Ratings based on 34 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Texas

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Resort was great , staff outstanding . Super friendly and very polite . Drinks were ok , need better selection of beer then just one . The food was below average , cold dishes were not cold and hot dishes were not hot . The staff was A+ , we tipped well and often . And our cleaning lady was awesome !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Charlotte

Very nice hotel/resort

Posted Jul 12, 2015
The resort was awesome. The staff was friendly. They gave good instruction at check in to make the stay wonderful. Food was amazing. Beach was right in back yard. Sister resorts have variety. Would recommend. And would return. Had others giving advice of where to stay. This place was priced right and was just as amazing as any other location on the island. Only questionable situation is I purchased wifi in gift store. I had coupon book for discount. They didn't ask me for coupon. And coupon had to be presented at time of purchase to apply discount. Seemed as if gift store didn't want to offer discount. Again, overall this location was DA BOMB!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

Close to beach and pool, plus no kids!

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: access to beach
Cons: food, ease of use of all inclusive amenities
Location: location is great- near by? never traveled out
The hotel is situated perfectly for quick access to the beach and the bar/pool area. The rooms are clean but look a bit run down, especially the bathroom. Restaurants are ok, nothing special, but not terrible, staff is overall friendly. The "all access' to massages in the room etc. are difficult to book, understand in terms of use, coupons etc. make it more difficult, and of course do not cover the whole cost. If you are looking for an average overall experience, this is your place, not worth the 4.5 stars it receives on travelocity etc. but not bad either.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from New York

NO!! Customer Service!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: The quite Beach
Cons: Customer service was terrible I was disrespected by a manager.
Location: there is nothing good near by CoCo Bungo was just a bunch of live shows almost no dancing music. the Disco at the hotel isn't any better.
I would say that my experience was OK because this is the kind of Service, Drinks, and food you will get. The Drink were all too sweet or too strong, Bartenders pour drinks without measuring so you will find that every bar makes a different drink the beer is watered down. I stayed at the adults only side of Barceló but all the restaurants are on the other side of the property at the Barceló deluxe so I had to take an open air Tran to get the better side. the only plus of being on the adult side was a quite beach compared to deluxe which was full of people so good luck finding a beach chair and a quite space to relax. The Food was 10x better at the Deluxe side of Barceló compared to the adults only. so you will spend most of your time at another hotel unfortunately. The food is inconsistent one days is good the next its terrible. The service was subpar and got into it with a manager because I wore a tank top to the buffet instead of a T-shirt. I know all hotels have rules but I'm at the pool all day, I'm hungry, and my room is on the other side of the property they would not accommodate me yelled at me, and walked me out with security guards. I was very unhappy about that. NO CUSTOMER SERVICE. My Advise Try another hotel I heard Hard Rock was better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Greene, Maine

Very nice place and very well kept.

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness and the beach was always being raked and cleaned.
Cons: The air conditioning and air quality. Need better sound proof rooms.
Location: Location was great, we stayed mostly on site and took the shuttle train ride to other Barcelo Resorts which are all in the same area. Great Place
Staff was wonderful and pleasant. Shows were great. We had an awesome time. The beach area is heaven in Paradise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from d county NYRocklan

Barcelo Bavaro Beach

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: The food was very good.
Cons: maybe the cleaners can do a better job with the mop.
Location: It was close by to the air port and the things to do was snorkeling swimming etc..;.
I have to say that this hotel had the best food thus far compared to the other places i have stayed.The pool was very clean and the staff did a very good job trying to please you.That was wonderful and i will recommend this hotel to my friends.Thanks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

we had a wonderful time

Posted Apr 20, 2015
We had a wonderful time .. We are very happy with our stay in barcelo .Employees are very friendly and are willing to accomodate your request . Food was delicious and very clean. Overall great experiance . Strongly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from MN

The Gringo Deep Sea Fishing was awesome.

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: The Maids and the Bellhops and Employees Not expedia they just sent us to other people.
Cons: Given Schedule of what events are participating daily, Allow the coupons to be used and a larger variety of activities
Location: The Gringo by the shopping center on the resort. He is awesome
To start we had lined up transportation and being it was only two days to departure we were unable to get the voucher. Were told someone would be there with our name on a sign. NOT I was ready to return as they are like vultures and with the hotel not giving out information being it was our first time wanted to go home. After approximately 1 hour found someone whom spoke English and they directed us to an area where our name was on a list and was then able to go to the resort. The resort was great except the coupons were not usable to us because they were valid for such limited services not able to use. Luna the bellhop was great. Also the maid service was great. The Canadian who ran the Deep Sea Fishing and also the Cattamarians was also great. Highly recommend him. He was not with the resort so go to the end of the beach towards the shopping center and ask for the gringo. He does several different services and is less than half of the resort cost. Wish someone would have told us about a taxi and the cost to go down town and to be sure to ask the rate. The bellman told us it was $10.00 each and so we paid that going and coming back asked the driver for cost was $10.00 for both. First time on vacation out of the country so was nice but learned a lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from New Jersey

Good stay if you get a good deal.

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Okay I have a lot to say, so bear with me, but for those of you with short attention spans, here's the summary: We got a Groupon deal, so we put up with things. The food is decent but nothing to write home about The resort/beach overall were clean and quiet Now the nitty-gritty: Don't bother exchanging money! Everywhere you go accepts American money. Don't bother tipping the staff who service the buffet! We made this mistake and the service was not one ounce better for it. The waiters (any one of them, we had many) take FOREVER to bring you anything. Better know some Spanish because NO EMPLOYEE can speak decent English. I was appalled at how little English they knew. The buffet is okay, but don't expect great food. If you don't get to breakfast/lunch right when they put it out, it gets congealed and stale- they don't "refresh" any platters. Book dinner at the restaurants (they are included but you need reservations) as soon as you get there! Don't wait till the next day or you'll eat at 10pm. The maids don't clean the rooms until very late in the day (2-6pm), so if you're planning to nap that stinks. Don't get sucked into the excursions! But discounted tickets before you come, it's crazy expensive. Don't bother with the evening "shows" for entertainment, they are boring and the dancers are a joke- go to the casino. And lastly, there is NO REAL orange juice! If you ask for a mixed drink that should have OJ, you will get a gross orange "juice" (looks like flat orange soda)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice hotel, but watch closely the charges.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The restaurant at the "family" hotel is much better. Also the restaurant at the golf course is better.
Location: Not much to do. The hotel is isolated.
I found that the hotel had added charges after my depart.