Ratings based on 145 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: The view is beautiful. The restaurants serve a variety of delicious foods. Top rate hotel.
Cons: Nothing.
The ocean is perfect here for the surfers, and they are so much fun to watch. Lots of area to walk and enjoy hiking and the beach. There is so much to do here and in the surrounding area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Nice hotel, overpriced food great for kids over 5?

Posted Mar 31, 2015
The hotel was nice the views and property were unreal. My husband loves to surf and there was plenty of surf available. We rented a car from enterprise on site and got to explore the island TIP: we reserved the car before coming and changed our mind, there's no obligation to keep it but they sell out and the prices nearly double without a reservation the manager was super nice and honored our original reservation rate. The food was good but the breakfast buffet was over priced we are 2 adults and a one year old two buffets cost $70 that's a lot for breakfast. It was a bit insulting that they kept asking if we had coupons or vouchers but didnt know how we could get a coupon. We later found out that you can buy a package that includes food when booking, an option we were not aware of. TIP: If you do the buffet to go, it's half the price. We were there for 10 days personally I think that was too long but that could be becaue we couldn't participate in many activities with our little one. We would definitely go back but only for a few days and do some island hopping. Overall we had a great time the staff were all nice. The food was great the room was comfortable the lobby lounge makes a great caramel machiato. The only complaints we have is the food prices and the shower glass was too short we had a flooded bathroom everyday. TIP: bring lots of high power sunscreen the sun is very intense there were from Florida and use to the sun normally wear spf30 we upped to 50.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Austin, Tx

Our 1st trip to paradise!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Our experience was an A++! Love Turtle Bay Resort so much that our next trip is already planned!! My first trip to Hawaii was just as I had dreamed. We stayed in a cottage right on the beach. Waking up listening to the waves was heavenly. We ate at all of the restaurants which were all delicious. Housekeeping along w/ everyone else were a total pleasure. I'm waiting for our next trip w/ great anticipation!!!!! Also, rent a car. You'll be glad you did.
3 out of 5
by 2olds

Too far for too few

Posted Nov 1, 2013
 The trip pkg is nicely priced,the room is exceptional. Turtle bay restaurants food is over priced, & a long drive to the local food establishments. Not enough parking for hotel guests,beach goers and other activities. Over priced valet parking. The beach bottom is ROCKY, you need shoes in the water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by acclark79from Highland, UT

Beautiful resort and wonderful vacation

Posted Oct 23, 2013
The room and resort was spacious and beatiful. Wonderful beaches, pools, views, trails, restaurants, etc. We had a wonderful time at Turtle Bay. Staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. Overall, a great experience, and we would come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kim61from Arizona

View was excellent!

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Staff was extremely helpful.  The view from our room was pleasant to look at each night and each morning!  Each time we returned in the evening, it was made up and looked brand new!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by 1FUNLBKfrom San Diego, CA, USA

Great Vacation spot

Posted Jan 4, 2013
Pros: Quiet, location, activities
Cons: food quality, food price
This is a beautiful location! The view from the rooms is specatular- especially if you are lucky enough to be there during the full moon! The recreation amenities were wonderful. We enjoyed kyaking, the eco-turtle tour, a sunset horseback ride and golf. The staff at the resort was excellent and provided great service. The only reason for the less than excellent review is that the food in all the restaurants on the property was not resort quality and the Christmas buffet was way over priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by fastonefrom Lake Elmo, MN, USA

the property site has few peers and is simply fantastic. The hotel is somwhat aged but still very nice. We had a great time.

Posted Dec 11, 2012
Pros: Quiet
We ate at the Golf course a couple of times, other wise we were off site. Ted' bakery and cafe is simply not to miss. They could charge double but their main business is locals and surfers and that is a good thing. The resort restaurants and bars are very expensive but who could be surprised at that? Probably those who I am tryin to get away from while on vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by PinkandTanHonufrom La Jolla, San Diego, CA, USA

Beautiful, relaxing paradise...

Posted Nov 27, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
Cons: food is expensive
My husband and I booked a package deal that included air, hotel, and rental car. This resort is absolutely beautiful!. Aside from leaving to watch the surf competition at Sunset Beach, we stayed the entire time at the resort. The food is a bit expensive so just be aware that you will be spending some cash in that department. There are several restaurants at the the resort, but we especially liked the Surfer, the Bar for dinner. Great drinks, entertainment, and ambience was really enjoyable. My husband paid for a private surf lesson through Hans Hedemann at the resort, but that was just to be taken to spots that locals would know. He surfs in Cali where we are from, so no 'lesson' was necessary. It wasn't private and he was taken w/ newbies to the same spot only to be given a 12ft foamy board. Disappointing considering the $150 pd for 2hrs. He ended up renting his own board through them and surfed on the south side of the hotel. Nice waves and very consistent swell. Our room was clean, comfy bed, but just a bit dated on the decor. It didn't matter really, we enjoyed ourselves eating good food, drinking great drinks, and snorkeling on the north side of the hotel. There is a great mix of people, couples, and families. We were on our honeymoon and loved it. There is a resort fee of $25 per day, and they do need a credit card made available at check-in for daily incidentals that might be charged to the room ($150 per day I think) but other than that, the staff and the location were fantastic. Loved it so much that we are planning our next visit in the spring!!!
3 out of 5
by Raetrav

Certain staff nice in Lamont's, but no where else. Food at surfer bar made us ill. Rude service at board rental shop. People were constantly smoking!

Posted Aug 21, 2012
Cons: Noisy, people smoked, food made us ill, resort feer
Sadly I'd go back for the natural beauty and the people, but never this resort. Couldn't pay me to return. Resort fee on top of already paying to stay there! Parking lot is a nightmare. Vallet should be free. No continental breakfast? Even a motel 6 does that!