Ratings based on 30 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Greene, Maine

Very nice place and very well kept.

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness and the beach was always being raked and cleaned.
Cons: The air conditioning and air quality. Need better sound proof rooms.
Location: Location was great, we stayed mostly on site and took the shuttle train ride to other Barcelo Resorts which are all in the same area. Great Place
Staff was wonderful and pleasant. Shows were great. We had an awesome time. The beach area is heaven in Paradise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom d county NYRocklan

Barcelo Bavaro Beach

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: The food was very good.
Cons: maybe the cleaners can do a better job with the mop.
Location: It was close by to the air port and the things to do was snorkeling swimming etc..;.
I have to say that this hotel had the best food thus far compared to the other places i have stayed.The pool was very clean and the staff did a very good job trying to please you.That was wonderful and i will recommend this hotel to my friends.Thanks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

we had a wonderful time

Posted Apr 20, 2015
We had a wonderful time .. We are very happy with our stay in barcelo .Employees are very friendly and are willing to accomodate your request . Food was delicious and very clean. Overall great experiance . Strongly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom MN

The Gringo Deep Sea Fishing was awesome.

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: The Maids and the Bellhops and Employees Not expedia they just sent us to other people.
Cons: Given Schedule of what events are participating daily, Allow the coupons to be used and a larger variety of activities
Location: The Gringo by the shopping center on the resort. He is awesome
To start we had lined up transportation and being it was only two days to departure we were unable to get the voucher. Were told someone would be there with our name on a sign. NOT I was ready to return as they are like vultures and with the hotel not giving out information being it was our first time wanted to go home. After approximately 1 hour found someone whom spoke English and they directed us to an area where our name was on a list and was then able to go to the resort. The resort was great except the coupons were not usable to us because they were valid for such limited services not able to use. Luna the bellhop was great. Also the maid service was great. The Canadian who ran the Deep Sea Fishing and also the Cattamarians was also great. Highly recommend him. He was not with the resort so go to the end of the beach towards the shopping center and ask for the gringo. He does several different services and is less than half of the resort cost. Wish someone would have told us about a taxi and the cost to go down town and to be sure to ask the rate. The bellman told us it was $10.00 each and so we paid that going and coming back asked the driver for cost was $10.00 for both. First time on vacation out of the country so was nice but learned a lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom New Jersey

Good stay if you get a good deal.

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Okay I have a lot to say, so bear with me, but for those of you with short attention spans, here's the summary: We got a Groupon deal, so we put up with things. The food is decent but nothing to write home about The resort/beach overall were clean and quiet Now the nitty-gritty: Don't bother exchanging money! Everywhere you go accepts American money. Don't bother tipping the staff who service the buffet! We made this mistake and the service was not one ounce better for it. The waiters (any one of them, we had many) take FOREVER to bring you anything. Better know some Spanish because NO EMPLOYEE can speak decent English. I was appalled at how little English they knew. The buffet is okay, but don't expect great food. If you don't get to breakfast/lunch right when they put it out, it gets congealed and stale- they don't "refresh" any platters. Book dinner at the restaurants (they are included but you need reservations) as soon as you get there! Don't wait till the next day or you'll eat at 10pm. The maids don't clean the rooms until very late in the day (2-6pm), so if you're planning to nap that stinks. Don't get sucked into the excursions! But discounted tickets before you come, it's crazy expensive. Don't bother with the evening "shows" for entertainment, they are boring and the dancers are a joke- go to the casino. And lastly, there is NO REAL orange juice! If you ask for a mixed drink that should have OJ, you will get a gross orange "juice" (looks like flat orange soda)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice hotel, but watch closely the charges.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The restaurant at the "family" hotel is much better. Also the restaurant at the golf course is better.
Location: Not much to do. The hotel is isolated.
I found that the hotel had added charges after my depart.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A travelerfrom Michigan

It's tough to have a better vacation facility

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: I loved that all areas of the facility were immaculately kept and the entire facility was comfortable and safe, even into the late-morning hours.
Cons: Some of the staff were less than helpful, but there were only a couple of the dozens we encountered. If you have problems, deal with the front desk.
Location: Horseback riding was close by and the Palace had more options for restaurants and activities.
From arrival to departure, the stay at Barcelo Bavaro Beach was awesome. It was adults only, so it had a different vibe than the Deluxe property, which is next door. The buffet food was good, but not great -- be sure to make reservations at the themed restaurants to have the best meals. I was amazed by how clean the facility was; I didn't see any stray garbage and the staff was sure to keep all the dining and bar areas clean. The beach was superb and there were plenty of free activities planned, such as beach aerobics, volleyball, basketball and tennis. The rooms were very good and when our air conditioning wasn't working properly, the front desk moved us quickly and without hassle. The ability to use the adjacent Palace facility, which had additional restaurants and the casino, provided more options. The buffet areas are open for most of the day and the sports bar at the Palace stays open 24 hours for late snacks. Everything is there, so there's not really a need to leave the resort area, but if you're looking to branch out, cabs are available. Giving gratuities will get you better service -- the staff is friendly and helpful and truly appreciates even a buck or two (US$). They went above and beyond expectations to ensure that we had a wonderful time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TCfrom Atlanta, Ga

Great hotel with great friendly service

Posted Jun 10, 2014
I had a great experience. Everyone was very accommodating and friendly. All inclusive is definitely the way to go, not having to worry about where to eat or about the price of things when it came to food and drinks was great. The hotel, the restuarants, the mall area, the auditorium were all very nice and modern. The food was good, and there really was something for everyone. The beaches and the pool area were beautiful. Knowing some Spanish will be very helpful, but you will come across many ppl who speak English so dont feel like you need to take a class before you go. I would definitely recommend this resort. I will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by noworkfrom Cleveland, Ohio

Adults only. Quiet by the pool.

Posted Oct 31, 2013
We stayed at the Bavaro Beach, which is adults only. The resort was kept clean as well as the rooms. Numerous activities to do if you wanted. For the golfers, the course was beautiful and taken care of. You can also go next door at the Bavaro Palace for additional shopping and eating. A word about the food. The Beach buffet has a taste you need to acquire. The Palace buffet is a lot more palatable and more to offer. As they say, do not drink the water. Bottled water is readily available and served in the restaurants. If you find a bartender you like and your going to use that bar frequently, a few dollar tip is a wise move. We gave two of our bartenders a four dollar tip the first day. the two bars in relation to our room was close. One was first shift, the other was second shift. Both poured better than average after the tip. While on the subject of drinking, be it alcohol or not, bring a large insulated mug with you. They serve in small plastic cups. It will save numerous trips to the bar and keep them cold while you relax at the pool or beach.
2 out of 5
by marryroseyfrom New Jersey

Not a five star

Posted Oct 16, 2013
The rooms on the adult only side need desperate updating. Family side rooms are much more updated. Red ants and roaches are a problem. Do not waste your money buying the premium package dinner at 9:30 or 10 p.m. Buffets are good and Hoya19 is fantastic.