Ratings based on 23 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by CA54from Dallas, TX

Great staff!!

Posted Sep 18, 2013
I had a late arrival and the staff was wonderful. Helped me find somewhere to eat that night. Even helped me with my new smart phone for locations. I really like that they are "Green" re housekeeping and laundry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by GKTravelaholicsfrom North Kingstown, RI, USA

great stay

Posted Oct 11, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
beds were fantastic and super comfortable... hotel in the gaslamp district, conveniently located next to a large outdoor mall and lots of restaurants, but a decent 6 block walk to the waterfront and Seaport Village.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by TDyer

Really hip and cool place. Definitely enjoyed it

Posted Sep 27, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Really hip and cool place. Definitely enjoyed it. will definitely go back if the price is right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by happygirrrlfrom Arlington, TX, USA

Best hotel experience from start to finish!

Posted Sep 7, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
I stayed at the Westin over Labor Day Weekend for 4 nights. When I arrived at the airport, I called the hotel to inquire about shuttle service to the hotel. I was told the hotel has a voucher arrangement with Yellow Cab, and they paid for my cab ride to the hotel!!! Sweet! What a great way to start my vacation in San DIego! Once I arrived, I could not have been treated with better customer service! Maria at the check in could not have been sweeter! The room was amazing, very Zen, calm, clean, and the most comfortable bed and bedding! They call it the Heavenly Bed for a reason!! I also opted to get 500 bonus credit points per day, to opt out of daiy cleaning service and just request new towels and toiletries. Points can be used toward free nights! The bar was beautiful, friendly staff and great selections. I used the fitness room, machines, treadmill and whirpool, and all were great! Lots of towels, water, and free headphones if you don't have your own. I will be a regular at Westin Hotels from now on! Thank you Westin!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by CondorPastafrom Pacifica, CA, USA

Maid service was not up to par, but room was excellent.

Posted Aug 23, 2012
Pros: Quiet
Cons: No free Internet, pool deck was a hazard
Maid service could have been better, and the tile deck around the pool was a sefety hazard, but overall very nice.
3 out of 5
by familytravelNYfrom New York, NY, USA

A disappointing 4 star hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, great location
Cons: small rooms, low grade restaurant
For a 4 start, a Westin brand and for a new remodeled hotel, i have to admit I was disappointed. Ordered 4 rooms for 4 nights for a family trip and got really small rooms. The beds were small and when I approached the hotel staff about it, got a "sorry, there's nothing we can do". If I hadn't ordered 16 nights i may have accepted it but for such an order, i was disappointed. On the pro side the location is excellent! and you have a shopping center next door
1 out of 5
by RMacLean

Avoid it until the construction is finished! May at least!

Posted Apr 7, 2012
Cons: No free Internet
I have stayed at many Westin hotels in the past and always found them to be a step above the norm. The Westin Gaslamp does not meet this standard. At checkin, we learned it was $10 a day for wireless! Come on, who still charges for wireless? But that was only the first surprise..... I write this on night 5 of a 7 day stay. Days one and two were spent with no hot water. Nothing like not being able to shower in the morning! Day two also saw the elevators out of order. With the service elevators overtaxed, we got a free workout seeing as we are on the 11th floor. On day 4 it was labor unrest. A full volume demonstration with drums, loud speakers and picketing protestors was just ourside the front door of the lobby and lasted for 3 hours. At the start of day 5 we were down to 2 of the 4 elevators working and a very long wait for a ride to or from the lobby. This was because there was fresh tile laid in front of the other two elevators. The rest of the hall is in the process of being renovated now. I wonder if any of the elevators will be running tomorrow morning? On the positive side, the room was very nice - except the pocket door in the bathroon doesn't close all the way so privacy is limited. The staff is very helpful and cooperative, but if I was looking to stay in the Gaslamp area of San Diego, I would wait until May at least for the renovations to be finished or you will be in for some surprises like we have experienced. For the price we are paying for the room we expect more, and with all the inconveniences, we have received apologies, but no offers of compensation. I wonder what days 6 and 7 in room will hold for us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Hamad

Excellent location in the middle of downtown

Posted Dec 8, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
Very close to horton plaza 1 min walking Expensive parking rate around 30$/day
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Travelcitytocityfrom New Jersey, USA

Very welcoming experience

Posted Dec 8, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
The hotel was very nice and included many amenities(including a real hair dryer). The staff went above and beyond to assist my husband and me. We enjoyed our staff, would recommend it, and look forward to returning in the very near future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by laipeter57

Good

Posted Dec 7, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants
Generally ,this is a nice hotel with very convience location going to any attractions in downtown of San Diego.