Ratings based on 86 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from California

Marina Accommodations Across from SeaWorld

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The location to the beach and Sea World
Cons: The service around the pool!
Location: Sea World is basically across the street, love that we can water taxi in to the park!!! Belmont Park Beach is down the street.
Front desk check in was easy and fantastic- they really made me feel like they were there to help get me into my room quickly. The room was a bit musky smelling- to be expected. Overall room was nice- we had a marina suite. I like the separation from room and TV area. The pool is nice- has 2 waterslides for older kids and a smaller one for the younger kids and they do movie night in the pool also fun for the kids. The service around the pool on the other hand was by far the worst I've experienced at a hotel in a long time. Be patient knowing this will help your experience be a better one. I had to go to the bar to order food and drinks. The bartenders were all great and tried to be very accommodating but the servers were the worst. I had stopped one on her way in and asked if I could order and she said that she would be right back and we never saw her again. A lady sitting next to me had ordered food and beer - got the beer never the food. Seemed like that was just how it was with service around the pool across the board. So if you know that, you won't get frustrated. Once you get your food- it's good no disappointment there. The restaurant on site is a bit pricey and just OK - they need to be more kid friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Hawaii

Excellent service but hotel needs a facelift.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Service was outstanding.
Cons: Hotel needs a remodel. A childrens program would be easy and fun, with the pool and Sea World right there so parents can take advantage of the spa.
Location: Great location, right behind Sea World. Easy access to the zoo, great shopping, downtown San Diego, and airport. Legoland and Safari Park not too far.
My first impression of this hotel was not great. It is old and in great need of a renovation. The walk to our room smelled and the room itself was out of date and musty smelling. There was no balcony so it was closed up tight. If it were aired out it might have helped. My opinion changed very quickly as I interacted with the staff. They were all exceptional. They were friendly and very helpful. I was with my kids and they had a blast by the pool. The waterslides were a hit. I would have liked to put them in a day camp so I could take advantage of the spa but there was no child care options, which would have been nice. Also, the food and service at the restaurant was outstanding. The view of the marina was wonderful. Overall, we had a great time thanks to the staff at the hotel. Hyatt just needs to invest in a remodel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from San Diego

Every room has a view & little balcony.

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Beautiful room. Great view & staff was EXCELLENT. Even bell men John & Dwayne were 11 on scale to 10!!! Front desk also so pleasant & attentive! HOWEVER, the charge $22 for misc usages whether u use them or not & Travelocuty did NOT tell me. It did matter.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Oklahoma

What a disappointment

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Good breakfast buffet....although pricey
Cons: Puleeese....where do I start
Location: Good local
Worst 4 star Hotel I have ever encountered! They were late getting us checked in....making us wait almost an hour after 4 PM check in....Room was tired...wallpaper coming off the wall...Light fixture 1 OF TWO beside Bathroom mirror did not work and although we called the front desk and was told by the manager it would be fixed they never came. I gave the Staff One star because the Manager basically blew me off when I complained and never followed through.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Richard19 from Maumelle, AR

A very good choice . . . .

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Hotel was clean and staff were all excellent.  We had heat problems in our initial room.  We had to have blankets to be comfortable in the room because the AC was so cool.  Engineering was called in and it was couple of days before a Manager moved us to an upgraded room for the rest of our stay.  Excellent service from Front Desk, Concierge, Valet Parking, etc.  We would use this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ljcjlach from Southern Colorado

What a Reort!

Posted Jul 19, 2013
The resort enjoys a great location with breath-taking views; the location is matched by great facilities, an amazing property, and highly accomodating staff. Guests can travel about San Diego to all the great sites, but the resort tempts you to stay, relax, and enjoy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by AdolfoM7 from Example: New York, NY

The View

Posted Jun 12, 2013
Booked the family in two separate rooms to enjoy the extended weekend trip with comfort in mind. Check In was fast. Parking Fee was over priced. The "special" PURE rooms were on the third floor. One room was fresh, air filter/ purifier did a good job and the other room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. The balcony had a bad view looking down over hotels trash. Flies were everywhere outside and sliding doors had no screens. Saddest sight I've ever seen for this kind of hotel. I called Guest Service & was helped by a understanding employee named Ben. He took us up new keys and a bell man to help us move to a more suited room that thankfully had a nice view with NO FLIES. Not the PURE rooms 1st booked but the ones which made the View & saved the vacation!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Antonio1991 from Reseda, Los Angeles, CA

Perfection!

Posted Jun 1, 2013
Last month, I booked a hotel and it was awesome! I booked another hotel this month and it just keeps getting better and better. Great prices and easy to book hotels. 
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Deniann from Warriors Mark, PA

Great Staff

Posted May 26, 2013
The Staff at the Hyatt were so helpful and went out of their way to make our stay perfect. We really appreciated the help of the Concierge Martha. She gave us so much help in seeing all the sites and with transportation. The entire staff needs to be given high praise for their service. The only down side was the bathrooms. Our bathroom was not clean. I took a shower and after walking on the dirty tile floor my feet were black. The tile and the carpets need to be cleaned. The view was beautiful. The resturant on site the Red Marlin had good food by way over priced and small portion size. We hope to return to the San Diego area again to enjoy the beautiful weather and kind people.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Deceptive

Posted Nov 22, 2012
I agree the grounds were beautiful and the staff friendly, but no where does Hyatt or AAA tell us the hotel charges $24 per night to park you car! It