Ratings based on 372 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Philadelphia

Change in plans

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Nice people. Clean. Easy access to everything. Beautiful grounds.
We had booked 2 rooms with a request to connect or be next to or across from each other. We have 4 kids from 14 to 6. When we got there they told us they were only able to put on different floors. This would not work of course because they were full. They worked out a solution and apologized. They put us in the Presidential Suite and only charged us for 1 room! It was absolutely beautiful! They were so kind and quick to help. They were MORE then generous. The grounds of the Village is amazing. The beach is right there. There is shopping, restaurants and generally nice people. The bus stop is across the street from the hotel grounds so you can get anywhere you want.
1 out of 5
by Jones65from Littleton, CO, United States

Would Not Recommend

Posted Dec 30, 2013
We stayed at Hilton Hawaiian Village as my daughter was graduating from college and had always wanted to stay here so even though it was more expensive than other options, we chose to come here.  Check in was completely chaotic. Drop your luggage off and then have to go park your car in their $27 a day parking (I had other parking arrangements) - so no complimentary parking while checking in.  Took over an hour to check in. Got an agent who had no idea what she was doing. Had two double beds reserved - kept offering me a king that I did not want. Struggling to make it through transaction at every point - manager would come by help her with something-she would wander off. Finally had to call manager over myself and ask her to complete the booking.  Asked for complimentary parking (why should I pay for the inconvenience of their check in process?) and was told to go to another desk where it took him fifteen minutes to figure out how to give me a free parking voucher.  Room was okay. Everything was overcrowded-pool, fireworks, restaurants.  Resort fee is pathetic-for what?  A pool that we could barely use because we couldn't find lounge chairs?  Very disappointed.  Been to Hawaii (Maui, Oahu) 10 times and was worst experience I have had at a hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Chinomomfrom Chino Valley, AZ

Great Family Vacation.

Posted Nov 6, 2013
We booked this trip in a very short time period. We booked on October 4th and arrived October 28th. The only difference in our booking, was not Rainbow resort view. But instead Tapa resort view, which was fine as they were, doing remodel, on Rainbow. Much less noise to deal with, also check in and check out, could have been smoother. The one thing that is really nice about this resort, were the courtesy rooms. Check out is at 11 a.m., we were on a red eye for that day. We were able to check out, leave our luggage in storage. Drive around the Island, return use the courtesy rooms, to freshen up for flight. And all the employees, were nothing short of helpful and polite. I have read people complain they hear nothing about the courtesy rooms. Not true in the check in area, there is a sign posted, you just let them know the day before you leave. My Family had a great time and would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by TONSOFFUN

AWESOME TIME!!!

Posted Nov 2, 2013
THIS TRIP WAS TO CELEBRATE MY FIRST ANNIVERSARY WITH MY HUSBAND.  I HAD BEEN PLANNING IT FOR 6 MONTHS AND EVERYTHING WAS WELL WORTH THE PLANNING AND TIME PUT IN. WE HAD AN AWESOME TIME!!!  MY ONLY SUGGESTION WOULD BE TO EXPECT TO SPEND MORE THAN YOU PLAN.  WILL DEFINITELY RETURN TO THIS EXACT SAME PROPERTY.  
3 out of 5
by lovearlene7from garnerville, ny

needs to be updated

Posted Oct 29, 2013
I have been to Hawaii 3 times, this making it my 4th. I had never stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village but always wanted to. I found my room as well as the hotel(Diamond Head) to be somewhat outdated. The hotel is in desperate needs of remodeling. I felt at one point like we were being nickel and dime for every little thing. I think the resort charge is just ridiculous especially if you don't utilitze what the hotel is offering. We were out and about most of the day so the resort activities, were a complete waste of time for us. Ergo why should we be charged a fee for things we are not using? Overall, it is just average, I have stayed at much better hotels in Hawaii.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by TXMLissafrom Coupeville, WA

Great Location!

Posted Oct 17, 2013
This was a great hotel stay for us - right on Waikiki Beach! There are a lot of activities on the hotel grounds to take advantage of and it is a pick-up point for many of the tours you can take on the island while staying there.
2 out of 5
by Br1693from Washington

Disappointed

Posted Oct 7, 2013
We reserved our room 5 months in advance - an ocean view room with a king size bed.  Because of the crowds and chaos in the lobby, it took us 90 minutes to park the car and check into our room.  After standing at the check in counter for 30 minutes, we were told that there were no rooms available with a king size bed, but that they were excited to offer us a room with two full size beds, and that is was better because it slept 4 people.  Umm....there were only two of us.  They were not able to offer us the room that we had reserved.  We spent a lot of money on airfare and and a significant amount on this hotel room.  While we were at the resort, there was no effort to make this right, and there was no apology.  Checkout was equally chaotic.  I would never choose to stay here again.  We have stayed at Hilton in the past, but we were treated like a number here.  Not impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sticheyfrom South Jordan, UT

Fantastic Facility, Staff and Beach, Average Food

Posted Jul 17, 2013
This trip was my family's very first to Hawaii and we could not have been happier to have stayed that the Hilton Hawaiian Village. We loved our room in the Tapa Tower which had a stunning view of the beach. Every member of staff that helped us was magnificent and wonderfully friendly and always there to assist however they could! Every pool was terrific and we had a lot of fun at the Lagoon (but USE SUN SCREEN HERE as there is NO SHADE)! We chose this location with our young daughters in mind given that they LOVE gift shops and the amazing shopping opportunities present at the Village gave us many fun shops to explore! If we had any complaints, the most significant one would be the lack of solid family dining option that provided value and diversity. We tried CJ's Deli, Pronto Pickle, Round Table Pizza, but none really provided a good meal (and we expected expensive food akin to Disney Theme Park eating, so I'm not knocking these places due to price - although $50 for two medium Round Table pizzas is a joke). As a result, we never really found a nice eating alternative that could provide something that didn't feel like a generic chain restaurant. Our best meal came at Haleiwa Joe's on the north shore, but if you're a foodie, you might want to do some research in order to find better eating options. But outside of that, the location was magnificent with easy access to Waikiki Beach. In fact, one of our goals for our trip was to choose a location that would provide this kind of easy beach access and the hotel did not disappoint in this regard at all. Also, as a Dad with younger kids not all that accustomed ocean swimming, the calm surf and low waves made it perfect for our kids to snorkel and swim all they wanted. Also, if you want to rent gear to use in the water, there is a FANTASTIC location just across the street! The hotel wanted to charge us $59 for use of a stand up paddle board for two hours, but this great shop with a wonderfully nice owner called Quality Surfboard Hawaii charged only $30 for the DAY. While it was a bit of a pain to walk the board and the paddle from the shop to the shore, it was more than worth it given the savings and the fun (and prices are equally great for snorkels, boards - $20 a day - and other gear). Lastly, we enjoy a terrific breakfast each morning by visiting one of the two ABC Stores each morning in order to collect cereal, pastries, and even sushi! While I was told by a lot of people to find the nearest Costco upon arriving, I found that it wasn't needed given how good the ABC items were along with reasonable prices. Lastly, it's worth mentioning that my family have been long time Disney Theme Park fans, so on our last day, we visited the Aulani on our last day since we had considered staying there instead of at the Hilton. After visiting both, I was OVERJOYED that we went with the Hilton given that the Aulani only has two restaurants, two gift shops and nothing close by aside from nearby golf courses. While the Aulani can boast its own Lazy River and minor water park, I simply couldn't see staying there a week in the same way that we did at the Hilton since we would have had to drive EVERYWHERE and would have quickly run out of eating options (and while my wife's Aulani meal was excellent, mine was WOEFULLY AVERAGE)! From the Hilton, we took cabs to local Honolulu spots like the Ioloni Palace - where we saw Hawaii 5-0 being filmed - and the art museum in order to avoid parking hassles and car break-ins, so that was great! Given how far the Aulani is from Honolulu, it was nice that the Hilton could offer us so much more to do on those days where we didn't want to drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bettymjdfrom Las Vegas, NV

Fun in the sun!

Posted Jul 9, 2013
Had a great time. The breakfast buffet at lanai was ok. The service was and atmosphere was great. All the staff was pleasant and very helpful. The rooms were clean and fully stocked. It was pricey but overall an excellent experience. 
5 out of 5
by Tatsuo

Truly a village!

Posted Jun 18, 2013
We had a great room, great view and the facility and staff was wonderful!