Ratings based on 115 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
1 out of 5
by EJH4from California

Poor Customer Service & Bad Housekeeping

Posted Sep 19, 2013
My husband & I booked our room for our stay over after returning from Hawaii because we live 3 hours from SD.  Our flight was delayed 3 hours which put us in at 1 am, past the hotel shuttle pick up time, but we were told to call them & someone would pick us up.  We called three times and waited an hour before the front desk person Terri told us no one was coming to pick us up.  We had to take a taxi.  They had our reservation, but were "SOLD OUT" so they tried to put us in a dog kennel room in the basement instead of in the Marina Tower.  My husband went to 2 rooms that smelled like wet dog and we finally cancelled and drove all the way home at 2:30 am.  Cheri was our front desk person & Tina was the MGR that night and both were far from courteous and understanding & knew nothing about Customer Service.  When you book a reservation and tell them you are going to be in after midnight, they should still hold your room!   Just an FYI, for people with dog/cat allergies like me, this hotel is pet friendly and they do not have rooms that are for pets only.  It doesn't make sense to me because when people were allowed to smoke in their rooms they had smoking/ non-smoking.  But I guess they don't realize that allergies to pets are as bad or worse than smoke. Bottom line, we are Starwood Preferred members & we will never stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2014 by Austin, Hotel Management
Your recent stay and thoughtful review is extremely valuable to our ongoing efforts here at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. Thank you, again, for your review and we are hopeful for the opportunity to host you when your travel plans permit. Warm Regards,
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2014
Your recent stay and thoughtful review is extremely valuable to our ongoing efforts here at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. Thank you, again, for your review and we are hopeful for the opportunity to host you when your travel plans permit. Warm Regards,
1 out of 5
by agh22702from Texas

Over Rated with Poor Customer Service

Posted Sep 10, 2013
I was so looking forward to my stay here, but my experience was shot down by the poor customer service I received from the front desk.  I had to wait several hours for my room to be made ready and this was even after the regular check in time. I was told that housekeeping would call me when my room was ready. After waiting 2+ hours I called the front desk to check status and was told housekeeping had called me. Housekeeping NEVER called me. I was with 4 other friends and they, along with me, never heard my phone ring. Also, I didn't have any missed calls on my cell phone. Once I went down to the front desk I inquired again and they insisted I was WRONG and they were RIGHT. Even the manager stated the same. I WAS HIGHLY INCONVENIENCED AND TREATED RUDELY. I'll never stay there again nor would I recommend it to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2014 by Austin, Hotel Management
Your recent stay and thoughtful review is extremely valuable to our ongoing efforts here at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. Thank you, again, for your review and we are hopeful for the opportunity to host you when your travel plans permit. Warm Regards,
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2014
Your recent stay and thoughtful review is extremely valuable to our ongoing efforts here at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. Thank you, again, for your review and we are hopeful for the opportunity to host you when your travel plans permit. Warm Regards,
1 out of 5
by FormerSheratonCustomerfrom Dallas, TX

Avoid this Dump

Posted Jun 19, 2013
Wow. This was a bad choice. Got placed in the Lanai part of hotel. Was dirty, dingy, noisy. Had hallway doors that were open into the parking lot (so anyone could walk in). Just not what you would expect from Sheraton. We asked to be moved but were told hotel was full and that the Lanai rooms were the same as the tower rooms -- therefore the same price (Ha! - I have been in the tower rooms and no camparison). Next time, I'll just stay at a Budget Inn. Seriously, I should have booked the Hilton just a little ways away. I know I booked a hotel near the airport (deliberately), but Sheraton has gone way down hill recently. Can't trust that you're going to get a good experience with them or a crummy one like I had. Time to turn in the SPG card and just go with a chain that actually has some standards for its properties. I will say the shuttle to the airport was good. So, way to go Sheraton!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2014 by Austin, Hotel Management
Your recent stay and thoughtful review is extremely valuable to our ongoing efforts here at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. Thank you, again, for your review and we are hopeful for the opportunity to host you when your travel plans permit. Warm Regards,
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2014
Your recent stay and thoughtful review is extremely valuable to our ongoing efforts here at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. Thank you, again, for your review and we are hopeful for the opportunity to host you when your travel plans permit. Warm Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Raquel56from Los Angeles, CA

Great hotel

Posted May 23, 2013
The employees are nice, explain all the hotel facilities also the hotel is very clean
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2014 by Austin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your recent stay. We are disappointed to hear your experience at our hotel was less than satisfactory. It is never our intention to misrepresent our facilities and we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We are deeply disappointed to hear that you did not receive the high level of service that we are known for. Your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate leadership and addressed immediately. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back for another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel. Warm Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
by FireBugsfrom Orange, CA, USA

Staff was great.

Posted Mar 28, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet, awsome views
I read all reviews on this hotel before arriving and was a little concerned. Although our stay was for one night, I could not be more pleased with the staff and hotel. Our view was awesome, the room was clean and quiet, and the valet was prompt and courteous. Parking is pricey. I STRONGLY recommend spending the extra few dollars and opt for valet parking. Our car was always ready when we got down stairs (called valet before leaving room). Gaslamp district is a must, fun, lots to see. The live band at the Marble Room was awesome. Wish we had more time to take in the tide pools and USS Midway. Next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2014 by Austin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Warm Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
by FireBugsfrom Orange, CA, USA

Pleasantly surprised!

Posted Mar 28, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet
Was there for the one night, view from the balcony was gorgeous! The staff were very friendly, valet parking was awesome & fast! Only complaint was no ice was available on our floor or below us, we had to go above , but it wasn't that much of a problem. Would definitely go again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by Austin, Hotel Management
I would take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your recent stay. We love hearing great feedback like yours as we put forward everything possible to make every guest leave having had a great experience. Our staff will be pleased to hear about the job well done and the great experience you took home. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to host you again if future travel plans permit. Warm Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
by dixie44from Ca.

An upgrade for my room. Beautiful view!!

Posted Mar 6, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet
We were concerned about the closeness to the elevator but it was not noisy at all. Beautiful view of the bay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2014 by Austin, Hotel Management
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your recent stay. We truly love reading about remarkable experiences like the one you received. Adding special touches is where our property excels and we couldn't be happier to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our staff will be pleased to hear about the job well done and the great experience you took home. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to host you again when travel plans permit. Warm Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
by SpunkyGrandmafrom Maryland

Close to airport. Convenient for travelling. Very friendly staff

Posted Jan 10, 2013
Pros: Quiet
Hotel is close to airport and super convenient. Staff was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. I left my coat in the closet when I checked out. I called the next day and Rudy, the Security Supervisor went out of his way to find the coat and notify me the next day.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2014 by Austin, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great comments about your experience at our hotel. We take great pride in our service and appreciate that you took the time to acknowledge our efforts. Your comments are truly appreciated and we look forward to hosting you again when your travel plans permit. Warm Regards, Austin Gubrud Marketing Coordinator Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2014
Thank you for the great comments about your experience at our hotel. We take great pride in our service and appreciate that you took the time to acknowledge our efforts. Your comments are truly appreciated and we look forward to hosting you again when your travel plans permit. Warm Regards, Austin Gubrud Marketing Coordinator Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
2 out of 5
by Oly2from Phoenix, az

Ghis hotel has unreasonable charges. However the restaurant but very good kitchen

Posted Dec 12, 2012
Pros: good food
Cons: No free Internet, paid parking, no refregirator
I like the location and restaurant was great. Food was excellent and I don't mind to pay for breakfast but the rest charges were ridicules: $22/day for car parking $16 for my little kid opened the bar door even if we did not take anything , $10 for the bottle of water...
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2014 by Austin, Hotel Management
Your recent stay and thoughtful review is extremely valuable to our ongoing efforts here at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. Thank you, again, for your review and we are hopeful for the opportunity to host you when your travel plans permit. Warm Regards,
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2014
Your recent stay and thoughtful review is extremely valuable to our ongoing efforts here at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. Thank you, again, for your review and we are hopeful for the opportunity to host you when your travel plans permit. Warm Regards,
3 out of 5
by NavyMom94from Colorado, USA

Not a 4 Star as advertised, but not too bad.

Posted Nov 28, 2012
Cons: No free Internet
We had a rough start, the hotel put us in a handicap room. What this means to us is no bath tub. The hotel was very nice about putting us in a different room, however they did try to "upgrade" us for a fee. We refused the fee and were accommodated on the same grade for free. The first night we were next to a room that did not care to follow the hotel's NO smoking policy so we packed up and moved again the next morning. Again the hotel was very accommodating and moved us with no problems. The restaurant has good food aside from the greasy sausage on the breakfast buffet but it is priced at a 4 star quality and is more justly a 2-3 star quality. The bell and cleaning staff was great, friendly and attentive.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2014 by Austin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to learn that our staff made a great impression and were helpful during your stay, but disappointed to hear that your room was less than expected. We are deeply concerned for your return as we know the potential of our hotel is sure to please you. Thank you for sharing and your comments will be communicated to the appropriate leadership.