Ratings based on 18 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.1 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A travelerfrom Carlson

5 days at Universal Palms in Oakland, Florida

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Every thing that worked was very good, couple small issues like my requesting service on the safe in my room, and apparently that request was ignored.
Cons: better mechanical service person or persons
Location: Attended a wedding on the beach at Ft Lauderdale...this location was perfect for me...breakfast available on site and the north beach not far away...
very pleasant room ..#502...nice older furnishings...view of pool and atria...parking was abundant, but not always close to door...elevator closest to area of bldg my room was, out of service most of my stay...safe in room didnt work...asked twice for repairs...finally gave up..and when i left it still didnt work..room cleaning staff was great..fast..effective and nice to talkl to...I would stay there again and recommend it to others..desk staff was between great and nonfunctional , depending on who was on duty..day shift was great...cant say that for night desk staff....over all..90 %..thanks for your hospitality..
1 out of 5
by A travelerfrom Tampa Bay, FL

Plan on NO SLEEP!!!

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Checking out!!!
Cons: Open the restaurant for breakfast. They have 180 rooms, a fairly nice facility but no breakfast or Continental Breakfast!!! Lost Revenues!!!
Location: Very industrial/commercial area convenient to local business
AS I walked into the hotel I was impressed as things looked to be in pretty OK order. The seats at the entrance were a bit worn but everything was clean and presentable. SO...HERE IS THE PART THAT BITES THE BULLET!!! THE hotel is located DIRECTLY NEXT TO THE TRI_RAIL COMMUTER TRAIN RAIL. No, I dont mean it is up the street or around the block. IT IS DIRECTLY NEXT TO THE RAIL TRACKS!!! Worse yet, the train passes by EVERY 30 MINUTES, and BLASTS ITS HORN 4 TIMES EVERY TIME IT CROSSES THE INTERSECTION. THIS TRAIN RUNS THROUGH THE EVENING UNTILL 12:00AM and RESTARTS AT AROUND 5:00AM...GET THE MESSAGE!!! When checking in I thought I was checking into a POW camp as the first thing that was discussed with me is damaging the room and the cost of such damages. Fine, I got to my room and it looked pretty good until I sat on the bed as the room has no comfortable chair to relax in. The bed was like a brick with springs sticking out at the most uncomfortable areas of the body. I will say however that the bathroom and shower-head was very nice!!! When I got out of bed the next morning (notice I didn't say woke up) I called the front desk to ask when the restaurant opened for breakfast and I was dully informed that they do not have breakfast. Why...why would you have a restaurant and not open to your 180 room for breakfast??? Mr. Manager, lease the space out to somebody who is going to HELP YOU increase revenue, not lose it.
3 out of 5
by Khokanfrom Saskatoon, Sask.

Posted Jan 15, 2014
We enjoyed our stay in the hotel. Staff were courteous and helpful. Rooms and beds were comfortable and clean. However, the hotel is quite old and is not as beautiful as it shows in the promotional pictures. There are no good restaurants other than fast food ones within walking distance of the hotel.Rooms and beds were good.
1 out of 5
by Artisfrom Atlanta, GA

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Did not like it at all, this is not a 3 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Davie88from Bahamas

Posted Sep 6, 2013
The rooms were clean and nice, the pool was good and the staff are nice and friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Mich2013from Michigan

Our stay was pleasant

Posted Jul 12, 2013
The staff was friendly, the buffet was delicious, with the exception they were closed one day of our stay which was a Monday. The rooms were decent and clean, the lobby was beautiful made you feel you were staying at a 4 star hotel. Don't be detoured by the exterior front thou, Once you enter you will be relieved
3 out of 5
Recommended
by wdr08from Yacolt, WA

get what you pay for

Posted May 1, 2013
Inexpensive. Looks like an old motel that has done some cheap refurbishing. Everything looks nice from a distance. Beds not so comfy. Only stayed one night. 
1 out of 5
by PhillyChrisfrom Philadelphia, PA

Run, don't walk, away from this hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2013
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy, smelled like bleach, poor security, train so close it shook room, street people loitering in adjacent parking lot
Although this was a single night stay ahead of a pre-paid cruise out of Miami, I would rather have slept on the beach than stay here. When we arrived early at 130pm, the staff told us the room reservation was not in their system. Had to speak to three different people to get them to acknowledge that we even had a reservation. Returned at 230pm to the front desk and waited a half hour to speak to a front desk person. Noticed that the hotel gave rooms out first to those who had direct reservations with the hotel, and then to those with third party reservations, even though we physically arrived ahead of the others. The room smelled like bleach, had tile floors throughout, mold and rust in the bathroom, and was too close to a regional commuter train line conveniently concealed by shrubbery and fencing. At night, there were too many people congregating in the parking lot. The train was very loud and actually shook the building when passing on the hour throughout the night. The lock on the front door was not very strong, so I felt it was not safe.
1 out of 5
by LisaT916from Sacramento, CA

Avoid this place!

Posted Jan 11, 2013
Pros: none
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy, Poor breakfast
Room was not ready for 1.5 hours after promised. Room smelled bad. We will contact health dept. to check for mold. Train goes by and shakes the bed. The train also sounds a very loud horn. Safe didn't work, so I wanted no cleaning. I had no door tag to place requesting no service. Ask front desk to leave the room alone. Staff still entered to clean. Staff is not friendly. Bartender rude and ignored us due to coupon for free drinks for slow room delivery. P.S. Bartender should be required to wear something more age appropriate than a halter which provided no support. While making you wait or ignoring you, staff constantly speaks in french even though all speak English which is rude as well. Continental breakfast is $6 for cold cereal and coffee. Stay away!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by thanksfortravel

hotel was resonable for cost, nice people working there

Posted Dec 8, 2012
older hotel, very personable staff, good value, close to 95 and 595