Ratings based on 31 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Las Vegas

Hair on bed, in refrigerator, Hair Everywhere!

Posted Jul 25, 2015
We were moved from our original room due to hair found on the pillowcase and sheets. We eventually found hair in other places in our new room after a night's sleep. We reported it to the morning manager. He said he would make sure the cleaning staff would pay special attention and that our room should hairless upon our return. Needless to say, the cleaniness of the room was no better. The hair was still in the same places we mentioned. We reported it to the evening manager who even came to our room to witness. The evening manager was empathic and could relate to our outrage. She had the cleaning staff come back to clean. The housekeeping supervisor was rather rude and insulting. We found out that management doesn't require the housecleaning to use a checklist for cleaning and that complaints about the poor cleaniness of rooms are fairly common. We endured unclean rooms with our kids to only feel accused and insulted. We do not recommend and will not be staying here again.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from ks

Power outage first night. No wifi even after 4 da

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: rates
Cons: cleaner rooms
Location: 20 mi to San Diego
breakfast ok but nothing great Hiway sounds all night even with ear plugs. Showers tempermental depending on if the toilets were being flushed.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Arizona

San Diego vacation

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: The room was a pretty good size for 6 people.
Cons: Better staff.
Location: It was a central location, close to things we wanted to do.
The hotel was comfortable for 6 people. We had a suite but the kitchenette was very poorly stocked making it difficult to use. The breakfast was disappointing and not replenished as needed. The lady monitoring the breakfast was the rudest person I ever encountered in the service industry. She made our meal unenjoyable, watching people like we were criminals. She yelled at everyone like we were misbehaving children. We even skipped our free breakfast because she made it miserable. The desk people weren't very professional. If I wasn't paying so much for the room I would feel differently. The room was not cheap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by lisas328 from Tucson, AZ

Very Clean and Comfy for the price

Posted Aug 26, 2013
location right off 8 very easy access to everything. We were happy to walk in and see such a clean room. Staff was very nice and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Localstravel from San Diego

This is a descent hotel with basic accommodations.

Posted Dec 26, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
We enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and had a nice patio/balcony. We spent time at the pool and hot tub which was ok but there were ants surrounding the hot tub. That really was our only complaint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jmw1021 from North Carolina, USA

CLEAN AND COMFY!

Posted Nov 5, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
My kids and I returned to El Cajon for a week and we stayed once again at the Best Western Continental. This time we had a room with a kitchen. The room was clean, quite and comfortable and my kids liked being able to cook using the kitchen. My family and I were once again made very happy.
2 out of 5
by Happytrip2123 from North Hollywood,ca

The hotel was bad

Posted Sep 5, 2012
There were ants in the bathroom and sink . Not what I expected from best western .
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jmw1021 from North Carolina, USA

The Staff that Makes You Feel Like Family!

Posted Aug 1, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
My family and I recently stayed at the Best Western Continental located in El Cajon California and we had a wonderful stay. The room was nice clean with plenty of pillows for a family of six and the staff is warm and friendly they make you feel like you’re one of the family. My children and I love the continental breakfast which includes fresh waffles, sausage, cereal and a wonderful selection of pastries. Now if your family is like mine they will want to visit the pool and my kids love to spend the entire day at the pool and most hotels that you visit are not prepared for you to barbeque around or even near the pool but at the Best Western Continental I was amazed to find a real barbeque grill right there in the pool area needless to say me and my family enjoyed the entire day swimming and barbequing that evening. The Best Western Continental is only a thirty minute drive from San Diego, Sea World and the San Diego Zoo and the Convention Center. If you don’t want to drive to San Diego for dinner then you’re in luck there are plenty of excellent restaurants nearby Denny’s , IHOP, PAPA John’s and Popeye’s just to mention a few. I will definitely stay here again when I’m visiting San Diego and my thanks to the entire staff for making my visit a memorable one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by jrspeed38

staff was great

Posted Jul 23, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
we stayed for 9 days staff was very helpful and rooms were very clean the staff was very helpful the free breakfast was a plus nice little setup.the area around the hotal was ok and bed was hard a a rock.
3 out of 5
by CZAR15

Good value for a quick stay

Posted Jul 13, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Free Internet, very easy access to freeway
Cons: questionable neighborhood.
Our trip to San Diego was to see the zoo, Sea World, and the beach. We used this hotel primarily for just sleeping and showering. It was a good value for the money if you don't plan on spending time there. We did not get a chance to enjoy the free breakfast, but it looked ok and was always crowded, so I assume it was good. Everything was clean so no complaints there. The only thing we didn't care for much was the basic mattresses. I slept soundly because I was exhausted each night from activities, but the mattress were pretty basic and not something you would get like at a higher quality chain. Overall, still a descent place, clean, and a good value if traveling on a budget. Might stay there again if they are the best deal at the time.