Ratings based on 129 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by BarryPA from Pennsylvania

Loved Sofia!!

Posted Nov 6, 2013
This is a lovely old building where the guest rooms have been totally remodeled. The bathroom in my queen room, while small with just a shower, was modern and immaculate. Bottled water and coffee was provided in the room along with a microwave and refrigerator. I've read reviews that say that the rooms are small, which they are, but I found them small cozy, not small cramped. Probably the best valued hotel I've ever stayed in, and would definitely stay again. Only complaint is the mandatory "guest fee" for internet access; I always feel that this cost should be rolled into the room rate and not included as an add-on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by marita123456789 from atlanta, ga

very cool location!

Posted Oct 7, 2013
The hotel has a great location, near the gaslight district (but not in the middle of it) and close to the banker's district. This has been renovated to keep the best of the old with modern features. The ambiance is wonderful and customer service was attentive. We really appreciated the coffee in the room, free wifi, and water as well.. Two details about the room could use attention. First, the a/c is loud and seems to run on full vent most of the time. Second, the toilet works very efficiently but is also loud. So, it's better if you're a sound sleeper/don't have a roommate. We never heard noise from other rooms, so it was just local.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by KimP27 from Dallas, Tx

Great extras!

Posted Jun 3, 2013
We stayed here for just a night, but I wish we had stayed longer to take advantage of the Saturday morning walking tour they host. And to take out the bicycles they have available for use down to the beach. First come, first serve. Both complimentary. They also provide FREE WIFI (well... maybe not free since they charge you a daily fee, but at least it was readily accessible without having to pay with your credit card for 30 minutes of internet). I would call the hotel petite and cute. Our room was just big enough. But it had everything we needed. I really don't understand the open door design of the shower. This isn't the first hotel I've stayed at that has them. It just gets the toilet and floor all wet. As for location, it is right on the outskirts of where the bars and clubs seemed to be situated. You could easily walk to them though. Only a few short blocks. We chose to drive and parking was difficult to find. You end up walking anyway unless you're lucky enough to find a spot right in front of where you want to go. $30 valet fee. $7 daily hotel fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by MurtasaArzai from East Coast

Nice hotel w/ a suprising number of amenities/perks and close to convention center/Gaslamp

Posted Mar 26, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet
Went to San Diego for a business conference and chose this hotel as several others were booked and its relative proximity to the Convention Center. It was a fairly nice hotel with a lot of amenities (bikes, walking tour, yoga studio) which were good. The room is small and has an European feel to it. Not a bad place for the single/couple traveller who spend most of the day in the city and want to be near the Gaslamp district/convention center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by SusyS29 from Oceanside, CA, USA

Great location to gaslamp district @ great price

Posted Dec 12, 2012
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet
Cons: $30 valet parking
My hotel stay was great only thing I didn't really like was the $30 valet parking. Check in and checkout process was quick and staff was friendly. My view was of the building next door, unlike the last time I had stayed a few years back which was of downtown. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends because its reasonably priced compared to other high end hotels in the area and it is close to the gaslamp district. The room was clean, bathroom updated, iron, and refrigerator available. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Palisadetraveler from Colorado

Convenient Boutique Hotel with good restaurant

Posted Nov 13, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
The service and location of the hotel make it a good choice if you have a conference in the nearby Westin, which is far more expensive. The down side is the small bath with open shower that ends up spraying water all over the floor. Rooms with two beds are more crowded than ones with king. The restaurant had a great avocado salad that I had on two occasions and city-priced drinks from the bar. The service at the restaurant was excellent, too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by NicetoVisit from Los Angeles

Excellent Europian Style Boutique Hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: Noisy
I read the other reviews prior to booking and found them to be accurate with regard to room size and some noise. My experience was made better with the very helpful and friendly staff. The onsite restaurant was busy with happy customers. I will definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by travilingnash from Oklahoma City, OK, USA

overpriced

Posted Nov 1, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: Noisy, "guest service fee", no "complimentary" snacks
Breakfast wasn't included and I couldn't get tea in the room - just coffee. There wasn't really 'free' anything because the hotel tacks on a $7.95/day "guest services" fee. The walls were really thin and we could hear entire conversations from adjoining rooms. The rooms were really small. The two-bed room barely had walking space much less room for a chair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by katschu from Chicago, IL, USA

Centrally located in downtown San Diego

Posted Oct 15, 2012
Pros: Quiet
While the room was small, it was very sufficient for my needs. It was right downtown, and I was able to walk to all areas I wanted to see: Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Little Italy, and it was just a few blocks from the ferry to Coronado. It was the perfect place to stay for my short getaway to San Diego... I definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by notabletocompletethis from Phoenix, AZ

Hotel was welcoming and attentive to any needs

Posted Jun 20, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Very close to the Gas Lamp district. Convenient to meet our friends for sailing on Saturday. While unloading is a little tight as the street access is limited, the attendants made certain they took care of our luggage and car so we could check in with comfort. The rooms are small but I expected that in this boutique hotel. I would stay here again.