Ratings based on 209 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Madison, WI

Lovely hotel for incredible price

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: We felt very safe and comfortable in the lovely hotel.
Cons: It would be nice if it were quieter outside the hotel but we had no other complaints.
Location: The hotel is right by Madison Sq Gardens, Penn Station and the subway. We found restaurants in the next block. It's a very convenient place to stay.
We did a quick one night visit to NYC and were planning to stay in a hotel in NJ. However, the price for Affinia Hotel was the same as the motels/hotels further out. After looking at the many, many good reviews for the hotel and noting that the hotel addressed negative experiences in reviews, we took a chance and booked a room. The hotel lobby was lovely, the staff was friendly/professional/helpful, and our room was really nice. We got upgraded to a suite with 2 beds but a smaller room would not have been a problem had we been put in one like we reserved. The room was clean and comfortable and nicely decorated. We did not need or expect such a nice space and were pleasantly surprised. It was noisy overnight outside the hotel, as noted by other reviewers. There is a police station around the corner and sirens were part of the background noise. We simply put in ear plugs, like we do in all hotels, and slept well without interruption. We never heard a peep out of any other guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Scottsdale

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Comfort and style. Location is great!
Some of the staff were just amazing and helpful. We tried to check in very early because of a foot injury and they responded as fast as they could and offer a free upgrade. That kind of attention and understanding is invaluable for travelers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2015 by aspektor, Hotel Management
Dear Scottsdale, Thank you for the superb review! I am thrilled, but not surprise our staff went out of their way to take such great care of you during your stay as our staff makes it their mission for all of our guests. We hope once the foot is healed you make another trip back to the Manhattan NYC. Best, Alex Spektor
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Philadelphia, Pa

Not good this time

Posted Mar 23, 2015
I was on the 8th floor. Too much noise and people were constantly opening doors. Picked the wrong type of room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by ASpektor, Hotel Management
Dear A, Thank you for the review. From time to time the noise can pose a challenge for some guests. We recognize this and do our best to accommodate and provide earplugs to “put NYC in mute”. I am very sorry we were not able to provide you a good night sleep, hoping we will have the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future. Regards, Alex Spektor- General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Passportsandluggage from Atlanta, GA, USA

Average Stay.

Posted Apr 4, 2013
The hotel was undergoing renovations...a lot going on in the lobby. Our room was a good size, plenty of room to walk around and to keep our luggage. The bathroom was terribly small and the shower was about 20x24. Difficult for my husband at 6 feet tall to maneuver in. We were with a group and one of the rooms was exactly like ours, the other a good bit smaller but that one did have a bathtub sized shower. We did like the location, easy walking distance to many things. The bed was surprisingly comfortable. We couldnt adjust the temperature in our room which was a pain. Would we stay here again...I doubt it. Penn 6 restaurant right down the block was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by APCalifornia from Southern California

Room upgraded when they found out I stayed there many times

Posted Mar 2, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants
The newly renovated room was very comfortable and clean. I am glad they got rid of the old beat up furniture. This hotel is always my first choice in NYC. It is conveniently located in Midtown West. Only recomend if they can put a full size mirror in the bathroom or the closets inside doors. Helpful to make sure you look okay before heading to a meeting with fashion apparel buyers! They have very personable front desk staff, concierge and the bell captains will always step out of their way to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Super from Puerto Rico

they gave us an upgrade (jr suite) staff were super friendly

Posted Jan 27, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants
The Affinia Manhattan has a great location. It's across the Madison Square Garden, just 10 min walk to Times Square and a few streets to the nearest subway. Penn Station is also across the street. The staff is marvelous, from the nicest doormans to just everybody. They gave us an upgrade (jr suite) that was super spacious, super comfortable. Bed was divine and pillows superb. It has great coffee shops nearby and everything is at walking distance. We will definitely go again. We just loved it !!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by TwinsX2 from Memphis, TN, USA

Nice but noisy.

Posted Jan 3, 2013
Cons: Noisy
The lobby was nice and well decorated for Christmas. The room was a nice size and the kitchenette was an added benefit. The bed was comfortable and room was clean. Everything was okay except the bathroom was EXTREMELY small. If you are a bit overweight you wouldn't fit on the toilet or in shower. The other drawback to the hotel is the location which could be a plus for some people. There is a fire station nearby which means street noise and sirens all night. We were on the 27th floor but that didn't help. It was n exhausting trip.
2 out of 5
by GM97 from Baltimore, MD, USA

service was good but amenities are not.

Posted Dec 30, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet, no vending machine available
cable was out during our stay so we could not use tv or watch a movie. no vending machines available to purchase sodas/drinks or small snacks. free internet only in the lobby you have to pay $15 plus taxes per 24 hours if you want to use it in your room. not coming back.
1 out of 5
by travelmaven46 from Florida, USA

STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!

Posted Dec 29, 2012
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy, under construction
9 family members reserved 4 rooms over the holidays. There was no tv for the entire 6 nights; one room had NO HEAT, one room had too much heat. One room had no cold water-Ouch! We would never stay here again. However, the housekeeping staff were very friendly. But not the concierges-they seemed too busy for a smile or kind word. The desk people were friendly but harried - not enough staff to handle the crowds. Niles, the restaurant was great and Jorge was the best waiter, friendly, accomodating, etc. He is the real credit to this hotel. Neverless, find another hotel - this one has supposedly just been refurbished...it may need re-refurbishing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Luv2TeachHERstory from Atlanta, GA, USA

Great location!

Posted Dec 22, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy
As a tourist, the location was excellent. Just steps away from Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, and Macy's! The room was spacious but the bathroom left much to be desired. It was small and cramp. The tiling was cracked and worn. We stayed in room 430 and the heater was broken. After several attempts, the finally just brought us a space heater. The free Internet special was great. Regular price is $14.95 per day!