Ratings based on 14 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jack2frendi from Atlanta, GA, USA

Best deal for budget travelers

Posted Feb 21, 2013
Though it is a 2 star hotel, room was clean and staff was very warm and friendly. Our room also had a microwave and a small fridge. Housekeeping was fine. It has the perfect location to go anywhere in San Diego. Beaches were just a short distance away. Balboa park is nearby. One thing I really liked about this hotel is its landscaped grounds. It has beautiful tropical plants and flowers which make you feel close to nature. I didn't like the breakfast much. It included baked goods, coffee, cereals. Fruits were not fresh. Swimming pool was good though it was chipped at some areas. It would be great if the hotel folks renovate the outdoor pool. Don't expect any 5 star treatments. It is a very basic hotel. Would recommend it to budget travelers.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by travelnfriends

Good place for budget minded

Posted Jan 12, 2013
California Suites hotel is good for budget travelers. I had stayed with two friends for 5 nights. We got the best price possible. Our room was ok with lot of space to walk around. Bed was comfortable and the closet had built in shelves which were useful. Microwave and refrigerator saved us a bit of money. But there were no dishes in the kitchen. Continental breakfast was simple and sufficient. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The landscaped garden was pretty but not very clean. We found lots of discarded butts in the garden. It is good motel for budget minded. There are several good restaurants and tourist attractions nearby. The location is convenient, the best you can get at such low room rates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mark23 from Los angeles, CA

Green and spacious place but breakfast disappointing

Posted Oct 12, 2012
Pros: large swimming pool, all attractions are nearby the hotel
Cons: Poor breakfast
My wife and I stayed at California Suites Hotel on our honeymoon trip. What impressed us the most was the cleanliness of the hotel. Hotel is not pricey but it meets the mark on cleanliness. Our room was good and well furnished. Bedsheets and pillows were clean. We got fresh towels daily. My wife especially loved the well-maintained lush courtyard which had meandering pathways. It was beautiful. My wife and I used to stroll through spacious lawns with pleasing flowers, plants and greenery all around. Swimming pool was large and hot tub was good. However we were not much satisfied with the breakfast. Coffee and the tea were the only items on breakfast list which I can say were good. The hotel is conveniently located, close to the freeway and some of the beaches. San Diego's key attractions were close by too. I think what made our stay at this hotel was the friendly nature and hospitality of the staff. They were really nice people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by PhilD from Atlanta, GA, USA

Good budget hotel with nice staff

Posted Aug 23, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, large swimming pool, lots of attractions are nearby the hotel, free parking
Cons: No free Internet
We are a family of five people. Our budget was very limited so we stayed at California Suites Hotel. It didn't have any lavish amenities that some 5 star hotels provide. However it worked good for us. It is a very clean hotel with a large clean swimming pool. The staff at the hotel were some of the friendly and sweetest people I have met. Room was not spacious but the lush, green surroundings made up for it. We always woke up to beautiful plants, flowers and birds. However, continental breakfast is best avoided and bed was not very comfortable. Rather we used to go to restaurants which were in walking distance. Lots of attractions such as (Balboa Park, Old Town, Sea World) were nearby to the hotel. There was a bus stop nearby that made it easy for us to commute. If you are on a shoe-string budget, it is a good choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler from Citrus, CA, USA

More than just a budget hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2012
Pros: free parking
Cons: No free Internet
I reached San Diego with a very tight budget this summer. I chose California Suites Hotel for accommodation as it suited my budget. But, I am glad to admit that it is more than just a budget hotel and offers you more than what you call value for the money. Located in absolute serenity amid lush gardens, tropical plants and flowers, its very close to San Diego beaches, zoo, Sea World, Belmont Park, Gaslamp Quarter etc. It not only makes San Diego lodging affordable but also cuts down your commuting costs thanks to its central location. Though the room appeared outdated, cleanliness and room service made up for it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler from San Francisco

Best rates but services slow

Posted Sep 28, 2011
Pros: swimming pool, discount on rooms
Cons: Poor breakfast
My budget was pretty low for a vacation in San Diego. Hence I was looking for an accommodation that would be just right – rock bottom in prices but good facilities. I picked California Suites Hotel only because it fit my budget. Frankly I did not like this hotel much. Gosh, the services, the staff was so slow. And there is nothing remarkable to write about complimentary breakfast. Sometimes I even had breakfast outside in nearby restaurants. But two things that did not disappointment me were the room rates and the swimming pool. I have been to a good many hotels now, but this hotel's got the best rates. No questions on that! Anyway from next time, if my budget allows I will go for a better hotel but if the budget's gonna be the same as this time, then I would opt for California Suites Hotel. Let's see!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by evathomas from Atlanta

Ok ok types budget hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2011
Hotels play a important role in making your vacation better and comfortable. This time, on my vacation to San Diego I stayed at the California Suites Hotel which is a budget hotel. My expectations were not very high as it is a budget hotel. Nevertheless, the room I got was clean with a lovely view, though small and not very spacious. Room service was quite all right for the prices. This is not a 5 star hotel, so I could not complain much. I don't have complaints about the rooms or the service but I definitely have something to say about the complementary breakfast. It wasn't quite an sumptuous as the hotel promises and the bagels were often not fresh. Nevertheless, its a hotel definitely worth a try for its prices and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ceejay from San Francisco

Decent hotel for the rates you get

Posted Apr 27, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast
A trip to San Diego had been on the cards for a very long time, but the budget always posed a constraint. Accommodation in a good San Diego hotel costs a fair amount of money and so we were waiting to find the best rates. A friend suggested California Suites Hotel and we checked out the rates. Just the kind we were looking for. Now you can't expect the moon when you are looking for a bargain. But we were pleasantly surprised to see the complimentary breakfast, which was quite fresh, nothing lavish. Besides, they have a pretty big swimming pool, that was definitely a bonus. About the rest, we got decent rooms, nothing fancy, but ok. The staff was a little laid back, but that's not surprising in a budget hotel. One great thing about this hotel is its location, pitched right in the center of the city. So we could simply hop over to the San Diego's best tourist spots without spending a bomb on commute. All said and done, its a nice enough affordable hotel with the best rates, that offers some good discounts too! You get to have a good time well within your budget. Next time we go to San Diego, we plan to stay in this hotel again. I think that says it all!
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Good central location

Posted Feb 27, 2011
San Diego is a lively city which I enjoy thoroughly on every visit. Usually I end up spending most of my time on the beaches. But about two weeks back when I went to SD, I took some time off for visiting Balboa Park. I was also lucky to listen in to some great music at Mainly Mozart at Old Town, and roamed the streets of Old Town. Mercifully, my hotel – California Suites Hotel is centrally located so most of these San Diego sites are nearby. I didn't face any difficulty in commuting and the services at this hotel are great value for the prices they charge. Plus, I got some good discounts on my stay so I saved some more. Am wondering why I didn't see more of San Diego on my earlier visits.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Hotel with best central location

Posted Jan 27, 2011
Just back from San Diego after a week long stay there. This time I stayed at the California Suites Hotel. I liked this budget hotel for one particular reason- its location. During my stay there, San Diego Restaurant Week was going on. And from my hotel, most of the participating restaurants in different locations were nearby. One day I dined in Gaslamp Quarter, the other day in colorful Old Town, some day in beautiful La Jolla. Not even for once, did I face any difficulty in commuting. Due to its central location, I saved good deal of money on commuting. Even the San Diego International Airport was hardly 15 minutes away. Besides the hotel services were pretty satisfactory and the hotel rates were quite affordable.