Ratings based on 95 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Omar88from Toronto, ON, Canada

First Honeymoon Vacation

Posted Nov 13, 2013
From start of our trip and until the end, it has been a fantastic experience at the Majestic Colonial. There is always something to do and always something new to experience. Everyone was so helpful and considerate to what we wanted and how we wanted it. The only thing that i would mention is that, if you are going there for the first time keep your luggage with you and take it with you to your room because it takes them a long time to bring the luggage to you. Also, if you go for para sailing do mention to the person who is on the boat to take you high and near the ocean because if you don't ask they will not do it like that, and it costs $90 but with a honeymooner discount its $80 dollars. Also they don't keep you up in the air for very long either. I would like to mention that Gushouu Acosta Cebella was very friendly and really nice to us. He helped us a lot and even though he could not speak a lot of English, he still went out of his way to help me and my wife out. This review will not be complete if i did not mention the person who took care of us from the start of our trip, till the end. Rafael (A.K.A Tiger woods as everybody calls him there) really took care of us and asked us if we needed anything every time we met. He is funny and really helpful and well known in the resort. Overall we had a great experience in the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by AJ131from NYC

Great stay

Posted Oct 22, 2013
We stayed here Oct.14-18 and I will certainly return. From the time we arrived the stay was wonderful the treatment was royal We was served chempane and ate all can of bite size foods and fruits. we was assigned a personnel butler named Juan Carlos He was wonderful. He made us very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Baltiefrom East Haven, CT

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Place is good. But if you are looking for great food then you will be disappointed. The worker is so-so. Speaking the lagunger is a big help
5 out of 5
by VLWWfrom Capitol Heights, MD

Amazing Resort

Posted Sep 25, 2013
The Colonia Majestic was spectacular. I was surprised to see how close the sister resort “Elegance” was to the Colonial. They are right beside one another so you can walk back and forth. They have plenty of activities to keep you busy if you aren’t the lazy lounge around type. Food was good but I started getting bored with the breakfast buffet after the third day but that’s expectable. We stayed in the adults only Colonial Club which is a must. We’ll diffidently return for future vacations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by kdt750from Loveland, CO

Great trip!

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Wonderful resort.  Staff went above and beyond with everything.  Room was nice, with everything working well, a/c, fridge, bed comfy etc.  Beach beautiful but has a huge slope so not very easy for this disabled vacationer to get in and out of water on crutches safely.  Everywhere else easily accessible though.  Would return.
2 out of 5
by redtoyboxfrom Knoxville, TN

Don't Drink the Water!

Posted Jun 26, 2013
The grounds and the rooms were great. The food was OK. The drinks were made from cheap liquors. It was 2 days until a saw a very small sticker on the bathroom mirror that said "Don't drink the water from the tap". By then I was in a full "Diarrhea" situation which lasted the full 7 days I was there. Part of that is due to that some of the ice is made from the tap water! No where in the resorts hand outs or any of the pre information on the resort, was there a warning about the unsafe resort water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by angie82from Alabama

Great Resort!

Posted Jun 1, 2013
My husband and I stayed in the Majestic Colonial Club pool side room and it was great. The resort was beautiful. The room was very nice and top notch. We were glad we paid more for the club majestic room, which was the poolside/swim up pool room. We would definitely recommend this place for anyone looking for an all inclusive resort in the Dominican Republic.
3 out of 5
by RxMan619from Long Island, New York, USA

Expected more from Majestic

Posted Apr 5, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy, poor management of facility, food generally not that good.
We just got back from a family vacation, 7 adults. Check in was poorly managed with very few people to assist at front desk. When you finally got someone, they would disappear for 10 minutes thru a doorway keeping customers waiting at front desk. Rooms were nice & spacious but toilet area rather small. Nice size shower. You needed towel cards to get a beach towel which you were suppose to get back once you turned the towel in. Problem was they closed the towel shack around 5P each day. Tipping the towel guy solved the problem. So called top shelf liquor is not included- they consider Jack Daniel top shelf & if that is what you wanted, you paid for it. 6 restaurants on the premises including a French and Japanese hibachi both of which required reservations. The 1st night, we went down to the beach area where a hugh structure encloses 2 restaurants, the Rodeo on 1 side and a seafood restaurant on the other side. Both are served from the same kitchen. We were told that we could only order 2 meat meals out of 7 if we sat on the seafood side. We sat down and ordered whatever we wanted- not a problem with the server. Several of us during the trip suffered food poisoning with myself being down for an entire day. Reservations at the French restaurant was a problem- we had to make 2 reservations, one for a table for 4 & one for table of 3. When we got to the restaurant, they were going to seat us at 2 different tables until we just pulled the tables together and told them "this is how you make a table for 7." One of us ordered grouper which was promptly thrown up within 30 minutes after the meal. so much for gourmet food. The hibachi meal was very good at the Japanese restaurant. Breakfast and lunch at the enclosed gourmet buffet was the best meals we had esp breakfast. Large variety and leaving a few dollars each day at the table made a world of difference in the service. The activities and entertainment at this resort was very good and the staff did a nice job of getting people involved. Pool area was usually littered with empty water bottles and cups due to the fact of limited garbage units around the pool areas. Basketball and tennis courts: no staff usually present, basketballs flat, no water for guests available, courts not maintained. Pharmacy and medical treatment center available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by 2laps2gofrom long island,NY

the staff was very friendly and courteous,always smiling

Posted Jan 25, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
a great way to vacation,plenty of places and choices to eat,never went thirsty whether it was coffee at 7am at the internet cafe or a pina colata served up by Maria and Santa at the Beach Bar.Plenty of good music everynight along with everyday activities and nightime fun
5 out of 5
Recommended
by NortheastCoastTravelersfrom Boston, MA, USA

The hotel was wonderful and extremely clean. The staff was very service oriented.

Posted Jan 22, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Free Internet, great for families with older kids, all inclusive, specialty restaurants on property wonderful, adult only section of beach
Cons: late night food options limited
This was a wonderful vacation. It is very difficult to find a vacation spot enjoyable for parents and older children. This resort was perfect for everyone. Young families had areas for them to enjoy while adult families had separate areas to enjoy. Staff was wonderful! Everyone down to the "coffee boy" at the beachside buffet, who cared enough to remember the families preferences and bring them over as soon as my family arrived each morning. I belief that his name is Carlos and he made our trip even more memorable. The facility was very clean and well maintained. The Mexican/ Dominican, Japanese, and French restaurants were wonderful. The food, staff and presentation of the food were very special. While the other restaurants were just ok, it was really nice to have so many choices for dinner. Free shuttle is available to cigar and chocolate factory which was great fun during a rainy spot. There are many options with varying prices for transfers to the resort. Watch this carefully and shop around for prices. A few mild complaints. First is with the "adult only" section. Teenagers frequented at the business center, using all of the computers and leaving non for the adults who wanted to use that perk. Water sports were limited. Not enough buggie boards for the size of the resort. No water sports available on days with any wind. All of the equipment was grounded most of the week my family was there. Shows were repeated during week there. It would have been better to enough different shows as not to repeat over a one week time. Travel desks were on site to inform about day trips, but prices for the trips were different depending on the employee quoting the price and the age of person asking.