Ratings based on 36 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Snubu from New York, NY

Great location!

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Great location! Just a block from Central Park and convenient to the subway. Great service!! Wonderful experience for my first trip. I plan on revisiting this summer and will plan to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by 15Travel15 from Lancaster County, PA

Great hotel, great location

Posted Jul 19, 2013
Trendy hotel on upper west side in midtown.    Clean and nicely decorated but small rooms.....but, this is NYC!  Wish there were more quick restaurants nearby.  We're looking for ar a quick lite late night meal but had to settle for appetizers in the bar which were just 'okay'.  Overall...would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by HookedOnEmpire from New York

Repeat customer on board!

Posted Feb 13, 2013
Pros: supreme bar lobby server (frank), friendly bellhop service staff, bed comfort, view of lincoln center, room size, taxi availability, fun rooftop bar with great view, felt safe
Cons: No free Internet, absolutely nothing complimentary, elevator service a bit slow
Love everything about this hotel..just about (would prefer to have a free bottle of water in my room upon arrival rather than the $7 small FIJI water bottles and would be nice to have a complimentary cup of coffee in the morning for the price of the room...as well as at least one free night of parking if staying more than one night...but, alas!) We stayed here when working across at Lincoln Center for the week and so glad it was incredibly convenient! What stood out was not only the gorgeous view of Lincoln Center from our generously sized room, and the view from the rooftop, of course...what really stood out was the excellent care we found from the bar staff in the lobby bar, as well as the ultra sweet bellhops who brought our luggage to and from our room/car, etc.. We didn't get the name of the gentlemen who helped us with the bags/car, but one person, in particular, really stood out to us. This is a gentleman named Frank (we know because he greeted us in a professional, charming and attentive way with his name first.) Kind of blew us away with how incredibly on-point he was with the service, how attentive he was, never unprofessional (he's a very attractive server and we were two women, so it was refreshing not to be hit on when being served) and his service, in particular, kept us coming back each night of our stay to the lobby bar, rather than foray into other places in the city. Yes - that's how good he was! In fact, one of the nights we stayed, he wasn't working, and we were disappointed...truly stood out in his service and makes the hotel look REALLY good. If only other hotels would have that guy. He should be a consultant on the correct way of doing things. We look forward to coming back again..and again...and hope the hotel doesn't have a high turn-over rate on the positions of the phenomenal men who helped us while we were there. Thanks, Empire!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by VIAJEROINCANSABLE19 from Caracas, Venezuela

I LOVE THIS HOTEL

Posted Feb 2, 2013
THANKS TO ALL THE STAFF,MY FIRST VISIT TO N.Y,AND I LOVE THIS HOTEL,LOCATED IN THE MIDDLE OF EVERYTHING,TRANSPORTATION SO EASY..SPECIAL THANKS TO A BOY IN THE FRONT DOOR,NAME DANIEL,VERY EDUCATED,HELPFUL,THAT'S AMAZING HOW A PERSON WITH THAT KNOWLEDGE IS SO PROUD OF HIS JOB,LOVE THIS HOTEL EVERYBODY,CLEAN,I RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL 100%,I'M A TRAVELING PERSON,AND I KNOW A LOTS OF HOTELS AROUND THE WORLD,FOR THE PRICE IS MUCH BETTER.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by alteregos123 from Toronto, ON, Canada

Great location

Posted Jan 24, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
The hotel was fancy except that the room had a funny smell. It didn't smell fresh when we went in and the windows were stuck so we couldn't open it to freshen the air. We turned on the fan to get rid of the smell. It was also false advertisement when it said free internet. Free internet was only available in the lobby. There was additional charge in the hotel rooms. This made it a bit inconvenient for planning, so keep this in mind. We took many trips down to the lobby to use the free internet.
1 out of 5
by L3xxos from Stillwater, OK, USA

Not worth the money!

Posted Dec 30, 2012
Cons: No free Internet, Poor breakfast
Let's see, No parking! No Internet! No Breakfast! Tiny rooms. Not a good window view. Really expensive for lots of nothing. In the positive side: Nothing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lenny1 from St. Louis, MO, USA

Good hotel. Great location.Rooms are small but well furnished, nice beds,linens , soaps,etc.

Posted Dec 28, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
I enjoyed this hotel and so did my 16 year old daughter. Great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by KimJL

A comfy and stylish getaway

Posted Dec 13, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is great, and central to most of the excitement found in NYC. The decor is stylish and kind of upscale, yet the atmosphere is friendly and unpretentious. However, our room was a bit dirty. Not filthy, just could have used some dusting. I just prefer a hotel room to be close to pristine, since I'm paying to sleep in it. But, I would stay here again and I do recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by OperaBuff from Georgia

Ideal location, very clean

Posted Nov 14, 2012
Cons: No free Internet
The hotel is very dark - brass and black - and our old eyes (60+) kept losing things against the carpet or in the closet. Roomier than other NYC hotels where I've stayed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Pinky74 from Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico

Excellent option when travelling with children

Posted Oct 24, 2012
We travelled with kids, first time to NY, It was a great stay, beautifully situated specially when travelling with children. Walking distance to Central Park, to metro station and to American Natural History museum. The room was not as small as we were expecting, the hotel overall look is fantastic and clean. You have all kind of options in the streets around the hotel to eat, entertain, or just to relax. Wonderful stay.