Ratings based on 12 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Annettefrom Saratoga, Ca.

Pure Luxury! Top of the line all the way!

Posted Jun 2, 2011
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet, service that you will not believe!!!!!!!!
My family and I just stayed at The Grand over the Memorial Weekend. Actually we made a week of it. This resort has spared nothing. Everything about it is top notch. The decor is stunning. The landscape is stunning. The rooms are spacious and luxurious. The complimentary taxi service is perfect. The restaurants are wonderful. My family and I are very well seasoned travelers and know a great hotel when we find it and I can assure you this hotel is stunning. I would have to say that the best thing about this resort is the service. The staff is so very helpful and always willing to go out of their way to serve you. Example....I forgot my beach bag at home (I know...who forgets the beach bag when going to San Diego..? ) Anyway, I had no tanning oil while laying out by their gorgeous pool. The concierge made arrangements and had one of the staff members go into town and get my oil and deliver it to my room. Can you believe it?? And it was done with such pleasure. I'm telling you the service is superb at The Grand!! I would like to tell the entire staff at The Grand a big thank you for a great holiday. You resort is truly bliss! ****If I had to say one improvement it would be that they could use a better sundries (little mart) on site. Just for simple things in case we forget them from home. All the shops on site are more like boutiques.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by martin1from boston

Very good, very expensive....

Posted Apr 12, 2011
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Nothing close
Tremendous hotel with service second-to-none. Amenities excellent and the ambience very relaxing.....only slight downside is the fact it is a very expensive hotel, and it is several miles from the nearest town (La Jolla). Overall would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler

Amazing service and very kid friendly

Posted May 14, 2010
I have two young children and we had a blast. The kiddie pool is perfect for little ones. Our kids played all day. There is also an "explorer's club" which had all kinds of great activities for the kids. My girlfriends and I throughly enjoyed the spa and our dinner was exceptional. I would recommend this hotel, it is a perfect getaway.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Wedding of a lifetime

Posted Dec 26, 2009
I was married at the Grand Del Mar on Memorial Weeked, and I have to say; words cannot express how amazing the weekend was! We arrived four days prior to the wedding and we were treated like royalty! We had some family and friends stay there as well and others who just visited, Everyone who passed through the resort had nothing but great things to say about the resort. I believe we will never stay at a place as nice, or be treated as well as the resort treated us. I will never forget my stay there as long as I live and I plan on staying at least once a year to re-live the experience. It is not cheap, but, if you take advantage of all the ammenities ot the resort, it is a bargin! We love this place!
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Very Dissapointed. Don't even waste your time or money

Posted Sep 6, 2009
My wife and I stayed at the Grand Del Mar just recently and found it to be just terrible. The hotel was short staffed and the people at the hotel were very rude and obnoxious. One in particular at the spa was ____. She was very rude to us when we came in to make a spa appointment and her attitude was very poor as far as the service and questions we asked. We will never stay there again or go for a spa treatment. I don't suggest anyone ever stay at this hotel. If you are spending this kind of money to stay at the resort there are much better places to stay in San Diego. Plus the hotel is also too far out from the ocean and the rest of San Diego. Don't go here!!
2 out of 5
by A traveler

The Grand Disappointment!

Posted Dec 22, 2008
Earlier this month my wife and I arrived at the hotel for what was to be a romantic getaway, it turned out to be less romance, and more of a disappointment. We arrived at the hotel at about 2pm, found it desolated; no concierge and only one person behind the desk who appeared to be overworked and having a horrible day, made us feel like an imposition, yet another person tasking her patience. We were understanding since we could see how understaffed and overworked she was however, arriving in our room to find that both trash bins; bedroom and bathroom had not been emptied, we wondered if the rest of the room was clean. It did not instill the confidence we expected for the price we paid. Later that evening while at dinner, we chatted with another couple with a similar experience, which confirmed our fears. Our ?dining experience? as they described it was less than impressive and average at best. You are better served by traveling far, far, away to La Jolla where a lovely diner is easier to find at a more reasonable price with better service. We left the next morning and stayed in La Jolla, that made our trip to San Diego worth wile. If you are looking for overpriced service with little to show for it, you will love The Grand Del Mar.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Unforgettable to say the least!

Posted Sep 16, 2008
I planned this trip as a surprise for our 10 yr wedding anniversary and I could not have picked a more perfect spot. If you are looking for a place to go where the atmosphere tops the Four Seasons, Ritz, etc. but do not want all the fussy, phony service-then this is the place. We have been lucky enough to travel to some very nice places and stay in very fine hotels, but this one takes the cake b/c the staff was so friendly while remaining appropriate, the food was outstanding (my husband is a chef himself) and the grounds are breathtaking.The resort is only a year old so it is fresh, clean and the staff still loves it. Also, it is not crowded so you really have peace and quiet without it feeling lonely. Located just a 10 minute drive to LaJolla it is close enough to the action but far removed when you need it to be.Also nice, seperate pools for families and adults only(away from each other)and a hot tub for like 20 ppl. Definitely eat at Addison (pricy but worth it) and take a hike around the property in the morning. While there, try the Cottage in LaJolla for lunch or bfast, snorkel in LaJolla cove and you must take the long trail at Torrey Pines State Reserve down to the beach (3miles) and see the seals and dolphins. Can you tell I just got back? Missing it already-take my word for it!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

You need to come here!!

Posted Jul 24, 2008
This was our last minute planned honeymoon and first trip to the west coast. LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT. The resort was a beautiful palace, the service was unreal, the pools were warm and amazing and the views were unbelievable. This was the best vacation I've ever had and the price is worth it. We are planning to go back there on each of our anniversaries. We just can't get enough of it. I definately recommend it for romantic getaways...you'll fall in love all the way!
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Fabulous Outdoor Hiking!

Posted Mar 26, 2008
Being an outdoor enthusiast, I stayed just 1 night at the Grand Del Mar but wanted to make the most of it. I inquired with the friendly Concierge staff what activities might best suit my needs, and Steven was more than happy to suggest I join the 9am Grand Mesa Hike the following morning. I had no idea the expanse of breathtaking natural preserve surrounding the property!! \n\nA short 20 min hike along well-maintained trails led us to a waterfall flowing over a rocky outcropping, which I had no idea could be so close in Southern California. Apparantly there is some real history to this Los Penasquitos Natural Preserve, with an early 1800's adobe ranch house. \n\nI was blown away by the wealth of recreational activities this resort can provide: from world-calss hiking, biking, and trail running - to surfing, horseback riding, and hot-air ballooning! For other outdoor enthusiasts like myself, take note - this place is a diamond in the rough!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

A place like no other!

Posted Mar 26, 2008
Me and wife had came down south to San Diego and heard great things about a new resort in the quaint village of Del Mar, California. This resort was much more than we had anticipated! Pulling into the resort, you are blown away by the intricate architecture and design. The location alone was stunning, and right away the bellman helped us out of our car and towards the front desk where we were promptly greeted with a warm and sincere attitude. We booked what was called a Grand Room which everything in the room is grand and much more. The mini-bar and LCD flat screen was my personal favorite and my wife's was the balcony over looking the fountain pool. The staff was quick to our every demand, as we ordered champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. The food was exceptional at Amaya, though it took a little awhile for our food to be brought out. As me and my wife walked throughout the resort, your are almost transported back in time to the Renaissance era. Everything from the vaulted ceilings to the marble floors reminded you of being in Italy, or perhaps Spain. Though we didn't get to play golf, the golf course is sprawled throughout the property, and looks every bit of a professional course. I have had the pleasure and experience of staying at many luxurious resorts throughout the country, but The Grand Del Mar has seperated themselves from the rest!