Ratings based on 23 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TCfrom Atlanta, Ga

Great hotel with great friendly service

Posted Jun 10, 2014
I had a great experience. Everyone was very accommodating and friendly. All inclusive is definitely the way to go, not having to worry about where to eat or about the price of things when it came to food and drinks was great. The hotel, the restuarants, the mall area, the auditorium were all very nice and modern. The food was good, and there really was something for everyone. The beaches and the pool area were beautiful. Knowing some Spanish will be very helpful, but you will come across many ppl who speak English so dont feel like you need to take a class before you go. I would definitely recommend this resort. I will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by noworkfrom Cleveland, Ohio

Adults only. Quiet by the pool.

Posted Oct 31, 2013
We stayed at the Bavaro Beach, which is adults only. The resort was kept clean as well as the rooms. Numerous activities to do if you wanted. For the golfers, the course was beautiful and taken care of. You can also go next door at the Bavaro Palace for additional shopping and eating. A word about the food. The Beach buffet has a taste you need to acquire. The Palace buffet is a lot more palatable and more to offer. As they say, do not drink the water. Bottled water is readily available and served in the restaurants. If you find a bartender you like and your going to use that bar frequently, a few dollar tip is a wise move. We gave two of our bartenders a four dollar tip the first day. the two bars in relation to our room was close. One was first shift, the other was second shift. Both poured better than average after the tip. While on the subject of drinking, be it alcohol or not, bring a large insulated mug with you. They serve in small plastic cups. It will save numerous trips to the bar and keep them cold while you relax at the pool or beach.
2 out of 5
by marryroseyfrom New Jersey

Not a five star

Posted Oct 16, 2013
The rooms on the adult only side need desperate updating. Family side rooms are much more updated. Red ants and roaches are a problem. Do not waste your money buying the premium package dinner at 9:30 or 10 p.m. Buffets are good and Hoya19 is fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Severe75from Connecticut

Nice Resort

Posted Aug 8, 2013
Nice place to stay! Beginning was a little disappointing because they gave me a room with two double beds when I specifically requested a king room. Front desk was kind enough to put me on a list for a room change which happened two days after my arrival. The rooms were good in size, however the decor and the quality of it were less than expected when comparing to other places I've stayed in Punta Cana that were a lot cheaper than this hotel. Even more disappointing, there were roaches in my room, and not the big ones you expect to see on the islands, but regular small roaches that you see  in a home that has not been fumigated. I asked front desk to have someone spray my room but I don't think they did. Overall most of the staff were pleasant, except for the gift shop employees, they provide the wi-fi which was not that great. Food was great, entertainment was spectacular, met some very nice people which made my time there a whole lot more fun. I recommend this resort because it offers a lot for its guests, this place is massive and there's  plenty to do. Besides the roaches, which didn't really bother me since it was just 3 or 4 that I saw the whole 11 days I was there I think this resort should not be overlooked. Being an adults only resort was one reason why I chose it. The resort is also on the same property as the Palace Deluxe, it also has a lot to offer, nice casino and a fun disco. I recommend not to book this resort in advance, the price dropped almost $500 less than I paid for it a week before my arrival. Last minute deals would have been better. Hope this helps. Happy vaca. hunting. 
5 out of 5
Recommended
by DRIOWAfrom Charlotte, NC

Great all inclusive resort!

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Great resort for adults only!!! Great restaurants, friendly staff, a very clean facility and lots of fun stuff to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by kayakman

great resort beautiful

Posted May 28, 2013
Resort was beautiful  beach was beautiful and the Dominican people were very friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
by pimpfrom Pensacola, FL

Great destination

Posted May 23, 2013
Good bang for your buck. If u are looking for a great place to kick back and relax in beautiful surroundings, then this is the place. Drink, eat and sun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by bronzbear3from Georgia

Awesome place

Posted May 7, 2013
We went for 5 days and 6 nights at the end of April and beginning of May. The trip from start to finish was wonderful. Travelocity put us at ease with the Delta flight, Prieto Tours transfer, and hotel being so easily accessed. Barcelo Bavaro Beach was amazing! The food was wonderful the staff was great and the property was awesome!! We had a blast and hope to go back ASAP.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MarkT4from Atlanta, GA

Incredible vacation, AWESOME RESORT

Posted May 6, 2013
I take my vacation every year after tax season and this year, the trip to Barcelo Bavaro Beach set the bar for how vacations should be. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The resort was beautiful and clean. It is connected to the Barcelo Bavaro Palace so we had access to everything that was going on over there. Just a great experience. Already making plans to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by dmackfrom Connecticut, USA

Excellent resort!

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
This resort was fantastic! The grounds were absolutely beautiful, with a very clean and modern feel. The beach was right out of a post card, turquoise waters with beautiful mature palm trees. It was a beautiful walk form one end of the Adult only resort to the other end of the Palace (family) resort. Also there was never a problem finding lounge chairs in the perfect spot. We had a ocean view room (not ocean front) and the view from the balconly was great! We were in the outermost building away from all the bussle of the main lobby area. The room seemed to be updated with newer furniture, and even though the bathroom did not match the resort pictures, it was clean and in good condition. We sampled 5 of the restaurants (on both Adult only and Palace side) and every meal was outstanding! Our favorite was Chez Gourmet. The staff was always bright and friendly with any request we had. The liquor included in the 'all inclusive' package was fine for us; I am a Bombay Sapphire Gin drinker which was included and my husband is a run drinker and the local Brugal rum was great. If you were looking for anything more high end (Grey Goose/Skky) you have to pay extra. We enjoyed walking the beach 'bar' hopping! The only con we could think of was that the buffet staff was not very attentive. It was difficult to find a clean table with silverware and napkins toward the end of breakfast. If you sat down, sometimes someone would bring you place settings, othertimes they did not. Would love to go back and even stay in the adjoining Palace resort with the family.