Ratings based on 59 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Rooms were big

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Rooms were big little out of date but just what we need
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom pennsylvania

reasonable price near Central Park

Posted Mar 24, 2015
i left my phone charger and they mailed it to me! Comfy beds. I do not recommend the breakfast, but we'll stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Idaho

Authentic New York Hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2015
We had a great time at the Salisbury. Wonderful service made us feel well taken care of. Far enough away from the buzz to feel authentic but within easy walking distance of Times Square, 5th Avenue shops, Central Park, etc. Across the street from Carnegie hall. Eateries and grocery adjacent to the hotel are nice in case of late night needs. Lots of space in the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A travelerfrom Washington DC

A pleasant surprise

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The price, the location and the accommodations.
Cons: nothing
Location: Across the street from Carnegie Hall, walking distance to Lincoln Center, theater district and Museum of Modern Art, a block from the subway
Older, modest looking inside and out, but the price looked right for a quick business trip to NYC. I am not sure why, but I received a complimentary upgrade to a huge suite. Not luxurious, but very tasteful and quiet. Staff was out-of-their-way friendly. On my way to check out, housekeeping even asked if I was dressed warmly enough for the weather.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A travelerfrom Detroit

Terrific staff

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Nice room, lots of storage.
Location: Wonderfully close to the subway. Right near Central Park.
The super helpful staff even helped me print my boarding passes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Samfrom Oregon

Biggest room ever!

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Location, price, and cleanliness.
Cons: I can't think of a thing.The staff was very helpful and their suggestions were right on. The arranged a car for us to get to the airport even at 4:30a
Location: We were right across the street from the Russian Tea Room, Carnigie Hall and a couple blocks from Central Park. We walked easily to Rockafeller Cent.
We just returned from our trip to NYC and wanted to let everyone know how great the Salisbury is. The room was huge and clean and the location couldn't have been better. We were very close to Central Park and a few blocks from Times Square. Just totally enjoyed ourselves.We were able to walk to so many places we wanted to see, we took the bus tours and they were a great way to see more areas in a short amount of time. Saw Rock Center, Brooklyn, One Trade Center, a Broadway play and ate at some amazing restaurants. Katz's Deli was a real treat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sue101from Gaithersburg, MD

Wonderful Location

Posted Nov 8, 2013
It is my favorite NYC hotel - all new beds, big flat screen TVs on the walls, and very large rooms. The location is perfect for buses and subways and there are lots of good places to eat in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Wishnikfrom York, Maine

Terrific hotel right in the heart of all the action

Posted Jun 7, 2011
Just like so many other reviews we read prior to booking this room, we were thoroughly pleased with the spacious, immaculate room and firm comfortable bed and exceptionally clean bathroom. Plus, the staff was knowledgable and welcoming. And the best part was that this stately old hotel was situated a few minutes from Central Park and the theatre district. We couldn't have been happier. Great experience, and I would recommend the Salisbury to anyone looking for a great value in this wonderful city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Cupcakeloverfrom DALLAS, TX

Excellent Hotel!

Posted May 8, 2011
No, this isn't the fanciest or nicest or best hotel in the city, but it is by far the best deal. The Salisbury is in an excellent location. Steps from Central Park South, Carnegie Hall, Times Square, and fabulous shopping. The rooms are large by most standards, but by NYC standards they are mammoth! The doormen, concierge, and bellmen are friendly and very helpful. I have stayed at the Salisbury for all of my trips to NYC save for one. I returned to the Salisbury and will no longer stay anywhere else. This is my NYC hotel and I love it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by frie0230from St. Paul, MN

This hotel is prefect for the value!

Posted Apr 13, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet
A friend and I stayed at the Salisbury over the summer. It was my first time in NYC, so I wasn't sure what to expect. After reading other reviews, the Salisbury seemed like the place to try! It is located in the perfect spot! Easy to walk anywhere, or take the subway if you're tired! We ventured on the subway, and the staff was more than happy to help us find our way. The rooms were spacious, especially for hotels in New York. We booked our hotel months in advance, but when we went to check-in, the staff informed us they didn't have a room available for us. I began to get angry, but they assured us the had a partner hotel that was very nice for us to stay in. They put us in a TOP quality just a few blocks away, and had a room ready for us the next morning. They also gave us their continental breakfast for free for the remainder of our trip. My only complaint is the beds. They were VERY hard. However, in NYC, you're so tired by the end of the night you barely notice! Any time I go to NYC again, the Salisbury will be my choice!