Ratings based on 65 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Julie84from central California

Great for Comic-Con

Posted Aug 2, 2013
I booked this hotel for Comic-Con 2013, and I was very happy with it. It was about a 3 minute walk from the train station and was right next to one of the Con's shuttle stops. The convention center was also within walking distance as was the Gaslamp Quarter (city blocks in San Diego are much smaller than other cities). They have a restaurant onsite that we had breakfast at every morning and the food was yummy. There's a 7-11 around the corner, and a bagel place and Italian restaurant across the street. The staff at the restaurant and the front desk were very friendly. Having shared bathrooms was not a problem, and they would only open with your room key, so we never had to worry about people walking in from the street to use the restroom. Also, each bathroom is lockable, so if someone puts their key in while you're inside, it won't open. Some bathrooms are full baths while others only have a toilet and sink. We stayed on the 3rd floor and counted about 12 bathrooms total. Be warned that the showers are a little dingy, but decent. As for the rooms, they are small and the carpets definitely need to be replaced. It's quite noisy with all the traffic outside. But if you're going for Comic-Con, you aren't going to spend a lot of time in the room anyway! The bedding was clean and there were no bedbugs as some other people mentioned. Towels were given to us every day, but we didn't always get washcloths. Our room was at the corner of the building, so we had 2 windows that opened to let fresh air in, as there is no A/C. Our room also had a small desk, a wardrobe with a few hangers, a folding chair, a fridge, a celing fan, and small TV that had a lot of channels. It was the perfect size for myself and my niece. I would love to stay here again next year!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by MaxEffortfrom Davenport, IA

You get what you pay for.

Posted Jul 20, 2012
Pros: location
Cons: Noisy
This hotel has the basics and that is about all. For a low price (for San Diego!) it provides a place to sleep and clean-up. The "public" restrooms were not a problem- ther was always a free one available, although wash clothes were hard to come by. The location was outstanding howver, easy access to the Embarcadero and downtown. It was noisy at night on the west side, east side seemed better. Staff was helpful and friendly. If youa re looking for cheap and accessable this pplcae works fine- just don't expect too much!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by ComicGirlfrom New York, NY, USA

Get what you pay for

Posted Jul 20, 2012
Pros: Free Internet, cheap/ good location
Cons: Noisy, very old rooms, no ac
I went for a convention. It is in walking distance. Think dorm room. If you want a place to hang your hat and walk to the convention center this is it. No AC but frige. is available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by WizardsRealmfrom York Haven, PA, USA

Not a Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, right next to 2 train lines, convenience store next door, ups store right across street, 5 minutes by train to convention center
Cons: Noisy
You should know, this is not a traditional hotel. It is really a hostel. No bathrooms in the rooms, no AC. 1-2 beds depending on number of guests, free standing clothes cabinet closet, desk and chair, small (18 inches maybe) TV (like a computer monitor). Bathrooms are community but individual and lockable with only key access to get in (so no no guests wondering in, but they do seem to wander the halls a little with the lax security). Bathrooms consist of sink, toilet and shower. Liquid soap and shampoo provided and wash clothes (not many) also. You get one clean towel a day. Culture shock from traditional US hotels but for the money paid, it was not too bad. If it was somewhere other than San Diego, I don't know if I could deal with no AC, but it works for them there. Overall, I would recommend, just be aware of what you are getting. Free WiFi in room works fine and they have pay internet (35 cents a minute) in the lobby if you need to print something. American Plaza and Santa Fe trolly (train) stations are just the next block over and very convenient to walk to. If you have never taken the SD trolley system, it is super easy to use with nice clean, heavily protected trains and cars with transit police very visible and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tufferfrom Huntington Beach, CA, USA

Great place for the Price

Posted Jun 29, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Shared Bathrooms were kept very clean. Not a place to hangout at but with the whole town within a short walk or 10$ taxi ride it was perfect. Used the saved money to see a Padre Game from a great field seat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Gastrodocfrom phx

Great value in downtown

Posted May 25, 2012
Pros: Free Internet
Cons: Noisy
Great value in downtown but noisy, parking can be pricey, need to wash carpets! liked on site dinner.
1 out of 5
by H8500Wfrom Midwest

Awful, dirty, loud, scary

Posted May 17, 2012
Pros: can probably score drugs here, 7-11 nearby
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy, Poor breakfast, filthy, terrifying, no air conditioning, sweltering
This is NOT a hotel! It is a run-down hostel/flophouse. The rooms are filthy, the bathrooms are filthy, the elevators are terrifying, and the clientele runs toward the criminal element. The hallways stink of drugs. And, it is not cheap. Avoid at all costs. Their slick advertising is very deceiving. It is right next to a train station that makes loud noises all night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by xspot

good budget hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants
Very good budget hotel, Historic building (former YMCA), close to gaslamp district and broadway pier. Single room very small, with ample bathrooms across the hall. On site cafe, large lobby. Poorly secured checked bag area in lobby, I had my bag stolen while I was out. Otherwise, friendly staff, helpful.
1 out of 5
by MTTravel

Like staying in college dorms

Posted Nov 26, 2011
The pros: Within walking distance of the convention center. Nice staff. Good restaurant on site. Generally clean. WiFi available. The cons: Cockroach in the hallway. No control of temperature - only a fan to try to cool a very warm room. Window would not stay open - had to use a kleenex box to prop open - no window screen. Peeling paint from windows - With the age of the hotel, makes you question lead paint. Frequently no linens in shared bathrooms. Bathroom (shared) floors frequently "puddle" wet. Rooms exceptionally small (smaller than most dorm rooms)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Addicted2Travel4Lifefrom Sydney NSW, Australia

Great if you just need a room to sleep in.

Posted Nov 22, 2011
Pros: Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
Stayed in double room with shared bathroom with my mum. Basic small room with bed, wardrobe, table, tv and mirror. Only a block or so from train station and public transport to sightseeing. Cheap cafe another block away for cheap breakfast. Staff friendly and helpful.