Ratings based on 123 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great stay!

Posted Jul 31, 2015
You will love all of the restaurants and staff. I was slightly disappointed with the room since you really could not see the ocean. Loved the proximity to 5th Ave. for shopping! Enjoyed the pools and the drinks were fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Kentucky

The food is fabulous!

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Food, spa, gym. There is also rooms in another corridor and another pool area that is quiet if you want a quiet area. The main pool area fun.
Cons: Not enough chairs at the pool. You have to save one at 7 a.m. to get one or you are out for the day.
Location: Location is perfect if you aren't looking for a secluded resort. I love the location.
This is a very very nice resort. We have stayed at several all inclusive hotels and this was among the best. The location is great, especially if you like to be near town and something to do. You walk outside the front and go half a block and you are on Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue with lots and lots of shopping. We shopped a little but really just liked to go out in the evenings and walk and it is someplace you can feel safe at night. The spa area is fantastic. There is a whirlpool (hot and cold plunge) and sauna and steam room that you can use as a hotel guest and even if you aren't purchasing something from the spa. The gym is also fantastic. Lots of cardio machines (this is not usually the case at all inclusives) and free pilates reformer classes! The food is the best we have had at an all inclusive hotel anywhere. The grounds are not as opulent as some places we stayed at but still is nice and the food makes up for any of that. Only bad part was the pool chair situation where you have to be up at 7 a.m. to save one. This was really a pain but the absolute only way you will get a chair. I have never had this problem before but this is how it works at this hotel. All in all a great experience at the resort. Nice/friendly/helpful staff too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Chicago

Trip of a lifetime

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: The service is unbelievable. Each person greets you with a heartfelt hello as you pass them.
Cons: Perfection
Location: Mayan ruins on the beach at Tulum.
My wife and I went to celebrate our 25thth anniversary. Everything was breathtaking. I now understand what is meant by 5 diamond resort. The restaurants, the bars, the beach, it was all perfection.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from W

Most expensive nap

Posted Mar 31, 2015
What should have been a relaxing, restful and a festive get-a-way was derailed by the construction of the hotel, right next door. At check-in, it was not made known that there was construction going on, first thing every single morning! The construction crew was loud, the equipment ran constantly. Even though The Royal's management cannot control the construction on another hotel, it would have been proactive on their part to alert me and my guests. It would have allowed me to change rooms. The only compensation offered - $100 voucher for dinner on the beach! This was offered late Saturday evening, via voicemail and after we had had dinner! All I wanted was an explanation as to why I was not told about the construction upon check-in!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tex75219 from Dallas, TX

Great Value! Great vacation!

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Even though I was traveling alone I felt very safe & had no incident of uneasiness . Playa Royal was comfortable & the staff is wonderful. 
5 out of 5
Recommended
by OzyKip from Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Definitely worth the extra couple of $$

Posted Sep 23, 2013
We actually booked this from the foyer of another resort after a booking error - What a brilliant mistake! I have stayed at a few all inclusive resorts and this was hands down the best! Service was brilliant, food was excellent and the restaurants were open when you wanted them, we later spent a few nights at the Riu palace in Cancun and the difference was huge! The Riu was $50  a night cheaper but felt very second rate compared to the Royal. I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
by Arturojr78 from San Antonio, TX

Very clean and excellent customer service

Posted Sep 11, 2013
excellent staff, considering that it was an all inclusive hotel the food choices were good, the facility offered lots of activities and entertainment, would definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by TheMrsD2012 from Topeka, KS

AMAZING ALL INCLUSIVE TRIP IN RIVERA MAYA !!!

Posted Sep 2, 2013
I was so impressed with everything in this trip I would go again !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by dthorn from Austin, TX

Enjoyed the trip.

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Roundtrip airport shuttle service to resort was convenient and easy.  The Royal Playa del Carmen was a beautiful resort, close to shops and restaurants.  Our stay was enjoyable, food, drink, and accommodations were great.  Check in and check out could have been quicker, and the greeting at our arrival wasn't the best.  Room service was inconsistent and did not always get delivered, and our room was not cleaned the first day of our stay.  Overall very nice resort in a safe area.  Convenient to go to shops, restaurants, and the beach.  The pool and property was beautiful, with entertainment each day and night.  
5 out of 5
Recommended
by steveo570 from Washington D.C., DC

Excellent Resort

Posted Jul 16, 2013
I have been to other all-inclusive resorts in the past, but this one was by far the best. The room was great, the food was really great, and the service was excellent. The only thing I can say as a negative is the pressure to listen to their "pre-paid" vacation deal. I didn't attend, but I did get stopped a number of times and pressured to listen to their talk. Otherwise, the place was excellent.