Ratings based on 73 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Liked location of hotel very much. Men out front very nice with getting us a cab on more than one occasion. Conceit was not too helpful however. Didn't seem like she liked her job very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Encinitas, CA

2nd stay and we'll be back!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
We love this hotel - have stayed here twice and we will definitely stay here again. First stay our room was fabulous - one of the top floors with an amazing view of the Chrysler building. Beautiful room and furnishings. Second stay a little lower down overlooking east river. Still a nice room but a little older. The location is excellent for us - close to grand central and close to our daughter's apt. Nice quiet area but close to everything you need. Great coffee shop in the lobby. Nice to see a different area of New York. We felt the price was great for the quality of this hotel. The staff was excellent. Very friendly and helpful. Can't wait for our next visit.
3 out of 5
by A travelerfrom Michigan

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Location right next to UN -- good if you are going for a conference there. West wing renovated and nice; East wing needs remodeling; rooms are on the small side; crowded lobby; no bell boy service; OK but not great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A travelerfrom kingsport, tn

Wonderful place. Great view.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Price and killer view
Cons: Free breakfast, maybe?
Too far from the theatre district, however which was a negative. The price was great for Christmas!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by pmacfrom NYC, NY

Good hotel for NYC but a little out of the way.

Posted Oct 30, 2013
The hotel is great - spacious room (for NYC), nice views from the room, lots of action with the UN next door. The staff are friendly and helpful. The only downside is it is a little off the beaten path for sightseeing (which I knew when making the reservation).
3 out of 5
by 4thRockRamblerfrom New York

A Little Off the Beaten Track - Nice Views

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Room was nice on the surface, but on closer inspection was a little shabby. For example, the bed was literally jacked up to compensate for sagging in the middle. View is the best thing this hotel has going for it. No free internet, no complimentary breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A travelerfrom Singapore

4-Star ? Can't match the features of a 3-Star

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Thinking that it is a 4-Star hotel, I thought I would be able to find basic essential features like free wireless connections, coffee-making facilities or just some ways of easy access to hot water. Well, I found none of this. On top of this, the rollaway bed given to us as we had booked and paid for a third person was very comfortable - you could feel the metal bars through the thin mattress. I made a complaint to the reception and was told that they would look into it immediately. When we came back late that night, it was not done and my daughter had another disturbed night of sleep. For the price we paid (even though they were at promotional prices), it is not value for money. The rollaway bed issue was not looked into during our whole 5-nights' stay. This is not the expected customer service expected!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by 1stNYCvisitorfrom Westside

Beware Pics, Read Reviews & Decide for Yourself

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Hi all, I was looking for a nice hotel at a reasonable price. I saw the deal pop up on a website. The initial reviews were good enough. After I booked, I then came across the "real deal" & "raw" reviews. They were very helpful since I decided to stay at ONE UN anyway. 1. The staff do try very hard to be friendly as I think they are working overtime to compensate for the hotel's inadequacies. 2. The "regular" rooms are decent but not as nice as what the pictures show for the suites. 3. My room did not have mold, but you could tell they had done some serious caulking in the bathroom. We also had to have our room "cleaned" after we checked in because it was obviously lacking. We made sure to ask for towels, and we were able to get what we needed. 4. Right now, there is a lot of construction happening, and the walls do transmit sound very well. We didn't spend a lot of time in our room, though, because we were out and about all over the city so the noise was tolerable. 5. You are really close to everything, and it was easy to get around by foot/cab/subway! (United Nations, UNICEF, Amish Market, Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, Times Square, Broadway, etc.) Basically, if you are looking for a decent hotel in NYC with some reasonable amenities in a good location, it's not a bad option if you manage to get a clean room with no mold and appropriate housekeeping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by camaleon07from Panama

Great Professional Service

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Excellent for your family, really quiet place with Spectacular Views
3 out of 5
Recommended
by mark11from Buffalo, NY

adequate

Posted Jul 11, 2013
the room was fine,but the pool area and mens locker room were dirty and filled with used bandages. the attendant seemed unhappy to be there. barry did a great job for us at check-in.