Ratings based on 553 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Oakland CA

Hotel Problem

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The room was clean and the water pressure in the shower was incredible.
Cons: Front desk to allow for rooms if available. Also know that the Internet charging is a service that needs to be supplied N/C
Location: Great location to the subway for going to JFK airport. Easy access to everything.
The Hotel was great except they stated unless you booked online with them you had to pay for internet access. The bookin was at 3pm and was not negotiable. We arrived at 10am
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Good location

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Ive stayed at this hotel several times and have always had a good experience. The rooms are clean and comfortable with ample closet space. The staff is also friendly, attentive and accommodating. Overall a great value given its proximity to times square and the theatre district.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Bastrop, TX

Good location , but poor condition due to age

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: loation & costs
Cons: Elevators need updating, as do most of the facility
Location: Near Rockefeller Center & Central Park
Great location across from Carnegie Hall, but unfortunately, it is an older hotel and the wear & tear are definitely showing. The elevators take forever.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Rude discriminatory staff

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Charlene at the front desk is terrible and discriminatory. At check in, I realized that I had forgotten to carry a copy of my ID. I was travelling with my mum who had her original passport. Charlene informed us that she could not check us in unless my mothers name was on the reservation. We therefore called the travel agent and had them rebook us a room with my mother's name, which they did. The travel agent also informed us that she had sent the new info to the hotel and immediately sent us a confirmation of the same via email. We then returned to check in and Charlene, even prior to checking hotel information, informed us that it was very likely that she would not be able to find our new reservation. I asked her on what the basis she had decided she was not going to be able to find our reservation, since she had made no attempt to look for it. She asked me if she should call security to 'explain their hotel policies to me'. I was appalled!! Long story short, my mum advised that we should leave and go shopping and come back to check in later when other staff was there. Which is what we did. In general, the staff at Wellington hotel are not exactly warm. We hardly got any smiles and you get the sense you are being tolerated. I would not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by vscottfrom cold spring harbor ny

A satisfactory stay

Posted Nov 7, 2013
The rooms were small and they did not look like the rooms on the picture on the web site. Otherwise, the room needed updating and the double or full size beds were definitely too small for two people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MaryLOfrom Manhattan, New York, NY

Great location!

Posted Oct 29, 2013
The Wellington is located within walking distance to Central Park, Times Square, Rockefeller Plaza, and Broadway! The hotel was clean and the staff was very helpful! I would stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by LaTimes4from Atlanta, GA

Great location - very clean.

Posted Oct 22, 2013
The Wellington was a very comfortable stay. It is clean, in a great location, and I felt safe there. I was taken back by the bellhop who interecepted my bag without ask upon arrival, and further when I gave him a $20 in the room (because that's all I had) when he said "thank you" turned and left! Live and learn on that tact!
3 out of 5
by billyt22from Edmonton, AB, Canada

Some problems

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Well located, but you have to purchase Wifi, that did not work in our room. We did get a refund. No heat, will not turn on heat till it is below 55F. Small crowded lobby.
1 out of 5
by David111from Raleigh, NC

Never again

Posted Oct 16, 2013
 I was told by Travelocity that I would be able to choose two beds or a king-size bed when I arrived. That was not the case. I was informed at check-in that neither was available.  When we went to the assigned room, we discovered there was construction going on beside, in the hallway, and below us. My wife was not feeling well and she needed to rest but the noise was so loud she could not. I called the front desk and was assigned another room with a king-size bed, after first being told that I had to repack my belongings and wait in the lobby until another room was available.  The lobby was tacky, noisy, and always jammed with foreign tourists.  In our (the second) room, when the toilet was flushed, increased hot water was released on anyone in the shower.  The wi-fi was expensive and the charge for it was unexpected. Wi-fi is an important necessity now and provided free at most places in the world.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by peachmon1from Toronto, ON, Canada

great location

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Great location, close to everything. Staff very friendly. Had a corner room on 17th floor, room was very clean.Would stay again at the Wellington.