Ratings based on 28 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by lisas328 from Tucson, AZ

Very Clean and Comfy for the price

Posted Aug 26, 2013
location right off 8 very easy access to everything. We were happy to walk in and see such a clean room. Staff was very nice and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Localstravel from San Diego

This is a descent hotel with basic accommodations.

Posted Dec 26, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
We enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and had a nice patio/balcony. We spent time at the pool and hot tub which was ok but there were ants surrounding the hot tub. That really was our only complaint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jmw1021 from North Carolina, USA

CLEAN AND COMFY!

Posted Nov 5, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
My kids and I returned to El Cajon for a week and we stayed once again at the Best Western Continental. This time we had a room with a kitchen. The room was clean, quite and comfortable and my kids liked being able to cook using the kitchen. My family and I were once again made very happy.
2 out of 5
by Happytrip2123 from North Hollywood,ca

The hotel was bad

Posted Sep 5, 2012
There were ants in the bathroom and sink . Not what I expected from best western .
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jmw1021 from North Carolina, USA

The Staff that Makes You Feel Like Family!

Posted Aug 1, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
My family and I recently stayed at the Best Western Continental located in El Cajon California and we had a wonderful stay. The room was nice clean with plenty of pillows for a family of six and the staff is warm and friendly they make you feel like you’re one of the family. My children and I love the continental breakfast which includes fresh waffles, sausage, cereal and a wonderful selection of pastries. Now if your family is like mine they will want to visit the pool and my kids love to spend the entire day at the pool and most hotels that you visit are not prepared for you to barbeque around or even near the pool but at the Best Western Continental I was amazed to find a real barbeque grill right there in the pool area needless to say me and my family enjoyed the entire day swimming and barbequing that evening. The Best Western Continental is only a thirty minute drive from San Diego, Sea World and the San Diego Zoo and the Convention Center. If you don’t want to drive to San Diego for dinner then you’re in luck there are plenty of excellent restaurants nearby Denny’s , IHOP, PAPA John’s and Popeye’s just to mention a few. I will definitely stay here again when I’m visiting San Diego and my thanks to the entire staff for making my visit a memorable one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by jrspeed38

staff was great

Posted Jul 23, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
we stayed for 9 days staff was very helpful and rooms were very clean the staff was very helpful the free breakfast was a plus nice little setup.the area around the hotal was ok and bed was hard a a rock.
3 out of 5
by CZAR15

Good value for a quick stay

Posted Jul 13, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Free Internet, very easy access to freeway
Cons: questionable neighborhood.
Our trip to San Diego was to see the zoo, Sea World, and the beach. We used this hotel primarily for just sleeping and showering. It was a good value for the money if you don't plan on spending time there. We did not get a chance to enjoy the free breakfast, but it looked ok and was always crowded, so I assume it was good. Everything was clean so no complaints there. The only thing we didn't care for much was the basic mattresses. I slept soundly because I was exhausted each night from activities, but the mattress were pretty basic and not something you would get like at a higher quality chain. Overall, still a descent place, clean, and a good value if traveling on a budget. Might stay there again if they are the best deal at the time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by MidweekTraveler from Tucson, AZ, USA

Not as nice as i expected, but it was OK

Posted Jul 11, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Free Internet, Quiet, right off the freeway
Cons: looked old, wierd floor plan
I have mixed feelings about this place. My criteria was a 3-star hotel with free breakfast, reasonably close/far from Sea World. For the price, this fit the bill. However, it felt more like a 2-star hotel. The exterior looked old, but the interior looked OK, except the bathroom, which also looked a little dated or maybe just really basic. The layout was weird with the entrance right into the vanity part of the bathroom, rather than the normal entrance into the "bedroom". This was probably because there was a patio door on the opposite end (also resulting in no window at the entrance). However, the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was better than expected/advertised. I was only expecting danishes, muffins, and coffee, but It included waffles, hard boiled eggs, sausage, toast, cereal, and juices as well. Depending on the price (lower) I would consider this place again. It did end up a little further from Sea World than I thought, but I guess that's my fault for not researching it a little better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler

OK.

Posted Feb 3, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
Good hotel, clean and nice for the price. Tv's need to be updated to flat screen, and also channel choices should be wider. Denny's is across the street, but the hotel had a good hot breakfast. Room was quiet even though it was by the freeway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by LopezJ from La Mesa, CA, USA

Great breakfast!

Posted Feb 3, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, good breakfast
I stayed at this hotel in September, and decided to give it a try one more time. They have improved their breakfast compared to our last stay, they now have hot waffles and italian sausage, which was a big plus for us people traveling on a budget. Rooms were clean; the only con is the TV channels, that are limited, but hey, it was worth it!