Ratings based on 119 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tex75219 from Dallas, TX

Great Value! Great vacation!

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Even though I was traveling alone I felt very safe & had no incident of uneasiness . Playa Royal was comfortable & the staff is wonderful. 
5 out of 5
Recommended
by OzyKip from Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Definitely worth the extra couple of $$

Posted Sep 23, 2013
We actually booked this from the foyer of another resort after a booking error - What a brilliant mistake! I have stayed at a few all inclusive resorts and this was hands down the best! Service was brilliant, food was excellent and the restaurants were open when you wanted them, we later spent a few nights at the Riu palace in Cancun and the difference was huge! The Riu was $50  a night cheaper but felt very second rate compared to the Royal. I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
by Arturojr78 from San Antonio, TX

Very clean and excellent customer service

Posted Sep 11, 2013
excellent staff, considering that it was an all inclusive hotel the food choices were good, the facility offered lots of activities and entertainment, would definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by TheMrsD2012 from Topeka, KS

AMAZING ALL INCLUSIVE TRIP IN RIVERA MAYA !!!

Posted Sep 2, 2013
I was so impressed with everything in this trip I would go again !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by dthorn from Austin, TX

Enjoyed the trip.

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Roundtrip airport shuttle service to resort was convenient and easy.  The Royal Playa del Carmen was a beautiful resort, close to shops and restaurants.  Our stay was enjoyable, food, drink, and accommodations were great.  Check in and check out could have been quicker, and the greeting at our arrival wasn't the best.  Room service was inconsistent and did not always get delivered, and our room was not cleaned the first day of our stay.  Overall very nice resort in a safe area.  Convenient to go to shops, restaurants, and the beach.  The pool and property was beautiful, with entertainment each day and night.  
5 out of 5
Recommended
by steveo570 from Washington D.C., DC

Excellent Resort

Posted Jul 16, 2013
I have been to other all-inclusive resorts in the past, but this one was by far the best. The room was great, the food was really great, and the service was excellent. The only thing I can say as a negative is the pressure to listen to their "pre-paid" vacation deal. I didn't attend, but I did get stopped a number of times and pressured to listen to their talk. Otherwise, the place was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by TheBischoffs from Louisville, KY

Posted May 28, 2013
So beautiful! I want to go back now!! We had an amazing honeymoon and would recommend it to anyone. The food is awesome! Service on the beach and pool side is amazing.  A few words of caution...they start selling this membership to you as soon as you are done checking in. It was not appreciated. Also they didn't have the room we had booked ready until the day after we got there. It was irritating but didn't ruin the trip. All in all it is  great place. 
5 out of 5
Recommended
by tthompson from Scappoose, OR

Wonderful resort and people

Posted Apr 29, 2013
Just about everything was perfect about this resort and the staff. A couple of bumps, but other than that, it was outstanding. Staff was wonderful; room was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by GfromOhio

Awesome Resort & Food

Posted Mar 13, 2013
We have nothing but praise for this all-inclusive vacation. Resort was top notch from the room, gym (wife highly recommends the Stott Pilates), food (especially the Asiana, Spice, and Pelicano Restaurants), drinks (top shelf liquor), and service! Employees were very gracious and attentive. We will definitely return!
2 out of 5
by boogey12

Tryed to sell me a time share

Posted Mar 11, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants
I expected a 5 star resort, would have been a 2 star resort in the states. very expensive for what you get. I would not return to this resort again.