Ratings based on 41 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by LizzieMfrom New Jersey

Amazing Family Trip!!

Posted Sep 10, 2013
This was our first time at GBP Coba.... we loved it. I got the golden package. Check in was fast with no problems. The room was clean, air condition worked fine and was in a very good area sec 22 rm 32227 close to everything. The beds are a little small, the are a full size. The beach was beautiful and clean we liked the Coba beach the most. It had colorful fish swimming by, which the kids enjoyed. Our favorite Buffet was at the main coba lobby. If you enter from the outside doors the first section to your left is Maria's tables, she is the best!!! Had our coffee ready and the kids juices refilled fast. The evening staff is also great in that section 2. We also liked the Buffet and food at the Tulum area!!! I did not like the service at the Akumal buffet, it was hot and the servers were rude. That was the only time at had a bad experience. I had no problems getting beach chairs at the beach area. We had 4 dinner included in our golden pkg we ate at the Japanese, Pescador, Mediteranian, and don Pablo all were great!!! Mediteraian just a little bit to hot and the poor waiters were sweating up a storm. We loved it!! It is a big property but the trolleys are there constantly. Great time!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by LoveMyCats2013from Columbus, OH, USA

Largest Resort I've stayed at

Posted Apr 7, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet, not many rooms near beach.
There are lots of good points about the resort. I prefer smaller, more intimate settings closer to town. I knew that going here but sometimes you have to compromise. Given this was Spring Break for the college crowd, I was pleased this property didn't have large groups of college age kids. We stayed 6 days, and it took me that long to figure out the layout of the place. There was a very nice spa that I enjoyed on 2 different days. There were nice pools ner each set of rooms, but it was hard to get a lounge chair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by SteamJockeyfrom USA

generally a fun tri[p

Posted Dec 25, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
Generally a good experience. Multiple Buffet, Restaurant and Snack bars. Some Good, some not. Buffet's usually better than restaurants. Beaches nice but you had to walk over coral reef when entering ocean. No sandy bottom. Communication services are poor. Cell Service is erratic. Could only get a connection occasionally. Don't count on making calls. No free internet in rooms. The advertised free internet in lobbies never worked. In 8 days I managed to get a connection once. May as well leave cell phones and computers home. This seems to be a pervasive problem in Mexico. The Hotel does offer a paid premium wi-fi service. Gee, I wonder. Curiously, I took a trip to Xichen Itsa and my phone worked super. ???? Refrigerator in room was inoperative and several lighting circuits inop as well. All attempts to get maintenance to fix them failed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by joe1134

Top Notch Staff

Posted Dec 23, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
We went for a quick vacation from December 12-18th with family. The resort was great. Very clean and friendly. The staff were always helpful and food was great. Will return soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by prettynicebeach

overall wonderful resort

Posted Dec 19, 2012
Wish they had elevators as walking up three flights of steps was difficult for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by 2ndVisitThisYearfrom Theresa, WI

not as good as last year

Posted Dec 12, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, all inclusive
food was not as good quality as last year, especially at the specialty restaurants. buffets had a lot of empty trays which were not refilled without something pointing out (example out of bacon) at most buffets were were at towels in our room was minimal, we had to track down someone each day for replacement washcloths and towels refrigerator was not working - we called several times per day, final 3rd day they came and replaced it mini bar service is a joke - never put in candy bars, did not replace water or gas waters in refrigerator at all either room service menu - have never used it, not great selection in our opinion
3 out of 5
by GarylPIB

Good resort, below average Beaches

Posted Dec 12, 2012
Pros: rooms spacious and nice
Cons: beaches
Quick Check Rooms: Spacious and nice-very good Food: Buffett good variety-good; a la carte-average; bars-good Beaches: Rocky, had to walk a distance to find sandy area in water-average to below average Service: Seemed understaffed when busy in lounges-good Overall: Had a fun time, have stayed at nicer resorts for the same price-Average to Very Good The amenities, pools and rooms were very good for an all-inclusive resort. However, the beach was average or below average because most of it was rocky – bring a good pair of water shoes. The al carte restaurants were so-so and they were always out of something at the later seating’s. The buffets would have theme nights, but it was the same as the day before; they would just point you to the Italian or American sections for that night. There is a shuttle system between the various resort spots but no one could figure out which ones went were; you always had to ask. Both the free and paid WiFi had problems and would disconnect very frequently –almost unusable, so don’t count on it. They have a frequent traveler loyalty program, but there was no information about it even when we asked. They have a frequent traveler loyalty program, but there was no information about it even when we asked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by OhioTraveler111

Very pleasant experience

Posted Sep 13, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: No free Internet
this was our 2nd time to a Bahia Principe Resort (Dominican republic and Mexico). Both times we were extremely pleased with the service and quality of the resort. The food was always good at the buffet and at the 3 restaurants we tried - mediterranean, italian, and japanese. The beach was very nice and pools well maintained. Bars were all well staffed and great bartenders. We definitely plan to revisit bahia principe at one of their several resorts! I wish they offered free internet in rooms and not just in the lobby (slow connection)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Juky99from New York, NY, USA

A must go hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2012
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet
I just came from staying at Coba and I do recommend it As soon as you come in you feel welcome. you get a cocktail in the lobby as soon as you go to check in and the people in the reception area are very pleasant and friendly. The room was super clean and nice with the only exception that the mattress was kind of hard and there was no ventilation in the bathroom, other than that it was very good. The pools are very clean and the best part is the service i received in the Flanboyan bar by the pool. there is a bartender there by the name of Pedro he is very sweet and attentive. if you go there ask for him. The shows are very good specially the Michael Jackson one. The Disco and the Hacienda are good too. The food was good the only downsize is the reservation part with the restaurants, by the time you go they are all full and the reservations are either to late or to early. One of the things that i enjoyed the most was the people who work doing the animation they are very alive and keep you having fun all day long. Also i love the NO SMOKING policy since i don't smoke that was a plus . in overall i really enjoyed my stay there and already planning for next year to go there with the entire family. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by lovinthebahiafrom Lansing, MI, USA

Going back a 4th time

Posted Jun 28, 2012
I've been to the Gran Bahia three times - 2 times in Coba and 1 time in Tulum. For the difference in price, we prefer the Coba as it is a bit cheaper. Also, if you like to snorkel, it is best to stay in Coba because that is where you want to get in the water off the dock to ride the current down the beach by the reefs. When we stayed in Tulum, we had to hike it 1/2 mile up the beach to start the snorkeling. Went once with just my husband and the last time with our daugher who was almost 2 at the time. My daughter had a great time! There are some shallow beach-style pools that are perfect for little kids. Lots of other families brought their kids, too, so I never felt out of place. Great beaches, but it can be hard to find chairs in the shade, especially because stupid people put out their stuff early in the morning and then don't show up to the beach until the afternoon. Yes, the resort is very large. You do need to ride the little trams around, but my daughter enjoyed that a lot. Sometimes you have to wait 15 minutes for one. Not a big deal for us. A fair amount of walking is involved getting from room to lobby/buffets, etc, so might not be the best resort for a very sedentary person. We enjoyed the exercise. Food was great! You just can't imagine how good the fish is. Specialty restaurants are great. Don Pablos is awesome. Breakfast is a little strange. The syrup is very watery, so either bring your own or mix in some PB with it. The french toast and pancakes tend to be kind of old looking sometimes. I personally got eggs made to order every day. They were great. Also, my daughter has a severe milk allergy, so I was nervous about traveling to a foreign country with her. The staff was very helpful. Before I left, I worked with a high school spanish teacher to work out some phrases I could say to the kitchen staff to make sure food was safe for my daughter. They were very helpful and made separate food (like fries) for my daugher as needed. No problems on the allergy front. We're going back in April 2013 as a family again, with our now 3-year old daughter and another daughter who will be almost 2 at that time (under 2 is free to stay and free to fly on a parent's lap, which is a huge cost savings!). Would definitely recommend to families. We've thought about staying somewhere else, but get too nervous about going someplace else that might not be nice. A few friends have had problems at other places (like the Barcelo), so we are sticking with what we know is nice! Cons - can be a LONG drive from the airport if your driver has to make a lot of other stops. In a perfect world, should take you about an hour and a half, though it took my parents 3 hours. Another con is that it is usually too rough and windy to do the kayaks or windsurfing, so don't count on that. Pro - love the minibar and snacks! If you leave the maid a tip, she will leave you extra goodies like Tequila.