Ratings based on 265 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by DillyGfrom Portland, OR, United States

Honeymoon Bliss

Posted Dec 8, 2013
We stayed here in March 2013 for our Honeymoon. It was an overall fantastic place to stay. The food was incredible, drinks were perfect, service was excellent and resort was beautiful! If there had been a hot tub at the main pool, it would have been AWESOME! The weather was a little on the cold side when we got there, but turned out great by the time we left! We had an in room Jacuzzi tub and it was great! Very relaxing and a great view from our room.  We had a fantastic time on our Honeymoon here and recommend it to others!! We hope to return there for an Anniversary!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2014 by fabrice thys, Hotel Management
Dear DillyG from Portland, OR, Congratulations again on your marriage and wow! What beautiful words to describe our food , drinks and service ! We thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel for your honeymoon and for recommending our property. It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back at Valentin Imperial Maya to celebrate your first anniversary! Wishing you all the best,
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Happy30from Gaithersburg, MD

Amazinggggggg!!!

Posted Nov 5, 2013
I went back in September of this year. The peope who work there are so nicee. The food is great!! I've been to other tourist destinations that were great too but this one is the best thus far!! We booked the room with the large in room jacuzzi. My husband is a big man, but you could fit another 4 people his size in there. The in room jacuzzi is great for privacy too just pull back the blinds. My husband love this hotel too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by StephenJKfrom St. Louis, MO

Beautiful resort and great service

Posted Oct 30, 2013
We had a great time! Great scenery, great people, great food!!! Would recommend to friends and hopefully will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by suave777from Seattle, WA

Great Property!

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Definitely a great property for those who are looking for a good value. Loved the grounds - it's very spread out, so lots of walking; Eco friendly, so a lot of wild life to appreciate. Bed was very comfortable, staff very accomodating, food was good enough, but not over-the-top. Great bkfst buffet, wonderful French restaurant. Property was under a bit if renovations. We had a swim-up room, which was not a true swim-up, but was on the bottom floor of the pool area. Only negative was that we noticed that if we forgot to tip any of the staff, we would not get the service, which is wrong. We never got a chance to tip our night maid, so the last night she didn't even come to our room for turn-down service. that's just wrong. You must carry around with you a wad of bills to tip everyone, apparently, to get the best service. We would definitely go back. The beach was beautiful, the property and rooms are clean and the food is very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by 2Jaded69from Philadelphia, PA

Fantastic Resort!

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Stayed at the VIM for 6 nights, and had an absolute blast! Resort is gorgeous - yes, it is spread out, but I didn't mind walking and seeing the beautiful grounds. Beach was just ike it is in the picture, food was great. Our favorite was the Indonisian - we ate there twice. We like that you didn't have to make reservations - it was first come first served. We also ate at the French, Italian & Mexican and they were all great. The pool was great...my only complaint was the lack of music/entertainment during the day. Sometimes it was just so quiet - think they should have music playing all day. The gym was very small, and didn't have any free weights, but I just ran the grounds in the mornings as it was too nice to be inside anyway. We caught one of the nightly shows, and it was great. I would recommend the party boat catamaran tour to Isla Mujeres - we snorkled, had a booze cruise, stopped at the islanf for lunch, did some shopping and drove gold carts around the island! Next time I would take more time to explore the island...beautiful, and less commercial ( and cheaper) than Playa del Carmen. All in all it was a great vacation, and I would definitely go back to this resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by eaglegolferfrom Peoria, IL

excellect time

Posted Oct 13, 2013
This resort is the best all around value I have found.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by igalsfrom flushing, ny

GETTING READY FOR OUR 3RD TRIP

Posted Sep 16, 2013
My husband and I have gone once in dec. and once in Jan. This review is for the people who worry about nit-pickers reviews. It is the best for the money and then some!! First--we stay on the 3rd floor (king bed) golden suite. There is nothing like sitting on the balcony with morning coffee or in the evening after dinner. The jacuzzi fills slowly, but after all, it is a leisurely vacation, so what. The room is modern and immaculately cleaned daily. second-- the beach is great. go to the left of the bar and you will find chairs with shades. The lazy pool is just that. The main pool is lively with the team having activities. It can get crowded, and sometimes the towel game is played, so we just go to the beach. The swim up bars are great, and top shelf. Always snacks and something to eat there and at the beach. P.S>- there are no agressive vendors on the beach.  FOOD-The breakfast buffet has an omelette station and a crepe station. the juices are made fresh in front of your eyes. The lunch buffet has many choices, but the best is pick out your cut of meat, fish or chicken and have it grilled your way. The grilled shrimp is scrumptious. For dinner remember the dress code!! We love the fact that restaurants are no reservations, except the Japanese. The thai and mexican are very good. DO NOT listen to complaints!! You will not get betterfood unless you go to a place that costs double!! SHOWS-- some tacky, but fun...the mayan show is wonderful It is a quiet resort, but there bars at night. The grounds are large and gorgeous!! For those who complain about the walk from some rooms--stop it. It is vacation and only is about 5-7 minutes at most to get anywhere. I could go on and on forever, but best to experience on your own. You can always scontact me directly. The only worry I have had is there is no guarantee that we would get the 3rd floor with king bed (building 7)when reserving the trip. So far we have been accomadated and hope to this winter.
1 out of 5
by KevinJfrom Denver, CO

Not worth the price!

Posted Sep 13, 2013
There are a lot of hotels in the Riviera Maya area, and prices vary depending on quality of food, service and accomodations, and this place really lacks all of this for the price! The food was bad, the room was dirty, the bed was hard as a rock, and the resort was not very clean. This hotel is more like a 2 maybe 2.5 star hotel, and for that type of hotel, the price is not justified. This was our first time at this place, and we will be returning to Riviera Maya, but not to Valentin Imperial!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2014 by fabrice thys, Hotel Management
Dear Kevin from Denver , On behalf of Valentin Imperial Maya, kindly accept our sincere apologies for not being able to provide you the high standard of hospitality which is the general norm of our hotel. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you because of this. There is no end to improving, and there we appreciate your bringing these issues to our attention, as it is with our loyal repeat guest’s feedback that we are able to identify those areas in which we need to focus on. We will take action in coordination with my executive team to follow up on the observations made. We hope that despite of your feedback you afford us the opportunity to serve you again at the Valentin Imperial Maya. Kind regards,
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2014
Dear Kevin from Denver , On behalf of Valentin Imperial Maya, kindly accept our sincere apologies for not being able to provide you the high standard of hospitality which is the general norm of our hotel. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you because of this. There is no end to improving, and there we appreciate your bringing these issues to our attention, as it is with our loyal repeat guest’s feedback that we are able to identify those areas in which we need to focus on. We will take action in coordination with my executive team to follow up on the observations made. We hope that despite of your feedback you afford us the opportunity to serve you again at the Valentin Imperial Maya. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ttruelovefrom Cleveland, OH

Beautiful property

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Beautiful property. Well maintained and clean. The food was very good and well presented, however wait times for dinner were frustrating, as was language barrier with wait staff. Large pool area very nice for many people without feeling crowded. Swim up bar staff inattentive, disinterested, and slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Wyndfrom North Canton, OH

Tremendous Resort!

Posted Jul 27, 2013
The complete trip was wonderful, resort rooms could use an update....maybe it was just our room. However, still spectacular! Jungle atmosphere is beautiful and the food was great!!