Ratings based on 8 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
by A traveler

A Good Choice for the Price

Posted Aug 27, 2010
If you are looking for a decent motel walking distance from downtown Berkeley that is not too expensive, Super 8 is a good choice. The rooms are clean, the staff friendly, and parking is free. There is also wireless access in all the rooms. I spent a week here, and would have no reservations about recommending it to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler

What a great place!

Posted Jul 29, 2010
I stayed there the weekend of July 24, 2010. Went to the Greek Theatre there in Berkeley, so I picked this hotel for its price and proximty to the Theatre. I had read that they had redmodeled it so I was excited about that. I have only wonderful things to say about this place. First off, I told the manager that I would be a single woman staying by myself and and was a little worried about that. When I checked in he said "I gave you the room here, next to the office so you will feel safe, please call or come get me if you need anything at all". He was so kind and caring. The hotel was adorable, plenty of parking, freshly painted. My room was super nice, everything looked brand new, the carpet, the bedding, the bed, the furniture, there was granite in the bathroom! There was a blow dryer in the bathroom, a in room coffee maker, a little fridge, huge closet, safe, a desk. There was nothing I needed. The internet was free and fast. It was about 4 minutes to the freeway and 8 blocks from the Greek Theatre! So, on check out day, I overslept a bit and they allowed me a later checkout at no charge. I would give this a 10 out 10 stars and I am not picky but I am not a motel 6 kinda gal either. The price was $* bucks I believe, a night, stay at this place, you won't be sorry!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Very Nice!

Posted Sep 30, 2009
This was the nicest Super 8 I have ever stayed at. The room vary newly remodeled and beautiful. The staff isn't exactly friendly, but the room was well above our expectations.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Terrible!

Posted Sep 2, 2009
While I admire their makeover, their staff and manager are the worst. It wasn't their terrible command of English that put us off, but their attitudes. We've stayed there numerous times before, and for the most part had no complaints. This time, we intended to come down and spend a few days in Berkeley but had a last-minute cancellation. We gave 24 hours notice, as required, and received nothing but attitude and sarcasm from the manager, aside from his refusal to honor our cancellation. We finally had to settle the issue with our credit card company in order to prevent getting ripped off in this way. In the past, our stay at the motel was adequate, so long as we didn't bother the manager with anything that required him to break away from his television. For the most part, the motel itself is what you'd expect from a low-budget place, with or without its new paint job. Anybody coming to Berkeley and planning to stay here should expect to be treated like a second-class citizen by someone whose citizenship is in serious doubt.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Great Experience!

Posted Feb 23, 2009
Great Experience! Kind manager gave us a good deal! Comfy bed! I slept soundly.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

WOW!!!

Posted Feb 23, 2009
One of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at. The best hotel expeience I've had to date. Staff is great, price is reasonable, wonderful service. Cleanest rooms around and some amenities you would find at a five star resort. A great overall experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler

Great "Campus" Motel

Posted Feb 23, 2009
I travel for football games A LOT and this was one of the nicest "campus" motels. Very friendly and rooms were well kept. And a great location! A bit expensive, but overall worth it. GO DUCKS!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Accomodating and friendly!

Posted Feb 23, 2009
Extremely accomodating & friendly service. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Good location and value make it an excellent motel option for the bay area.