Ratings based on 26 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom New Jersey

Good stay if you get a good deal.

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Okay I have a lot to say, so bear with me, but for those of you with short attention spans, here's the summary: We got a Groupon deal, so we put up with things. The food is decent but nothing to write home about The resort/beach overall were clean and quiet Now the nitty-gritty: Don't bother exchanging money! Everywhere you go accepts American money. Don't bother tipping the staff who service the buffet! We made this mistake and the service was not one ounce better for it. The waiters (any one of them, we had many) take FOREVER to bring you anything. Better know some Spanish because NO EMPLOYEE can speak decent English. I was appalled at how little English they knew. The buffet is okay, but don't expect great food. If you don't get to breakfast/lunch right when they put it out, it gets congealed and stale- they don't "refresh" any platters. Book dinner at the restaurants (they are included but you need reservations) as soon as you get there! Don't wait till the next day or you'll eat at 10pm. The maids don't clean the rooms until very late in the day (2-6pm), so if you're planning to nap that stinks. Don't get sucked into the excursions! But discounted tickets before you come, it's crazy expensive. Don't bother with the evening "shows" for entertainment, they are boring and the dancers are a joke- go to the casino. And lastly, there is NO REAL orange juice! If you ask for a mixed drink that should have OJ, you will get a gross orange "juice" (looks like flat orange soda)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice hotel, but watch closely the charges.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The restaurant at the "family" hotel is much better. Also the restaurant at the golf course is better.
Location: Not much to do. The hotel is isolated.
I found that the hotel had added charges after my depart.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A travelerfrom Michigan

It's tough to have a better vacation facility

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: I loved that all areas of the facility were immaculately kept and the entire facility was comfortable and safe, even into the late-morning hours.
Cons: Some of the staff were less than helpful, but there were only a couple of the dozens we encountered. If you have problems, deal with the front desk.
Location: Horseback riding was close by and the Palace had more options for restaurants and activities.
From arrival to departure, the stay at Barcelo Bavaro Beach was awesome. It was adults only, so it had a different vibe than the Deluxe property, which is next door. The buffet food was good, but not great -- be sure to make reservations at the themed restaurants to have the best meals. I was amazed by how clean the facility was; I didn't see any stray garbage and the staff was sure to keep all the dining and bar areas clean. The beach was superb and there were plenty of free activities planned, such as beach aerobics, volleyball, basketball and tennis. The rooms were very good and when our air conditioning wasn't working properly, the front desk moved us quickly and without hassle. The ability to use the adjacent Palace facility, which had additional restaurants and the casino, provided more options. The buffet areas are open for most of the day and the sports bar at the Palace stays open 24 hours for late snacks. Everything is there, so there's not really a need to leave the resort area, but if you're looking to branch out, cabs are available. Giving gratuities will get you better service -- the staff is friendly and helpful and truly appreciates even a buck or two (US$). They went above and beyond expectations to ensure that we had a wonderful time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TCfrom Atlanta, Ga

Great hotel with great friendly service

Posted Jun 10, 2014
I had a great experience. Everyone was very accommodating and friendly. All inclusive is definitely the way to go, not having to worry about where to eat or about the price of things when it came to food and drinks was great. The hotel, the restuarants, the mall area, the auditorium were all very nice and modern. The food was good, and there really was something for everyone. The beaches and the pool area were beautiful. Knowing some Spanish will be very helpful, but you will come across many ppl who speak English so dont feel like you need to take a class before you go. I would definitely recommend this resort. I will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by noworkfrom Cleveland, Ohio

Adults only. Quiet by the pool.

Posted Oct 31, 2013
We stayed at the Bavaro Beach, which is adults only. The resort was kept clean as well as the rooms. Numerous activities to do if you wanted. For the golfers, the course was beautiful and taken care of. You can also go next door at the Bavaro Palace for additional shopping and eating. A word about the food. The Beach buffet has a taste you need to acquire. The Palace buffet is a lot more palatable and more to offer. As they say, do not drink the water. Bottled water is readily available and served in the restaurants. If you find a bartender you like and your going to use that bar frequently, a few dollar tip is a wise move. We gave two of our bartenders a four dollar tip the first day. the two bars in relation to our room was close. One was first shift, the other was second shift. Both poured better than average after the tip. While on the subject of drinking, be it alcohol or not, bring a large insulated mug with you. They serve in small plastic cups. It will save numerous trips to the bar and keep them cold while you relax at the pool or beach.
2 out of 5
by marryroseyfrom New Jersey

Not a five star

Posted Oct 16, 2013
The rooms on the adult only side need desperate updating. Family side rooms are much more updated. Red ants and roaches are a problem. Do not waste your money buying the premium package dinner at 9:30 or 10 p.m. Buffets are good and Hoya19 is fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Severe75from Connecticut

Nice Resort

Posted Aug 8, 2013
Nice place to stay! Beginning was a little disappointing because they gave me a room with two double beds when I specifically requested a king room. Front desk was kind enough to put me on a list for a room change which happened two days after my arrival. The rooms were good in size, however the decor and the quality of it were less than expected when comparing to other places I've stayed in Punta Cana that were a lot cheaper than this hotel. Even more disappointing, there were roaches in my room, and not the big ones you expect to see on the islands, but regular small roaches that you see  in a home that has not been fumigated. I asked front desk to have someone spray my room but I don't think they did. Overall most of the staff were pleasant, except for the gift shop employees, they provide the wi-fi which was not that great. Food was great, entertainment was spectacular, met some very nice people which made my time there a whole lot more fun. I recommend this resort because it offers a lot for its guests, this place is massive and there's  plenty to do. Besides the roaches, which didn't really bother me since it was just 3 or 4 that I saw the whole 11 days I was there I think this resort should not be overlooked. Being an adults only resort was one reason why I chose it. The resort is also on the same property as the Palace Deluxe, it also has a lot to offer, nice casino and a fun disco. I recommend not to book this resort in advance, the price dropped almost $500 less than I paid for it a week before my arrival. Last minute deals would have been better. Hope this helps. Happy vaca. hunting. 
5 out of 5
Recommended
by DRIOWAfrom Charlotte, NC

Great all inclusive resort!

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Great resort for adults only!!! Great restaurants, friendly staff, a very clean facility and lots of fun stuff to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by kayakman

great resort beautiful

Posted May 28, 2013
Resort was beautiful  beach was beautiful and the Dominican people were very friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
by pimpfrom Pensacola, FL

Great destination

Posted May 23, 2013
Good bang for your buck. If u are looking for a great place to kick back and relax in beautiful surroundings, then this is the place. Drink, eat and sun.