Ratings based on 21 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Bbswanson3

Good for the money

Posted Mar 25, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast
Cons: maintenance
I booked this room for my mother in law....and she complained 3 straight days about a blown lightbulb in the bathroom that made showering dark....really.....you can't find time to replace a lightbulb after repeated requests from a senior citizen? Unsat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by DCInterludefrom Philadelphia, PA, USA

The snack room was a real treat. A plus is the proximity to Old Towne within walking distance for those with average to good stmina.

Posted Dec 12, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet
The snack room was a real treat. A plus is the proximity to Old Towne within walking distance for those with average to good stmina.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by NiceToGetAway

Close to Metro, Old Alexandria and National Mall

Posted Nov 15, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, the snack room!
Very reasonable for this great location. Close to transportation, fun and sightseeing. You do need the shuttle to get to the Metro, but it takes you everywhere else. Recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by DelightedGuestfrom Utah, USA

The room was everything promised in the website, PLUS!

Posted Nov 8, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, historical setting, free wi-fi, nearby market
The Old Colony Inn had it all: lovely historical location, clean and tidy, well-appointed foyer, desk, and room, complete with recently purchased furnishings, bathroom, and linen. The complimentary snack bar was well-stocked with a variety of tasty food and drink. Did I mention that the Metro station was only a short ride from the Inn? The PLUS for me was the very agreeable company and service at the desk, with the friendly and helpful shuttle driver. They cheerfully assisted with questions about everything from locating the corner market to how to deal with the unexpected! They made my stay delightful and relaxing. Next time I'm in the D.C. area, I will return to the Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by retiree159from Kingston, TN

The hotel was friendly, helpful and had a great shuttle service.

Posted Oct 26, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Free Internet, Quiet
We enjoyed our stay. All of the staff were helpful and friendly. The shuttle service was great - taking us into town or to the metro train. We loved the common snack room which was stocked with various chips, trail mixes, candy, yogurt, coffee, etc. - all free. The free breakfast included a wide variety of juice, eggs, bacon, sausage, hash, oatmeal, muffins, gravey, dry cereals, bread, waffles and more... We would definitly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by SPQRfrom San DIego, CA

Nicest Best Western I have ever stayed at.

Posted Oct 18, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Free Internet, Quiet, snack room
The manager is what makes this hotel shine. We watched her work with her employees, and it was clear they had a great relationship. The shuttle drivers, the desk clerks, the maids -- everyone was so welcoming and friendly. The room was lovely, we even had MSNBC -- not always a staple! The breakfast was superb with different side dishes each morning. And the snack room -- what a great idea! Water, juice, coffee, snacks available 24/7. No one abused the privilege that we noticed. The manager made her rounds at breakfast making sure everyone knew what to see and do in Washington and Alexandria. Just a wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
by welvdisneyfrom Bellingham, MA

Everything was great!

Posted Aug 13, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Free Internet, Quiet, snack kitchen
Cons: not many places to eat nearby
Hotel was in a good location and shuttle took us everywhere we wanted to go. Breakfast was above average and the snack kitchen was awesome! Got around Washington DC with ease on the metro. Will definately stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by 2TexasTravelers

Clean, comfortable, relaxing place to stay!

Posted Jun 29, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Quiet
Cons: no pool
The only thing I can think of that is negative is that they did not have a pool! The breakfasts that were provided were plentiful and tasteful!! The only morning that we could not get a good breakfast was Sunday! During the week the snack kitchen was awesome!!! On the weekends, the snack kitchen was not very well supplied! This was a VERY CLEAN place to rest and relax between sight-seeing excursions!!!! Very pleased and will definitely stay there again!!!
2 out of 5
by 5393from van buren, ar

Good value for the money

Posted Apr 12, 2011
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet
Cons: smell smoke in non-smoking rooms
This location gave good value for the money. I found that the beds were not comfortable, but was told by the manager that they are upgrading the bedding. We specified a non-smoking room, but the ventilation pulls smoke from the smoking rooms down the hallway and the smell drifts into the non-smoking rooms. The breakfast was ok. The property has been remodeled and upgraded, but I probably wouldn't return until the new bedding is in place.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by sorefeetfrom Seatte, wa

Wonderful place to hang our hats

Posted Apr 11, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
When I go backto Washington D.C., I definitely will stay here. Everything they said about it was true. The staff was very friendly, felt safe, the snack bar was wonderful for the 10 year old that was traveling with us. We used the shuttle to the Metro even though was had a car as it was more convenient. Only complaint was no elevator(bad knee). Unusual to find a place that exceeds the printed word.