Ratings based on 94 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Cincinnati

Not what I expected from a Wyndham.

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Location
Carpets worn, my elevator had duct tape holding the molding in place, mattress in poor condition. Who designs a room with closet behind bathroom door?
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Tucson AZ

No big deal for money spent

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: their restaurant was closed
Location: walking on the Embarcadero is nice. Close to local attractions. If you want to be near some water its nice
Nice place just too expensive. Its easy to get around on foot for downtown things. It is way too touristy for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from CA

Proximity to a lot of points of interest

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Proximity to a lot of tourist spots, walking distances to places, nearby airport
Cons: Enforce rules to guests to minimize noises after 10PM
Location: Walking along the pier, USS Midway
Very nice except on our first night, the guests inext to our room were super noisy at midnight (they were out in the balcony talking which is very close to our beds and small children jumping/running around and banging on the walls) and it took 30 minutes from the time we reported the commotion to the front desk for a staff to go and tell them to minimize the noise
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Colorado

Got the job done

Posted Mar 24, 2015
In town for a conference. Staff is helpful, room is clean, view is amazing (Oceanside upgrade) and pool/gym are clean. Not a whole lot else going on here. No food at hotel and options in area are slim. Close to train so I got a pass and was able to get anywhere in San Diego quickly which solves the food problem. Paper thin walls, next to HWY 101, the port and the train, so it's loud. Real loud. Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Overall it was a hotel. I've stayed at worse, I've stayed at better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Ohio

Perfect location.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The perfect location. The room rates. The Hazelwood Deli that is there to serve us since the dining room is closed.
Cons: Our room had two queen beds (Bayside) which is an upgrade room due to the view of the bay but no place to sit after a day of sight seeing.
Location: As stated in my experience you can go in any direction and be at a prime location for sights, tours, food, and shopping.
We stayed at the Wyndham Bayside for 16 nights. We are very familiar with this facility since we have stayed here several times when it was the Holiday Inn on the Bay. The Wyndham Hotels have made many improvements with their renovations. The location is perfect for Bay Watchers, for walking to Little Italy or Sea Port Village and taking advantage of Harbor Excursions or catching the Old Town Trolley tour. The dining room and bar attached are currently closed but with talk of a new lease being let out soon. This would be a great improvement to the hotel for those of us who fly in and do not have a car. The only negative I can express is the room (Bayside) did not have a comfortable chair for relaxing and for those of us staying a week or two our room only had a bed to sit on. What we always enjoy is the friendliness of the cleaning and grounds keeper employees. They make us welcome and feel at home. The room rates are affordable for those of us who are there for a period of time. The hotel shuttle is a great service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Vancouver, WA

Very central to downtown SD

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Access to Downtown San Diego, and the Harbor sites.
Cons: I would recommend a jacuzzi, and an internal dining establishment.
Location: Visit the Aircraft carrier Midway, the sailing ship Star of India. Walk to Seaport Village eating and shopping. 2 blocks to Starbucks.
The room was pretty much as one should expect of this class of hotel. The good: Very easy access to downtown and the harbor sites. Great walks along the harbor front. Helpful Staff. Easy parking. The could be better: Needs a Spa/Jacuzzi. (To recover from those long walks.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from anaheim, ca

Good price

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Love the hotel friendly staff. Lost my wallet and employee found it and turned it in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from T

Fun in the sun

Posted Mar 23, 2015
We was excellent we was getting on a cruise ship to go to Mexico. This hotel is prefect for people that are cruising from San Diego it's right across the street where the ship dock. How convenient is that.
3 out of 5
by penut62 from Los Angeles, CA

Have been coming to this hotel for over 10 years

Posted Oct 15, 2013
I liked it better when it was the Holiday Inn. The rates were much better, there wasn't any non refundable cancellation, or a large deposit due when you made your reservations. Paid a lot of money for a bay view room, but the rooms were still the same, dingy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by CanadaCouple from Manitoba, Canada

The concierge is fantastic, and gives great ideas.

Posted Apr 5, 2013
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet, close to airport and downtown, close to trolley
Cons: local phone calls are $1.50
We booked in at this hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The concierge was phenomenal and gave us great activities to do. The rooms were clean and had a phenomenal room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This is an older hotel, but it is quite comfortable and close to a wide variety of activities. I would stay here again, and highly recommend others stay here.