Ratings based on 104 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Maine

Nice resort with something for everyone!!

Posted May 26, 2015
Went to the Majestic Colonial with high expectations and it did not let us down! Beautiful well kept resort with an excellent staff! No problems with food or drinks. The shows are very good and entertaining. I would go back tomorrow if I could. Nice job Majestic Colonial!!! C U soon!! :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Fort Worth, Texas

Nice place to stay for the price

Posted May 12, 2015
Rooms are a little dated but very clean. Some of the mix drinks were too sweet. So we stuck with straight liquor of beer. Staff is very helpful and friendly. There was always something to do on the resort. In room refrigerator was always kept stocked with bottled water and drinks. The food was nothing to brag about. The best food was at the beach buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Fl

Nice but the room was not clean well

Posted May 4, 2015
Nice but on the second day our room was not clean well: used towel were in the jacuzzi and one still hanging on the closet door. The slippers And robe were not arranged! We were not given another wine bottle!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Fairmount, IL

Great Resort and Beach

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: The resort grounds and the beach are top notch. The extras on the Colonial Club side are worth it. The people were so friendly. The drinks good.
Cons: A satellite TV menu with the channels should be in the room. An ice cream station. Fried chicken and good pizza. A beach coffee/Danish station.
I traveled with my disabled brother to Majestic Colonial, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic, 04/11 to 04/18/2015. The resort was just the right size. We stayed on the Colonial Club side in room 4410. The room was spacious with a balcony and Jacuzzi. It had a stocked fridge with beer, soft drinks, and candy bars. There are 4 bottles of liquor. The beach was amazing with soft white sand. The resort grounds were immaculate. It is truly a very beautiful resort. There are plenty of food options at several restaurants. Made to order eggs and pasta stations were excellent. There were several pools with plenty of lounge chairs and shade spots. The Colonial Club side had more of the bali beds which are fantastic. The Colonial Club has a room with alcohol, food, and soft drinks available. The weather was gorgeous at 85 during the day and 75 at night the entire trip. You need sunscreen as the sun can cook you pretty quickly. There were plenty of bars that had everything I asked for. The staff was very friendly and hardworking. Insects were not an issue. I also saw 3 flies the whole time and no mosquitos. I didn't have any water or food sickness issues at all. Just use bottled water. The ice in drinks and the ice machine are filtered, so no problems. My brother doesn't walk very good, but had no problems at all getting around or from one end of the resort to the other. We both had a great time. It was a perfect time of year to visit as it wasn't overly crowded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom North Carolina

Great place to stay!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Great beach location.
Cons: Some venting in the rooms would be great, there was a lot of dampness with a slight mildewy odor.
Location: The location was wondeful, the resort offered sailing, snorkeling and many other activities.
Wonderful experience, beautiful beach, would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Overall it was a pleasant experience. I'd recommend this resort for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Beautiful resort

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Stayed here recently for 5 days. Beautiful resort. Nicely laid out. Very walkable front to back. The pool meanders through the resort so there is always a lot of privacy and always a pool view. The beach is fabulous! Lots of palapas and trees to find shade if you so desire. Never had a problem finding an empty chair in either location. No running down to place your towel on a chair first thing in the morning. The room was very comfortable, but the beds a little on the firm side. Was always cleaned promptly and well. The blow dryer gave out one night. The next morning I stopped by the front desk to tell them about it. I had barely walked back to my room when the the man arrived to replace it. Now that was service! The staff everywhere was friendly and attentive. Went to the show one night and it was good. Don't expect a Vegas production show. But was worth attending. Also visited the casino. $5 tables and good dealers. The food was ok but not great. We didn't starve and we didn't get sick. The best restaurant was the Japanese. We didn't do the cooking show thing, so therefore didn't need a reservation. And the food there was the best we had. The average food was the only reason I gave this resort 4 stars. We did not opt for staying in the adults only side and I am glad we did not pay the extra money. There were some children around but not really annoying. As I said the pool winds around so you aren't always looking at everyone else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Wonderful Vacation

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Cons: Buffet food could be upgraded.
Location: About 25 minutes from the airport. Zip line and dune buggy trips not far from hotel.
Had a problem gaining entrance to the resort as we had a private car. Had to prove beyond a shadow of a doubt that we belonged there. Then had a problem parking our car (as we had our own) up at the main entrance so we could drop off our luggage for check-in. Made us unload and park the car before checking in. After that private check-in was great. Private room with refreshments while waiting to be shown to our room a plus. Our butler showed us all the amenities then took us to our room. Room was beautiful. King size bed which was very comfortable. The bathroom is quite small and I would suggest you leave the door open as you may get claustrophobic. The separate shower is large. Did not try the Jacuzzi so cannot tell you about that. Room overlooked the garden (would have preferred the pool view). Private pool and bali beds were great (get there early so you do not miss out on a bed). Private breakfast room okay. A little stuffy. Food in the buffet could have been better. The Rodeo Grill was good - open air and view was great. All the hotel staff were willing to help and answer questions. Always friendly!! Beach party with food and beverages awesome! Our waiter kept things interesting and made us laugh often. Walked over to the Majestic Elegance and had drinks at their lobby bar. Went into the disco - loud and not large. Did not try the casino (figured save my money). Overall thoroughly enjoyed the Colonial and would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom ontario canada

nice hotel close to everything for a larger resort

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: staff was very friendly food was excellent beach was beautiful rooms were very nice entertainment was something we all looked forward to every evening
Cons: 0
Location: location was perfect for me
i arranged a group of 8 people everyone really enjoyed themselfs in fact if the price is right thinking about returning this year with a larger group 3rd time back to the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Omar88from Toronto, ON, Canada

First Honeymoon Vacation

Posted Nov 13, 2013
From start of our trip and until the end, it has been a fantastic experience at the Majestic Colonial. There is always something to do and always something new to experience. Everyone was so helpful and considerate to what we wanted and how we wanted it. The only thing that i would mention is that, if you are going there for the first time keep your luggage with you and take it with you to your room because it takes them a long time to bring the luggage to you. Also, if you go for para sailing do mention to the person who is on the boat to take you high and near the ocean because if you don't ask they will not do it like that, and it costs $90 but with a honeymooner discount its $80 dollars. Also they don't keep you up in the air for very long either. I would like to mention that Gushouu Acosta Cebella was very friendly and really nice to us. He helped us a lot and even though he could not speak a lot of English, he still went out of his way to help me and my wife out. This review will not be complete if i did not mention the person who took care of us from the start of our trip, till the end. Rafael (A.K.A Tiger woods as everybody calls him there) really took care of us and asked us if we needed anything every time we met. He is funny and really helpful and well known in the resort. Overall we had a great experience in the resort.