Ratings based on 64 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by JPMinKCMOfrom Kansas City, MO, United States

Definitely for families

Posted Dec 7, 2013
Never been to PV before, so I relied on the web for hotel reviews. I read them here and have to admit that even after seeing reviews that this place was kid friendly I still made a reservation. Won't do that again. I had room 107, about as big as a glorified broom closet. The first night the room smelled of oily water. After the maid cleaned the next day, that odor disappeared. No chair(s) in the room, just a bed, dresser, and TV. Many many kids over the weekend. Check in was okay, but they kept my drivers license inadvertently. Had to go get it back. The AC had one setting - HIGH and it had to work to keep the room cool. Even then, it was humid. I chose the all inclusive package. The food is buffet style and mass produced. Can't say it was bad, but it wasn't great either. The staff was business like with those working evenings being more friendly in my opinion. I liked the hard beds, but that is a preference of mine. Pillows were a bit too soft. Internet service available in the lobby or bar area only and was sporadically fast and slow. The beach area is nice and they clean it overnight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mecalanifrom Lake Tahoe, Calif

loved it

Posted Jun 8, 2013
location was great... on the beach... wonderful service... I stayed here 4 years ago and am planning another trip in October.. Highly recommend paying a little extra for all inclusive. The breakfast is delicious & the cocktails were delicious
3 out of 5
by InsideVoicefrom Vallejo, CA, USA

Be Aware: This is a family-focused hotel.

Posted Jun 29, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: Noisy, Poor breakfast
I would recommend this hotel if you are travelling with children and would like them involved in hotel-sponsored activities. Otherwise you will be awoken each morning to the echoing screams of wee ones splashing about in the centrally located pool. The first room they offered had an inoperative a/c unit however; they quickly provided me with an alternate room without delay. The room I stayed in was clean yet the window facing the main hall did not close properly allowing the hot, humid weather and mosquitoes in. In addition, the TV lacked a remote control forcing me to manually adjust for volume and channel changing. I would have requested to be moved into a third room yet I suspect that any room in this hotel would have shortcomings as the general upkeep seemed lacking by U.S. standards. There were a few little annoyances such as the hotel’s Wi-Fi going offline at least once a day. Most of the staff was polite if not exceeding helpful and the restaurant’s cuisine was mediocre at best (eat out, there are a lot of restaurants near by). In summary, you will be disappointed if you are expecting U.S.-style service and convenience. If you are travelling with kids and would like to keep them occupied while you soak up the sun on the beach and aren’t too disturbed by the lack of amenities, this just might be the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by LoveMexicoTravelfrom Sacramento, CA, USA

My favorite hotel in Puerto Vallarta..comfort, location, it's perfect!

Posted Apr 25, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Have stayed at Playa los Arcos many times as it's my favorite hotel for their all around amenities and comfort. Their downtown location will give you many choices to shop and dine at countless restaurants, and they are located on the beach with a great pool and spa. Rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. Their restaurant offers excellent food too. Another great feature of the hotel is their attentive and caring staff..if there is a problem, they fix it. A great place to stay while visiting Puerto Vallarta!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by 2catsmeowfrom Albany, CA, USA

The Staff made me feel comfortable as I was by my self and I felt safe

Posted Feb 7, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: Noisy
I would diffently tell people to stay at Playa Los Aros It is accesable to everything beach shopping and gallerys wonderfuol
4 out of 5
Recommended
by PV4EVERfrom Cleveland, OH, USA

A great hotel for the money.

Posted Dec 10, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
I have stayed at Playa Los Arcos off and on for the past 15 years and always consider it "home" when I stay in Puerto Vallarta. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is ideal. What more could you want?!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lovetofrom California

A tropical oasis

Posted Apr 13, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
When you walk into the large court yard with its 2 large pools, it's hard to believe such a beautiful place exist off the cobble street entrance. It's an unexpected oasis with its palm trees and a beach front restaurant. You can spend the day lounging by the pool drinking margaritas, or you can stroll along the beach. The three stories of surrounding rooms and balconys gives you a very cozy and safe environment. Its central location gives you access to many nearby restaurants and the infamous night spot "Andales"
3 out of 5
Recommended
by DaveInSFVfrom Los Angeles

Great location, fair hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants
OK front desk, small room, old bathroom.fair housekeeping. Stayed at New Years since the other hotels were full. OK but not great. Free Internet never worked once.
2 out of 5
by Frequentvallartavisitorfrom usa

homophobic.

Posted Apr 12, 2011
This hotel is in a great location but I got a room that was nothing like what the brochure showed. Small, old looking, musty and cockroaches. The front desk staff was very nice as was the security and others. However the manager was not. I had made a reservation for myself and a mexican friend but when my friend arrived he was told he could not stay there. Finally they allowed him to stay if I paid an extra $10 per night in advance. This was for only 2 people. What is up with that. I wont go there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by BrianSYYZfrom Toronto

In the thick of things!

Posted Apr 4, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: Noisy
My preference when travelling to Puerto Vallarta is to stay in la zona Romantica (old downtown Puerto Vallarta), and Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort is right in the thick of things right on the main drag. That has it's benefits and drawbacks. It's a benefit because it's convenient to all of the great bars and restaurants in this area of town. However, it can be a bit noisy if you're in one of those rooms that faces the street. We learned the hard way by booking a really cheap room which was dark, dingy, musty and noisy, but luckily, there were rooms available and we were able to pay an additional amount per night and get a fantastic oceanview room with a balcony. Also, the pool area was very busy and quite noisy with lots of kids, so pay the extra money for an oceanview room. We didn't have an all-inclusive package, nor eat at the property, so I can't comment on the quality of food and drinks.