Ratings based on 138 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Not worth the money

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Location. Very convenient to walk to restaurants and shops.
Cons: Parking is too expensive. Put doors on the bathroom. Better attention to room details.
Location: Plenty of restaurants bars and shopping.
Facility was clean and well kept. Staff was terrific, but a lot of little things lead to a less than satisfactory stay. Room was VERY small and cramped. A/C was loud making it hard to sleep. No hand towels were provided, only one roll of TP in the room ( we ran out and I had to find some more off the housekeeping cart ). The bathroom doesn't have a "door" its equipped with a slider (that wouldn't stay closed). Housekeeping crew was very loud and obnoxious in the hallway fairly early in the morning - it seemed like they were mad that we hadn't left the room yet and were trying to make it uncomfortable. Bottom line, there are many other comparable hotels at much better prices. I wouldn't go back to the Sofia. Oh ya, $36 a day to valet park - kinda steep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Locals

Girls' Night Out

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Clean
Cons: It's an older hotel so the rooms are small. How much time does one spend in the room anyway? Very clean.
Location: We had dinner and breakfast at Seaport Village. Coffee Bean in the hotel. It's sort of a rough area, lots of homeless so be watchful.
Clean, comfortable and great. We are locals and wanted to do a Girls' Night Out. The price was great and we had a ball. The hotel is charming and VERY clean. The staff is great too. Would I recommend this hotel or stay there again, in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

The Sofia Hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Very nice location will return for my next San Diego trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Albany, NY

Great location at a great price!

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Location and cost.
Cons: Single queen rooms are a tad on the small side, but fine for a couple who are still close!
Location: Gaslamp, excellent restaurants, marina, convention center, ball park.
Quiet and friendly hotel, close to many businesses and local attractions, like the Gaslamp District. Located right on the main busline from the airport, making it very convenient to get to for travelers coming from out of town. Extra amenities include yoga classes, an excellent fitness center, bikes for local touring, a very nice restaurant, and welcoming staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Orange County, CA

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Location.
Location: Gas Lamp district, Hotel Bar and Rest. are great.
Nice quiet room. Easy check in. Great Bar. Close to Gas Lamp, Amtrak, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from San Diego, CA

Cozy hotel close to EVERYTHING!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Loved the Sophia hotel, will definitely come back!!! The bar was awesome, The staff was great, no complaints:)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

Trendy and Comfortable

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Stayed in San Diego to go to a concert and very much loved this hotel. The one downside is the parking; there not really parking anywhere nearby so you pretty much have to pay for valet parking at the hotel. However it is very fast and reliable valet service so besides the extra charge it is convenient. The room I stayed in was very compact but was very comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from murrieta, ca

We love this hotel!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
It's walking distance to wherever you want to go. Staff is great and rooms are very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Mexico

Downtown delight!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Clean, well appointed rooms in the heart of the city. Best part is breakfast and happy hour at the restaurant Currant, right outside the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by BarryPA from Pennsylvania

Loved Sofia!!

Posted Nov 6, 2013
This is a lovely old building where the guest rooms have been totally remodeled. The bathroom in my queen room, while small with just a shower, was modern and immaculate. Bottled water and coffee was provided in the room along with a microwave and refrigerator. I've read reviews that say that the rooms are small, which they are, but I found them small cozy, not small cramped. Probably the best valued hotel I've ever stayed in, and would definitely stay again. Only complaint is the mandatory "guest fee" for internet access; I always feel that this cost should be rolled into the room rate and not included as an add-on.