Ratings based on 118 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A travelerfrom Houston, TX

Watch out for hidden fees.

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The buses to the Disney parks run on time, so you won't need your own transportation to the parks. Right across from Downtown Disney.
Cons: Up front pricing. Cleaner bathrooms. More comfortable beds.
Location: Downtown Disney is right across the street.
I booked The Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa over the phone with Travelocity. There was no mention of an additional $22 / day / room "resort fee" that you must pay when you arrive at the hotel. The claim is that the fee covers wifi, newspaper (which I never received), use of the gym, pool and other amenities that I never used. After taxes on my 2 rooms, the fee added another $150 to my expense for 3 nights. The wall paper was peeling in the bathroom. There was still hair on the shower walls and in the "clean" towels. The beds felt old and worn out. Also, don't spring for the room with the view of Disney World fireworks. Yes, technically you can see the fireworks, but you're so far away it's not worth the time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Staff is great, rooms need new furniture.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Cons: New furniture and furnishings.
Location: Downtown Disney across the street -- within walking distance!
I stayed overnight at the Buena Vista Palace on 4/18/15. The hotel is pretty big -- did not see all of it in that I was only crashing there (celebrating a friend's 50th birthday in the area). The staff are very friendly and helpful. My room was a great corner room overlooking the pond. I had a very comfortable king size bed -- slept great. The room and adjoining bathroom were very clean. My only complaint is that the furnishings are a bit beat up... some tears in the faux leather bench at the end of the bed and a lot of wear and tear on the other small velvet couch; also tears in the shears hanging on the huge window. Time to replace the old with new!
3 out of 5
by A travelerfrom austin

Hotel was fair for the price

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pool was something out of the 1970's, holiday inn era. You pay too much for daily service you don't use and valet took forever. The air conditioner made noise all night long, room service would take over an hour each time. Seemed like a great deal to stay there but in the end, same price as the others and less accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Sou IN

Close to downtown Disney

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Loved the location because it was such a short walk to downtown Disney.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Florida

Good hotel..perfect for downtown Disney

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Overall good hotel. Bar downstairs was a little outdated but staff was nice and professional. The pool needs to be updated as well but the grounds are beautiful. The room was clean and check in /check out was quick and easy.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Not a 4 star hotel.

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Great staff.
Cons: This hotel needs cleaned and renovated!
Location: Walking distance to Downtown Disney!
This is not a 4 star hotel. I am not sure where they are getting their rating from. The hotel was built in 1980 and some the carpet has not been replaced since then. There are suppose to be 2 "restaurants" but one had barriers up saying go to the sports bar. The sports bar smells like a locker room and had broken light fixtures. The bathrooms near the pool and common areas are clean but have not been remodeled since hotel opened so they have cracked tile and rusty vents. They gym has rusty treadmills and very outdated equipment. There is a little convenience store that must have been robbed because it closes very early and their are bars around it so it looks like a prison for day old danishes and very expensive bottles of water. The room was ok. The carpet was new and the furniture looked newer. The room was not the cleanest hotel room I have ever seen. If you are tall watch out because there is an old ceiling fan that is pretty low. Beside the bed there was a surge protector with 8 plugs in it powering the room. The at least wrapped the surge protector in duck tape to keep the plugs in. The towels did not match and were very ruff. The sheets were clean but, did not fit the bed and were so old the edges were fraying. This hotel also charges a very high resort fee. This hotel is maybe a 3 star hotel and the pictures online are very decieving. I hope the rating gets fixed to reflect this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Chicago

Great stay at the hotel. Great Location

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Fast friendly service.
Cons: Pool bar should be open longer
Location: Disney!
Just returned from our 6 night stay at the Buena Vista Palace. Our stay was very pleasant. Check in was a breeze and the staff was all very friendly and helpful. There is free shuttle service to all the Disney parks. We didn't even use our rental car for the first three days of our stay. When I did finally use my rental car I found it had a dead battery. My rental agency wanted to charge me for a jump start. We called down to the bell services and they were more than happy to help me out. The young bellman used his own car and jumper cables to get me going. I don't remember his name, but he was helpful and patient. Thank you! Our room was cleaned quickly and well everyday. We really enjoyed the pool. Just wish the pool bar was open longer. There is a disney store in the hotel. You can get all your disney park tickets right there with no added fees or charges. Same price you would pay at the park or online. The only things I would tell you to be aware of are the resort fees. We had received hotel vouchers for dining with our vacation package so that helped even those fees out anyway. The only other thing you might want to be aware of is the self parking lot is a little far. Not a problem for us, but if you have special needs you might want to take advantage of the valet parking that is available. Overall, this hotel is in a great for those going on a Disney vacation. Use the disney store and Shuttles!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by hihihifrom ny

Great place for the price

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Great place for the price next to downtown disney staff super nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
by CrimsonFan

Great stay in Downtown Disney Area

Posted Jul 10, 2013
I wanted a few days rest and to avoid the theme parks, but be close enough to walk around and feel the Disney vibe close by, seek a movie and see some attractions without being in the crazy busy areas during summer vacation. This hotel provided a great stay, with very clean rooms and great views. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone. It mean't I didn't have to do much driving, but if I wanted to go somewhere it didn't take me usually 10-15 minutes to get there. Parking at this hotel can be a little tight, and you may have to walk a short distance if you get in late at night, but it wasn't a huge issue. Staff were pretty friendly and helpful, bed was super comfortable (wanted to take it home with me), and like I said this trip was more of rest than anything else, and I was able to get that at this location. I had no real negative experience, they have some good recreational areas, gym and good eating places if you like to dine in. If you keep an eye out you may see some real wildlife around the place (lake area) so watch out!!! I'd certainly go back, in fact I stayed an extra night!!!
1 out of 5
by tonyg623from Chicago, IL

Very untrustworthy, stolen items from room.

Posted Jun 20, 2013
I don't like to write bad reviews for companies but I feel that I have to with this hotel as I was treated very poorly by hotel staff. I had an iPad stole from my room that was hidden inside of a bag. This means that someone had to go through my personal belongings in order to steal the item.  The hotel staff did nothing for me and told me that pretty much they arent responsible. I dont understand how they can feel they dont have to do anything when someone from their hotel went through a customers personal belongings and stole a very expensive item.  My family had a wedding at the hotel, as well as 20+ rooms books in the hotel and they were unwilling to do anything for us. I suggest to look elsewhere when planning to stay at a hotel. This hotel is very untrustworthy and unwilling to help their customers.