Ratings based on 69 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
by pmac from NYC, NY

Good hotel for NYC but a little out of the way.

Posted Oct 30, 2013
The hotel is great - spacious room (for NYC), nice views from the room, lots of action with the UN next door. The staff are friendly and helpful. The only downside is it is a little off the beaten path for sightseeing (which I knew when making the reservation).
3 out of 5
by 4thRockRambler from New York

A Little Off the Beaten Track - Nice Views

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Room was nice on the surface, but on closer inspection was a little shabby. For example, the bed was literally jacked up to compensate for sagging in the middle. View is the best thing this hotel has going for it. No free internet, no complimentary breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Singapore

4-Star ? Can't match the features of a 3-Star

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Thinking that it is a 4-Star hotel, I thought I would be able to find basic essential features like free wireless connections, coffee-making facilities or just some ways of easy access to hot water. Well, I found none of this. On top of this, the rollaway bed given to us as we had booked and paid for a third person was very comfortable - you could feel the metal bars through the thin mattress. I made a complaint to the reception and was told that they would look into it immediately. When we came back late that night, it was not done and my daughter had another disturbed night of sleep. For the price we paid (even though they were at promotional prices), it is not value for money. The rollaway bed issue was not looked into during our whole 5-nights' stay. This is not the expected customer service expected!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by 1stNYCvisitor from Westside

Beware Pics, Read Reviews & Decide for Yourself

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Hi all, I was looking for a nice hotel at a reasonable price. I saw the deal pop up on a website. The initial reviews were good enough. After I booked, I then came across the "real deal" & "raw" reviews. They were very helpful since I decided to stay at ONE UN anyway. 1. The staff do try very hard to be friendly as I think they are working overtime to compensate for the hotel's inadequacies. 2. The "regular" rooms are decent but not as nice as what the pictures show for the suites. 3. My room did not have mold, but you could tell they had done some serious caulking in the bathroom. We also had to have our room "cleaned" after we checked in because it was obviously lacking. We made sure to ask for towels, and we were able to get what we needed. 4. Right now, there is a lot of construction happening, and the walls do transmit sound very well. We didn't spend a lot of time in our room, though, because we were out and about all over the city so the noise was tolerable. 5. You are really close to everything, and it was easy to get around by foot/cab/subway! (United Nations, UNICEF, Amish Market, Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, Times Square, Broadway, etc.) Basically, if you are looking for a decent hotel in NYC with some reasonable amenities in a good location, it's not a bad option if you manage to get a clean room with no mold and appropriate housekeeping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by camaleon07 from Panama

Great Professional Service

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Excellent for your family, really quiet place with Spectacular Views
3 out of 5
Recommended
by mark11 from Buffalo, NY

adequate

Posted Jul 11, 2013
the room was fine,but the pool area and mens locker room were dirty and filled with used bandages. the attendant seemed unhappy to be there. barry did a great job for us at check-in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler from Chicago, IL

Simply terrific stay!

Posted Jul 8, 2013
his hotel has a great location, quiet but close to it all.  Incredible views in the West tower.  Amazing upgrades like breakfast and wifi, plus the happy hour, that lasts THREE hours!  We will be back for sure as this is our go to hotel in NYC now.  Staff is great and rooms are exactly as the photos depict.  Beautiful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ONEUN from New York, NY

Great service!

Posted May 8, 2013
You can walk into a hotel and feel its legacy. Sometimes that is good and other times that is bad when it is clear they aren't living up to it. This hotel definitely has history and I am sure at one point the best in the city welcoming UN delegates from all over the world. New York is competitive. New pops up all the time. You have to stay on your toes. I can see at some point, this hotel lost its luster, but it is looking to get its stride back. The people at the door, behind the counters, in the lounge all did their job with a smile and when requested went the extra mile. The new tower rooms were great especially the bathrooms. The amenities at the property for New York, apples to apples, is top notch. Still something missing. I couldn't put my finger on it, but it still felt a little stiff. I guess because it is a luxury business hotel and i am used to staying at luxury lifestyle hotels with more social scenes. I would recommend a traveler staying there for sure. But it would have to be for the right reason. they should take Ambassador Grill, get the right operator in there and do something lively there. Perhaps blow out the wall and make a patio so people can have lunch and it looks more interesting upon arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by AMWoman from San Francisco, CA

Gorgeous view, clean and spacious hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet, great location
I've been to the Big Apple several times and I have to say that this property had the most spacious room I've stayed in thus far. The room sizes here are not "New York size" with barely any room to fit your carry-on luggage. Our room had plenty of space, had sweeping views of the East River and surrounding buildings, and was very clean. It was only a short 5 minute walk to Grand Central Terminal and buses ran up and down on either side of the adjacent streets. I felt very safe with all the police cars parked right outside the UN building throughout the night and you'll find that it's a nice, quiet location compared to the hustle and bustle of Times Square where traffic is audible even throughout the night. Love the location of this hotel and the cleanliness. Will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Travelocityfan3 from Atlanta, GA, USA

The spectacular view, the courteous quick-response staff, the comfort are all top-notch.

Posted Oct 13, 2012
Pros: Quiet, iron hairdryer great service
I planned a trip for myself and 3 other women. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The only disadvantage is that it is not in the center of the tourist areas and involves a few blocks walk to Grand Central or cabs. The get-away feeling and the view of the river made up for it.