Ratings based on 108 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Avg Hotel, close to the beach

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Staff was amazing.
Cons: The food
Location: You have the beach,
Food 2 Star, there Japanese rest is the best. The pool water was warm to my liking. The staff is amazing and nice. The Jr suite was spacious, comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Douglassville, PA

Resort pretty, hotel staff unfriendly, not good!

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Rooms were spacious and pretty.
Cons: Service of staff. Need to show signs of appreciation to guests and treat them with respect no matter where you are from.
Location: Buggy tour was fun and took you to Macau Beach which was gorgeous. Best part of trip.
Upon check in, we were assigned to a butler to do resort tour and take us to our room in Colonial Club. Paid for trip in full 3 months prior to trip with reservation for a king bed, non smoking room. Butler brings us to a room with 2 double beds. After speaking to 3 levels of hotel mgt., we were told that there was NOTHING THEY COULD DO. They offered NO APOLOGY during any conversation and basically gave us no resolution. After speaking to other visitors at the resort during our stay, this seems to be common practice. Not acceptable customer service and really bad way to start our trip. Hotel staff is not friendly to guests that can not speak Spanish. Bartender was visibly bothered by being asked to make a drink at swim up bar. Only broke a smile with Spanish speaking guests and when a tip was being left. No genuine courtesy at all. Very uncomfortable situation to have to deal with on a daily basis. Again, this seems to be normal practice. Services at LeGourmet outrageously slow. Took 1 1/2 hours to get breakfast. Only 4 tables filled in restaurant. Tried again for lunch next day thinking it was a fluke, same results. Wasted way too much time for no reason. Could not get drinks at the table,started to bring soda from room fridge each time we went to restaurant to insure that we had a drink for meal. Only shining stars in hotel were butler and towel boy. What a shame!
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Chicago, IL

Missed the details

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: The beach was great and always clean. Their spa was also incredible.
The resort didnt understand the importance of details. The staff doesnt have their own hallway for transporting food /water/ housekeeping supplies and at about 4:30 - 5AM AM the shifts change and every 10 minutes you wake up to their loud carts bursting down the hall. The food had no flavor. If you didnt join the colonial club there would not be a bar in the pool unlike the pictures on the site and thank goodness we did. They had a club house that you had 24 hour access to with snacks and water. We ate almost all our meals from there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Long Island NY.

Beautiful Hotel with gorgeous pool , and beach

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: The pools were great. The staff is unbelievable. Nice variety of food, and drinks. Very clean
Cons: I feel you do a great job!!
Location: N/A
Our trip was from 05/19/15 to 05/24/15 and everything was GREAT. We stayed in a Jr suite in the Colonial Club. The express check-in was great, a champagne toast ,sign for pool towels and off to our room. Unfortunately the room was not ready, but by the time we got a drink and some snacks at the Colonial Club lounge, it was ready. A spotless clean room with a canopy bed. The pools are absolutely beautiful, and huge. There are different sections in the pool area, some with soft music, some loud, and some with no music at all. There are also plenty of pool and beach chairs and cabana beds. Bars and restaurants abound here, and the staff could not be more friendly. The food at all of the restaurants and the buffets is good, not the very best but tasted fine.[tuna steaks, beef steaks lobsters, made fresh in front of you pasta bar. omlettes, cakes you name it ]. The drinks at the bars were fine too.I had read some reviews just prior to leaving for the trip and they bashed the place. Saying the drinks were watered down, and the food was terrible. I don't know who wrote them or what they might have expected from an all-inclusive but they were WRONG. This place is worth every penny spent . The entire staff from my butler to the guys raking the sand on the beach were great. Everything was exactly as promised. Just bring plenty of singles. You wont be disappointed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Maine

Nice resort with something for everyone!!

Posted May 26, 2015
Went to the Majestic Colonial with high expectations and it did not let us down! Beautiful well kept resort with an excellent staff! No problems with food or drinks. The shows are very good and entertaining. I would go back tomorrow if I could. Nice job Majestic Colonial!!! C U soon!! :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

Nice place to stay for the price

Posted May 12, 2015
Rooms are a little dated but very clean. Some of the mix drinks were too sweet. So we stuck with straight liquor of beer. Staff is very helpful and friendly. There was always something to do on the resort. In room refrigerator was always kept stocked with bottled water and drinks. The food was nothing to brag about. The best food was at the beach buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Fl

Nice but the room was not clean well

Posted May 4, 2015
Nice but on the second day our room was not clean well: used towel were in the jacuzzi and one still hanging on the closet door. The slippers And robe were not arranged! We were not given another wine bottle!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Fairmount, IL

Great Resort and Beach

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: The resort grounds and the beach are top notch. The extras on the Colonial Club side are worth it. The people were so friendly. The drinks good.
Cons: A satellite TV menu with the channels should be in the room. An ice cream station. Fried chicken and good pizza. A beach coffee/Danish station.
I traveled with my disabled brother to Majestic Colonial, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic, 04/11 to 04/18/2015. The resort was just the right size. We stayed on the Colonial Club side in room 4410. The room was spacious with a balcony and Jacuzzi. It had a stocked fridge with beer, soft drinks, and candy bars. There are 4 bottles of liquor. The beach was amazing with soft white sand. The resort grounds were immaculate. It is truly a very beautiful resort. There are plenty of food options at several restaurants. Made to order eggs and pasta stations were excellent. There were several pools with plenty of lounge chairs and shade spots. The Colonial Club side had more of the bali beds which are fantastic. The Colonial Club has a room with alcohol, food, and soft drinks available. The weather was gorgeous at 85 during the day and 75 at night the entire trip. You need sunscreen as the sun can cook you pretty quickly. There were plenty of bars that had everything I asked for. The staff was very friendly and hardworking. Insects were not an issue. I also saw 3 flies the whole time and no mosquitos. I didn't have any water or food sickness issues at all. Just use bottled water. The ice in drinks and the ice machine are filtered, so no problems. My brother doesn't walk very good, but had no problems at all getting around or from one end of the resort to the other. We both had a great time. It was a perfect time of year to visit as it wasn't overly crowded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from North Carolina

Great place to stay!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Great beach location.
Cons: Some venting in the rooms would be great, there was a lot of dampness with a slight mildewy odor.
Location: The location was wondeful, the resort offered sailing, snorkeling and many other activities.
Wonderful experience, beautiful beach, would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Overall it was a pleasant experience. I'd recommend this resort for sure.