Ratings based on 45 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
by iluv2rock from Canada

Excellent service staff

Posted Feb 2, 2013
Cons: No free Internet
Awesome staff, very clean well kept property. We were disappointed with the buffet, because everyday, every meal was exactly the same. I stayed at Riu in Cabo and the buffet there was much better. Lack of internet was a big disapointment for me, the price they want to receive internet in the room is ridiculous. Other than that. pretty much happy with the rest of the experience
3 out of 5
by Valueseeker1 from San Francisco, CA, USA

It's a good place if you want a fair to average value

Posted Jan 8, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast
Cons: Noisy, dirty towels, bad mattress, repetative foods
I didn't like it since their mattresses are not comfortable to sleep on. My mattress was as hard as a rock. The towels have visible dirty spot on them. They didn't clean our shower the whole time we were there and who knows how or if they cleaned the bathroom! The hotel is so noisy and it's hard to get some rest. Their all inclusive meals are fair to average quality, their free drinks are not good at all. But they have a good intertainment program and if you are young and don't want to sleep and have a lot of free drinks and don't care how they taste, this is the place for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ballplayer14510 from Midland, MI, USA

Such an amazing experience

Posted Dec 20, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, entertainment
Everyone was amazing to us! They were willing to help with anything and the entertainment staff was the best ever! SO MUCH FUN!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by moose13 from Worden, IL 62097, USA

hotel was great

Posted Dec 7, 2012
this was our 3rd year staying here. we love this place. the staff and service is excellent.
2 out of 5
by Disappointedfromtheus from Chicago, IL, USA

room smelled like mold. There was mold in the shower

Posted Aug 10, 2012
Cons: Nothing close, No free Internet, Noisy
Way to many people to enjoy yourself. The food was ok. Staff was friendly. I would spend the extra money next time to upgrade to a better hotel. This hotel was cheaper, but attracted a much different range of people
1 out of 5
by Rose1White

Terrible

Posted Jul 12, 2012
Cons: Nothing close, Noisy, Poor breakfast
The food and customer service was terrible. Do not stay at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by mimitraveler

A good place.

Posted Mar 21, 2012
The front desk staff, expecially Jesse were terrific. They were very helpful and friendly. The beds are hard but I overheard you can have padding added. A definate. The food was mediocre but the French Speciality was good. The quiet rooms are on the backside but I wanted an ocean view. Please tip the staff. Yes it is all inclusive but they work hard for you.
2 out of 5
by KarenO from Denver, CO

Too big, too loud, too crowded -- but the food is good!

Posted Jun 7, 2011
Cons: Nothing close, Noisy
Riu Vallarta has several things to recommend it, but I wouldn't stay there again. Pros: We upgraded to a Jr Suite since we had our 5 year old grandson with us. It was a lovely room with jacuzzi tub and separate seating area with pull out loveseat on which the youngster slept just fine. It's a lovely beach with quite a depth to the shallow waters which gave our little one an awesome experience for his first time at the beach. The food in the buffet was, in our opinion, quite good with a generous variety. The only specialty restaurant we tried was the steak house and that was also quite good. Cons: It's really hard to get to that good food with the rude crush of people attacking the buffet. The first weekend we were there the hotel was full and the competition at the buffet was... insane! This is only partly due to the bad manners of other guests -- the buffet could be much better organized on the part of the hotel to alleviate this problem. Everything is so spread out that you spend a lot of time walking from one place to the other -- for example, from the beach to the bathroom. Quite a trek! I object to the term "kids pool". It should be called a teen pool since the depth throughout is 4.75 feet -- too deep for my 5 year old's comfort. The music for *both* pools is blasted from the kid's pool area so you'd better hope your kid isn't crying out for you -- you'll never be able to hear it over the din. Also, the hotel had just installed its first ATM as a result of some new regulation prohibiting the exchange of USD for pesos -- it wasn't working for the entire week we were there. The guys at the front desk told us to walk over to the Riu Jalisco and use their ATM -- that one has never worked either. We ended up taking a cab to the MegaStore to get cash from a bank ATM. Overall, for my tastes, Riu Vallarta is too big, too crowded, too loud and too far away (both distances within the hotel and a long ride to Puerto Vallarta -- not such a big deal since the malecon is gone, gone, gone until October).
5 out of 5
Recommended
by easyeasy

We had a wonderful stay at the Riu Vallarta

Posted Apr 13, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet
Last Year my family and I (July 2010) stayed at the Riu Vallarta in - Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. We were treated extremely well. The staff were very friendly and accomendating. The rooms were spaceous and clean and the food was awesome. We were always within reach of alcoholic drinks. There pools were clean, the whole ambience and atmosphere were very good. I recommend this Resort to anyone looking for a great vacation get-away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by newtravelers from Willard, UT

This hotel was a good home base for our adventures in Puerta Vallarta!

Posted Apr 13, 2011
My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Riu Vallarta. The bed was VERY HARD! Not very compfortable at all. The staff at the bar was not very impressive to us. We don't drink alcohol and when we asked for a virgin drink, the bartender seemed put out and actually ended up giving us one alcoholic drink. That was very frustrating. But, overall the resort was beautiful. The front desk staff was top notch and we would recommend this resort to friends or family.