Ratings based on 54 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sam from Oregon

Biggest room ever!

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Location, price, and cleanliness.
Cons: I can't think of a thing.The staff was very helpful and their suggestions were right on. The arranged a car for us to get to the airport even at 4:30a
Location: We were right across the street from the Russian Tea Room, Carnigie Hall and a couple blocks from Central Park. We walked easily to Rockafeller Cent.
We just returned from our trip to NYC and wanted to let everyone know how great the Salisbury is. The room was huge and clean and the location couldn't have been better. We were very close to Central Park and a few blocks from Times Square. Just totally enjoyed ourselves.We were able to walk to so many places we wanted to see, we took the bus tours and they were a great way to see more areas in a short amount of time. Saw Rock Center, Brooklyn, One Trade Center, a Broadway play and ate at some amazing restaurants. Katz's Deli was a real treat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sue101 from Gaithersburg, MD

Wonderful Location

Posted Nov 8, 2013
It is my favorite NYC hotel - all new beds, big flat screen TVs on the walls, and very large rooms. The location is perfect for buses and subways and there are lots of good places to eat in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Wishnik from York, Maine

Terrific hotel right in the heart of all the action

Posted Jun 7, 2011
Just like so many other reviews we read prior to booking this room, we were thoroughly pleased with the spacious, immaculate room and firm comfortable bed and exceptionally clean bathroom. Plus, the staff was knowledgable and welcoming. And the best part was that this stately old hotel was situated a few minutes from Central Park and the theatre district. We couldn't have been happier. Great experience, and I would recommend the Salisbury to anyone looking for a great value in this wonderful city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Cupcakelover from DALLAS, TX

Excellent Hotel!

Posted May 8, 2011
No, this isn't the fanciest or nicest or best hotel in the city, but it is by far the best deal. The Salisbury is in an excellent location. Steps from Central Park South, Carnegie Hall, Times Square, and fabulous shopping. The rooms are large by most standards, but by NYC standards they are mammoth! The doormen, concierge, and bellmen are friendly and very helpful. I have stayed at the Salisbury for all of my trips to NYC save for one. I returned to the Salisbury and will no longer stay anywhere else. This is my NYC hotel and I love it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by frie0230 from St. Paul, MN

This hotel is prefect for the value!

Posted Apr 13, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet
A friend and I stayed at the Salisbury over the summer. It was my first time in NYC, so I wasn't sure what to expect. After reading other reviews, the Salisbury seemed like the place to try! It is located in the perfect spot! Easy to walk anywhere, or take the subway if you're tired! We ventured on the subway, and the staff was more than happy to help us find our way. The rooms were spacious, especially for hotels in New York. We booked our hotel months in advance, but when we went to check-in, the staff informed us they didn't have a room available for us. I began to get angry, but they assured us the had a partner hotel that was very nice for us to stay in. They put us in a TOP quality just a few blocks away, and had a room ready for us the next morning. They also gave us their continental breakfast for free for the remainder of our trip. My only complaint is the beds. They were VERY hard. However, in NYC, you're so tired by the end of the night you barely notice! Any time I go to NYC again, the Salisbury will be my choice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by GiorgioAZ from Arizona

My stay at the Salisbury Hotel in NYC

Posted Apr 12, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants
Really love this hotel, both for the location and the reasonable cost. In addition, the accommodations are excellent with plenty of closet space (if needed),and lots of room in the room. Could it use some updating? Yes. But I've also stayed at hotels that charge more and are in greater need of updating. All in all, great value for the price and you're right in the middle of everything that you need to be close to in NY.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by BostonArtViewer from Raleigh NC

Very good deal - spacious and convenient!

Posted Apr 4, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, spacious room & bath, convenient to moma & lincoln ctr also
Cons: No free Internet, no eggs fish meat for breakfast
Room was quiet from hotel noise. Nearby construction meant 7am jackhammers but they have no control over that. Street noise seemed to be through room air conditioner so we ran the fan on low without cooling and that removed the problem. Comfortable temperature. Very spacious clean room and bathroom, table, 4 chairs, mw, frig, coffeemaker. 2 lobby computers gave 15 min internet access for $8 or $30 min for $12, enough to check a couple restaurant reviews. 24 hour access in room for daily fee. Breakfast buffet $6 each, Coffee/tea plus carbs (grain & fruit) plus milk. We were both very pleased with our 3 night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by nyenthusiast from Southern Ohio

This hotel will be first on my list from now on.

Posted Feb 7, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, ambience
This was a dream come true. The location allowed us to walk to Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, Broadway, 5th Avenue, Rockefeller Center, and several fine restaurants and breakfast cafes. The beds were extremely comfortable and the room was very clean and pleasant. The ample staff assisted us on several occasions with transportation and information. We could never have beaten the price for the quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Vulcan from birmingham AL

excellent hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants
We love to stay at the Salisbury. The location is wonderful - within walking distance of where we want to go or right next to a subway stop. The rooms are spacious. Staff is always nice. The room is clean - has a little kitchenette for convenience. We like the very large closets too. Bathroom is big with storage space for all our toiletries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tino from Poinciana, Fl

Excelent location, good breakfast and large rooms. I will be back.

Posted Feb 3, 2011
We had a great time in part because the hotel was very well located, we had good service and the room was clean.