Ratings based on 98 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Beautiful resort

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Stayed here recently for 5 days. Beautiful resort. Nicely laid out. Very walkable front to back. The pool meanders through the resort so there is always a lot of privacy and always a pool view. The beach is fabulous! Lots of palapas and trees to find shade if you so desire. Never had a problem finding an empty chair in either location. No running down to place your towel on a chair first thing in the morning. The room was very comfortable, but the beds a little on the firm side. Was always cleaned promptly and well. The blow dryer gave out one night. The next morning I stopped by the front desk to tell them about it. I had barely walked back to my room when the the man arrived to replace it. Now that was service! The staff everywhere was friendly and attentive. Went to the show one night and it was good. Don't expect a Vegas production show. But was worth attending. Also visited the casino. $5 tables and good dealers. The food was ok but not great. We didn't starve and we didn't get sick. The best restaurant was the Japanese. We didn't do the cooking show thing, so therefore didn't need a reservation. And the food there was the best we had. The average food was the only reason I gave this resort 4 stars. We did not opt for staying in the adults only side and I am glad we did not pay the extra money. There were some children around but not really annoying. As I said the pool winds around so you aren't always looking at everyone else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Wonderful Vacation

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Cons: Buffet food could be upgraded.
Location: About 25 minutes from the airport. Zip line and dune buggy trips not far from hotel.
Had a problem gaining entrance to the resort as we had a private car. Had to prove beyond a shadow of a doubt that we belonged there. Then had a problem parking our car (as we had our own) up at the main entrance so we could drop off our luggage for check-in. Made us unload and park the car before checking in. After that private check-in was great. Private room with refreshments while waiting to be shown to our room a plus. Our butler showed us all the amenities then took us to our room. Room was beautiful. King size bed which was very comfortable. The bathroom is quite small and I would suggest you leave the door open as you may get claustrophobic. The separate shower is large. Did not try the Jacuzzi so cannot tell you about that. Room overlooked the garden (would have preferred the pool view). Private pool and bali beds were great (get there early so you do not miss out on a bed). Private breakfast room okay. A little stuffy. Food in the buffet could have been better. The Rodeo Grill was good - open air and view was great. All the hotel staff were willing to help and answer questions. Always friendly!! Beach party with food and beverages awesome! Our waiter kept things interesting and made us laugh often. Walked over to the Majestic Elegance and had drinks at their lobby bar. Went into the disco - loud and not large. Did not try the casino (figured save my money). Overall thoroughly enjoyed the Colonial and would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom ontario canada

nice hotel close to everything for a larger resort

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: staff was very friendly food was excellent beach was beautiful rooms were very nice entertainment was something we all looked forward to every evening
Cons: 0
Location: location was perfect for me
i arranged a group of 8 people everyone really enjoyed themselfs in fact if the price is right thinking about returning this year with a larger group 3rd time back to the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Omar88from Toronto, ON, Canada

First Honeymoon Vacation

Posted Nov 13, 2013
From start of our trip and until the end, it has been a fantastic experience at the Majestic Colonial. There is always something to do and always something new to experience. Everyone was so helpful and considerate to what we wanted and how we wanted it. The only thing that i would mention is that, if you are going there for the first time keep your luggage with you and take it with you to your room because it takes them a long time to bring the luggage to you. Also, if you go for para sailing do mention to the person who is on the boat to take you high and near the ocean because if you don't ask they will not do it like that, and it costs $90 but with a honeymooner discount its $80 dollars. Also they don't keep you up in the air for very long either. I would like to mention that Gushouu Acosta Cebella was very friendly and really nice to us. He helped us a lot and even though he could not speak a lot of English, he still went out of his way to help me and my wife out. This review will not be complete if i did not mention the person who took care of us from the start of our trip, till the end. Rafael (A.K.A Tiger woods as everybody calls him there) really took care of us and asked us if we needed anything every time we met. He is funny and really helpful and well known in the resort. Overall we had a great experience in the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by AJ131from NYC

Great stay

Posted Oct 22, 2013
We stayed here Oct.14-18 and I will certainly return. From the time we arrived the stay was wonderful the treatment was royal We was served chempane and ate all can of bite size foods and fruits. we was assigned a personnel butler named Juan Carlos He was wonderful. He made us very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Baltiefrom East Haven, CT

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Place is good. But if you are looking for great food then you will be disappointed. The worker is so-so. Speaking the lagunger is a big help
5 out of 5
by VLWWfrom Capitol Heights, MD

Amazing Resort

Posted Sep 25, 2013
The Colonia Majestic was spectacular. I was surprised to see how close the sister resort “Elegance” was to the Colonial. They are right beside one another so you can walk back and forth. They have plenty of activities to keep you busy if you aren’t the lazy lounge around type. Food was good but I started getting bored with the breakfast buffet after the third day but that’s expectable. We stayed in the adults only Colonial Club which is a must. We’ll diffidently return for future vacations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by kdt750from Loveland, CO

Great trip!

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Wonderful resort.  Staff went above and beyond with everything.  Room was nice, with everything working well, a/c, fridge, bed comfy etc.  Beach beautiful but has a huge slope so not very easy for this disabled vacationer to get in and out of water on crutches safely.  Everywhere else easily accessible though.  Would return.
2 out of 5
by redtoyboxfrom Knoxville, TN

Don't Drink the Water!

Posted Jun 26, 2013
The grounds and the rooms were great. The food was OK. The drinks were made from cheap liquors. It was 2 days until a saw a very small sticker on the bathroom mirror that said "Don't drink the water from the tap". By then I was in a full "Diarrhea" situation which lasted the full 7 days I was there. Part of that is due to that some of the ice is made from the tap water! No where in the resorts hand outs or any of the pre information on the resort, was there a warning about the unsafe resort water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by angie82from Alabama

Great Resort!

Posted Jun 1, 2013
My husband and I stayed in the Majestic Colonial Club pool side room and it was great. The resort was beautiful. The room was very nice and top notch. We were glad we paid more for the club majestic room, which was the poolside/swim up pool room. We would definitely recommend this place for anyone looking for an all inclusive resort in the Dominican Republic.