planning on a conference, and the construction outside the hotel is very loud. We are priority reward members with Holiday Inn, and usually enjoy our stays, especially after they have remodeled several of their popular locations-this one just completely missed the mark.