Ratings based on 206 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Passportsandluggagefrom Atlanta, GA, USA

Average Stay.

Posted Apr 4, 2013
The hotel was undergoing renovations...a lot going on in the lobby. Our room was a good size, plenty of room to walk around and to keep our luggage. The bathroom was terribly small and the shower was about 20x24. Difficult for my husband at 6 feet tall to maneuver in. We were with a group and one of the rooms was exactly like ours, the other a good bit smaller but that one did have a bathtub sized shower. We did like the location, easy walking distance to many things. The bed was surprisingly comfortable. We couldnt adjust the temperature in our room which was a pain. Would we stay here again...I doubt it. Penn 6 restaurant right down the block was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by APCaliforniafrom Southern California

Room upgraded when they found out I stayed there many times

Posted Mar 2, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants
The newly renovated room was very comfortable and clean. I am glad they got rid of the old beat up furniture. This hotel is always my first choice in NYC. It is conveniently located in Midtown West. Only recomend if they can put a full size mirror in the bathroom or the closets inside doors. Helpful to make sure you look okay before heading to a meeting with fashion apparel buyers! They have very personable front desk staff, concierge and the bell captains will always step out of their way to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Superfrom Puerto Rico

they gave us an upgrade (jr suite) staff were super friendly

Posted Jan 27, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants
The Affinia Manhattan has a great location. It's across the Madison Square Garden, just 10 min walk to Times Square and a few streets to the nearest subway. Penn Station is also across the street. The staff is marvelous, from the nicest doormans to just everybody. They gave us an upgrade (jr suite) that was super spacious, super comfortable. Bed was divine and pillows superb. It has great coffee shops nearby and everything is at walking distance. We will definitely go again. We just loved it !!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by TwinsX2from Memphis, TN, USA

Nice but noisy.

Posted Jan 3, 2013
Cons: Noisy
The lobby was nice and well decorated for Christmas. The room was a nice size and the kitchenette was an added benefit. The bed was comfortable and room was clean. Everything was okay except the bathroom was EXTREMELY small. If you are a bit overweight you wouldn't fit on the toilet or in shower. The other drawback to the hotel is the location which could be a plus for some people. There is a fire station nearby which means street noise and sirens all night. We were on the 27th floor but that didn't help. It was n exhausting trip.
2 out of 5
by GM97from Baltimore, MD, USA

service was good but amenities are not.

Posted Dec 30, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet, no vending machine available
cable was out during our stay so we could not use tv or watch a movie. no vending machines available to purchase sodas/drinks or small snacks. free internet only in the lobby you have to pay $15 plus taxes per 24 hours if you want to use it in your room. not coming back.
1 out of 5
by travelmaven46from Florida, USA

STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!

Posted Dec 29, 2012
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy, under construction
9 family members reserved 4 rooms over the holidays. There was no tv for the entire 6 nights; one room had NO HEAT, one room had too much heat. One room had no cold water-Ouch! We would never stay here again. However, the housekeeping staff were very friendly. But not the concierges-they seemed too busy for a smile or kind word. The desk people were friendly but harried - not enough staff to handle the crowds. Niles, the restaurant was great and Jorge was the best waiter, friendly, accomodating, etc. He is the real credit to this hotel. Neverless, find another hotel - this one has supposedly just been refurbished...it may need re-refurbishing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Luv2TeachHERstoryfrom Atlanta, GA, USA

Great location!

Posted Dec 22, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy
As a tourist, the location was excellent. Just steps away from Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, and Macy's! The room was spacious but the bathroom left much to be desired. It was small and cramp. The tiling was cracked and worn. We stayed in room 430 and the heater was broken. After several attempts, the finally just brought us a space heater. The free Internet special was great. Regular price is $14.95 per day!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by JonesPartyof2from Orlando, FL, USA

Great Location

Posted Nov 25, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: Noisy
I was in town for a conference. The hotel was a five minute walk to the conference location and was a great location to find food and see the city afterward. The room was extremely small and a little less than average for cleanliness. There was a good deal of street noise at night. The staff was very friendly on check-in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by seniorsfortravelfrom Orange County CA

This hotel is in the heart of Manhatten

Posted Oct 2, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
The hotel is across the street from Penn Station and Madison Square Gardens on 7th Avenue. We found the location to be excellent for sightseeing since we could easily walk to Times Square and other places of interest. The rooms were larger than the normal NY hotel room. Their was a sofa in the room, flat screen TV, refrigerator and separate desk area. The bathroom was small but adequate. Ask for a room on the upper floors to cut down on the constant noise. We had no trouble sleeping on the 14th floor. There are lots of elevators and the concierge was very helpful in giving us directions and ideas. They even told us about the best NY pizza only a couple of blocks away. This is a very busy part of town and you get a good taste of the hustle and bustle of NY city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ayo8512from Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico

Great hotel for traveling and getting to know NYC

Posted Sep 11, 2012
Pros: free internet on lobby
Cons: no free internet in room
Great hotel to get to know Manhattan. It is located in an excellent area with nearby Metro station to go anywhere in the island; almost across the street from Penn Station (great if you arrive at Newark airport since you can arrive in train to NYC cheap and fast or plan to go to a football game in New Jersey). Walking distance to Times Sq (less than 10 mins) and the Empire State Bldg (5 min). Located near shops like Macy's and other well known stores. The room was comfy and big enough to accomodate up to 4 persons. We stayed in a Deluxe Guestroom with a queen size bed, minifridge, a couch that can be turned to sofabed, safebox in the room and working area. I'll consider to stay at the Affinia Manhattan next time I plan a visit NYC.