Ratings based on 31 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gail639from San Diego, CA

Best Hospitality, Cleanliness and Dining

Posted Aug 23, 2013
The best stay, home away for home!  For over 30 days and nights, the hospitality, cleanliness and dining was absolutely impeccable....Steven, Clifford, Ed, Harry, Demi, Alberto, Anthony, Jamie, Roz, Oscar, Damian and Nicholas...thank you!
2 out of 5
by MichaelJBfrom Hawaii

Noisy!

Posted May 24, 2013
The room was comfortable. The service was excellent. But, the street noise coming through the old windows was miserable... If you need a quiet place - this is not it! Reglazing the windows with double-pane glass would make all the difference in the world.
1 out of 5
by SDBeltonTexas

Beware - Over Books

Posted Feb 2, 2013
Cons: you may not have a room when you get there
Beware of this hotel, as it overbooks rooms. My recent experience was that despite making reservations weeks in advance, my administrative assistant calling the day of travel and informing the hotel of my after 10pm arrival, when I arrived at 10:20 pm was informed that there were no rooms available and they had made arrangements for me to stay at a different hotel (of significantly lower quality) more than 20 minutes away. I was part of a group meeting being held at the hotel and happened to several others attending the meeting. For the 2nd and 3rd night of my trip I was able to stay at the hotel and, overall would rate it of "average" quality and service for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MissBirdfrom Orange County, CA

Fantastic! Would definitely stay here again.

Posted Dec 10, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, great service
I really enjoyed this hotel. It has that old school 5-star treatment you'd expect from a 1910 historic landmark. The rooms were modern and luxurious. I didn't want to leave and extended my checkout!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JoJo7from Pearland, TX

Deserving 5-Star Hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
Cons: no pool or jauzzi
Ours was an excellent, excellent stay. Can't stay enough for the staff. From the moment we signed in 'til we left, they were asking if we needed water, ice, assistance, a cab, etc. And the food in the restaurant was a gourmet's paradise. Bed so comfortable that it was hard to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by WestTexans

The concierge staff made this hotel.

Posted Aug 29, 2012
Pros: concierge service, free morning coffee
Concierges Lee Ann and Albert were tremendous. They made our experience tremendously enjoyable. They are a major asset to this hotel and should be recognized for their abilities to direct guests in a direction most suitable to their individual tastes and interests. The staff at the Grant Grill, especially Elizabeth, made evening stops something to look forward to after a long day of sightseeing. Lindsay, an evening manager, was tremendously helpful, as well as friendly, and also one that interaction with was enjoyed. The hotel was clean, and although having that upper crust 'stuffy' feeling at times, was tempered by the friendly staff. Two not so flattering thoughts were that it appeared the staff were reluctant at times to interact freely with customers as though they were being watched and expected to be friendly but stuffy, also street noise and noise from the street people tended to filter into the room during the night. And both of these less than flattering thoughts are extremely overcome by the staff mentioned above. This hotel is a jewel and should be experienced while in San Diego. Excellent, clean, and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JodiSfrom Pittsburgh, PA

Best experience I've ever had with a hotel!

Posted Aug 15, 2012
Pros: Quiet
EVERYONE we came into contact with was friendly, welcoming and accommodating! Rooms are perfect - from the furnishings to the size. Also, very important to me, the room was very quiet. For being in downtown San Diego I never heard street noise from my room and was able to sleep in every day without hearing cleaning service etc. The food is delicious, drinks are poured to perfection, wait staff and bartenders are the best! Just an absolutely lovely experience all the way around!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by BeautifulTravels

I love this place!

Posted Jun 4, 2012
This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at in San Diego. For my 30th birthday, I was surprised with one night at the US Grant. I've never been so surprised. We somehow managed to get upgraded to the penthouse presidential suite. For those of you who don't know, the penthouse suite is the epitome of suites. The walls are lined with large windows so the first thing you notice is the spectacular view of San Diego. The rooms are spacious, well decorated, clean and comfortable. The bedroom has a king-size bed with extremely soft sheets and lots of fluffy pillows (I slept like a baby#. It also includes a beautiful full-length mirror and large plasma tv. The other room has a sizable sitting area with plush seating, another huge plasma tv that automatically rises from the cabinet, a glass dining table and nice bar area. The marble/tile bathroom is incredibly spacious with a large hot tub and glass shower. The hotel is right in gaslamp quarter #where all the shopping, clubs and bars are located), but I almost didn't want to leave the room. The hotel is quite beautiful itself. The style is luxurious, elegant and tasteful with art throughout the lobby. The personnel were all very friendly and accomodating. I definitely plan to stay here again the next time I'm in San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by katemfrom santa barbara, ca

amazing place

Posted May 23, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, close to everything
Cons: Noisy
Beautiful hotel in the best location. Everyone was helpful and the restaurant was fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A travelerfrom Carson, CA, USA

It is the perfect hotel in the middle of all Downtown!

Posted Feb 8, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet, comfy, elegant, safe
I took my boyfriend to San Diego to celebrate his 25th birthday. It was our first short thip overnight without our son & we truly enjoyed it so much! The hotel was a surprise to him & he was truly delighted with my choice. It was a great place to stay near EVERYTHING! restaurants, bars, shopping we loved it! We will definitely be going back soon!