Ratings based on 21 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Travlingman from Portland, Oregon

The hotel staff made my family of four feel welcome every time we entered the door.

Posted Sep 30, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, walking distance to most everything.
The only issue we had with the hotel was that we booked two rooms based on amenitities and photos shown. We recieved a room that was smaller than anticipated and did not have some of the amentities shown. Overall it was confortable but i believe more photos and details of the rooms should be shown. Example; if a room does not have a tub and only a shower it should be identified as such.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ambiente101 from Minneapolis, MN

Perfect Getaway!

Posted Apr 12, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
This hotel was such a gem. Nestled into the Gaslamp District made it convenient for shopping, dining and sight-seeing. Loved the roof-top bar and lounge area. This was a perfect getaway for girl's weekend and would be perfect as a romantic getaway, too!
2 out of 5
by Bosco10 from Arizona

Did not enjoy our experience this visit.

Posted Feb 5, 2011
Pros: very welcoming front desk
Cons: internet not available in our room
There was a party going on at the hotel and as a multi-day guest I felt slighted and not welcome upstairs at the bar and pool area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler from Park City, Utah

Great location, outgoing staff

Posted Feb 3, 2011
We really enjoyed staying at this property. The concierge was amazing and helped us out a great deal and we enjoyed the roof-top pool and bar. Will definitely stay here again when I return to San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler

Great boutique hotel - need to understand environment though

Posted May 26, 2010
I live in Newport Beach CA and when I go to San Diego for fun I stay at the Andaz (formerly Ivy Hotel). I have stayed there about 6-7 times. I love the modern decor and the overall environment. This hotel is for guests that want a lively environment with bar/club access. This is not the place for total peace at 10pm or for children (my opinion). The staff has always treated me well and welcomed me immediately. I wouldn't continue to stay at the Andaz if the experience as a whole wasn't a good one. I saw some of the reviews and its obvious they didn't adequately research hotels enough to understand what is offered and what they're looking for. Hotels and their overall appeal are very different unless you stay at a typical chain or lower end chain hotel. And in terms of charging for parking - I was shocked that someone expects free parking. I travel alot for business and I can't remember not having to pay for overnight parking. All high end hotels - especially downtown/busy areas - charge for parking. If you're looking for a hip, contempoary, fun, lively, very clean, good service, great location boutique hotel then I highly recommend the Andaz.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Ivy

Posted Sep 14, 2009
Just got back from San Diego. Ivy is a decent hotel. The room was good for one person. First time I saw toilet separated from the bath. The only draw back was that my window faced salvation army office. However, I can't understand why they don't have free parking for guests. Considering the rates they charge, they should provide a free parking. Instead you have to pay $* per day for valet parking. Generaly parking in San Diego is hard. The cheapest parking I saw was $* per day. I was in the city only 4 days I spent $* for parking. Anywhere you go in downtown or even outside, you have to pay separately for parking. Except for Sea Village and only if you buy smth from merchants.You can forget meters . It's so far the most expensive city I've been in US. it looks likes people parked their cars there forever:) Oh yes, those trycycle taxi are ridiculously expensive. The girl asked me $* for 30 minutes ride. Do not eat in the hotel. They charge excessively for food. They charged me $* for a cup of tea. Go outside hotel for food! A lot of restaraunts offer 1/2 off the price,if you go before 7pm.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

What a Hip Hotel!

Posted Jul 22, 2009
From the moment I stepped out of the taxi, the doormen were welcoming, the front desk friendly, and rooms very hip and cool. I thought location near the gaslamp district and within walking distance of the convention center and the waterfront was perfect. Great bar off the lobby, and amazing roof deck to either have breakfast or chill by the pool, and it turns into a very cool rooftop bar at night with outdoor fireplaces, lounges and fabulous views. I highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Great Place,. would def. stay here again!!

Posted Jul 15, 2009
This place was great! From the valet parking guys to the front desk it would be a place I would recommend and re-visit. The concierge / valet staff / front desk were extremely helpful and friendly. The bed was comfortable and the bars/lounges were top notch The ONLY downside was the pool side waitress,. we were only one couple of about 5 or 6 couples at the pool and she walked by us numerous times, we eventually had to go to the bar and order our drinks. The bartender however, was great Good location for walking to various sites throughout the city. Well worth the cost!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Great Experience

Posted Jun 13, 2009
The hotel was awesome. When I asked for suggestions on a good sushi restaurant, not only did they give a great recommendation, but the actually drove me there in the company escalade. Club Envy is great. Beautiful view from the rooftop and good music on all three floors. WARNING: If you are looking for a quiet place for a vacation for the family, this may not be it. But, if you want to be in the middle of everything with the convenience of having a nice club right on your rooftop, you'll love this hotel. I would definitely stay here again!!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Memorial Day Trip

Posted Jun 12, 2009
This was my first time staying at a boutique hotel and it was worth every penny. The hotel is very modern and up to date. The rooms are nice with good amenities. It doesn't have the traditional amenities like a microwave but it was very well suited for my needs. I stayed a total of 4 days and didn't experience any problems other than the wireless internet wasn't very well in my room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast at the Quarter Kitchen but didn't have lunch or dinner. I think they could expand the menu for dinner to appeal to more people. We did use the Escalade service to go to the House of Blues one night. It's a very cool experience. The concierge was very helpful as well. He offered great suggestions on beaches and other attractions in the area. We also visited Envy and the rooftop. Envy was cool and we spent most of the time on the rooftop which is really amazing. I would stay again for sure!