Ratings based on 17 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.4 out of 5
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
1.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Uncomfortable stay!!!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
First of all, this hotel is not as affordable as you might think. There is a base price, but it only includes the room. I choose a classic suite and was sorely disappointed with my honeymoon experience. No television unless you pay extra. Shower choices include scalding or freezing water only. No robes included. Very small towels. Old wallpaper on walls and carpeting on floor(my allergies were going insane...). Staff would not call us a cab. No room service. No mini fridge. No safe for valuables. DO NOT STAY AT THE EDISON!!! You will regret it!!!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Wonderful Time

Posted Aug 4, 2008
We loved the Edison Hotel. It was located right in the heart of Broadway, so we could walk to all of the shows we saw. The staff was very nice, quick service in the lobby and when we called for things. The room was nice, 2 double beds, a room with windows, nicely decorated and clean. The lobby is very nice, I love the lobby music, There is an all hours gift shop, The Rum Bar was fun, there was a singer/piano player there when I went who was quite good. The Cafe Edison was one of our favorite places to eat with a good lunch menu, good service and reasonable prices. (best tuna melt ever). We will stay there again on our next trip. Good value for the money.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Great hotel,not 5star, but solid in every way. Fantastic.

Posted Jun 27, 2008
Mom with 2 teens found this to be the perfect spot. Clean, safe, comfy, doormen, cafe, 24 hour staffing, close to pizza, bagels, Starbucks and every show we went to. Beds, air cond. pillows, cleanliness just great. I travel alot and stay in top hotels and this was fine. Everything you need. The rooms had nice furniture, bedding and rugs, bath all clean and updated. I have recommended this is othe travelling families. Great for seniors too. Safe and close to dbl. decker bus line. In the heart of theatre district, but safe at night for late night eats. I was glad there was everything that a large expensive hotel has for a great price. Use a travel agent for best price. Not 5-star for romantic getaway, but we came to see the city.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Bang for my buck

Posted Nov 9, 2007
Great location, Times Square/42nd St within 3 blocks walk. Numerous restaurants nearby. Caf? in front of hotel okay for quick bite, their staff however are not all pleasant (Guess they want to retain the impression all New Yorkers are rude,) We did not find that in most places.\n\nMain restaurant excellent Italian would recommend. About four blocks west is ?restaurant row? excellent choices. Staff most generally accommodating. ?Kevin? the day Bell Captain great guy. We will definitely go again. Price for rooms varies so explore. We booked a year in advance got good price. They were nearly double when we got there. Many Europeans taking advantage of Euro vs. Dollar, (who can blame them)\n\nAll in all rate in 4.5 out of 5 for convenience, access too many sites. Etc. This trip made NYC a definite plus compared to 20 years ago when it was like going into a combat zone. Great Trip.\n
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Terrible experience...

Posted Nov 5, 2007
My two older sisters and I (we are 21~25yrs old) stayed 2 nights at Edison hotel and those two nights were horrible...\nWhen we booked this hotel, we thought they were gonna give us two double beds, but when we got there, there were single beds instead, and they said can't do anything about it. so my two sisters squeezed each other slept together on one single bed one night and the next day, one of my sister had to sleep on the floor. (yea- she said she would rather sleep on the floor than sleeping on one single bed with another person)\nthe building was very old, so our room was very old too. There was no refrigerator nor ice,which made us really upset..because it was freaking hot summer and we wanted to have at least cool water...\nonly good thing about this hotel was the location. It's right by the Times Square, so if you just walk out of the lobby door, we will see Times Square right front of you..\nOverall, it wasn't worth staying at Edison
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Girls Weekend

Posted Aug 3, 2007
Great location - in the heart of the action for shows and just a block off Times Square. My girlfriends and I wound down each evening having a drink in the piano bar, the Rum House - a great, quaint little bar that was quite a blast. Also, we were pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms, given NYC tendency for small rooms and the price of the hotel. We're already planning another girls weekend there for next year!
4 out of 5
by A traveler

2007 NYC

Posted Aug 1, 2007
We liked the hotel. i was worried at first because they told us we got an upgrade to a king size bed suite from two queens and we had three people. It was a small bed and someone had been smoking in the room. I called the desk and they immediately moved me to a room with two beds and no smoke. I liked the hotel and loved the location. The only thing I didn't like was there was no ice. You had to go down and ask the desk for a bucket of ice and each time its .50 and then a tip for the guy who goes and gets it. I would rather have a machine on the floor and go get it myself.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Good

Posted Jul 25, 2007
Best hotel for the price. Good price for the location. Walk to the corner and see Time Square. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Great trip

Posted Jul 22, 2007
We were pleasantly pleased with the hotel - large, clean room and very friendly, helpful staff. Security at the elevators was a nice added touch. Deli next door was convenient to grab a bite. Don't leave your windows open - there aren't screens in the top half and we had a pigeon visit us!!
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Great Hotel - Great Location

Posted Jul 9, 2007
we were a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews, but we had a very large, clean room (bathroom small, but served its purpose) and the service was excellent. We didn't dine in the restaurants, but there is a great deli next door where we went almost daily, for a snack at the lleast. Will stay here for sure on our next trip