Ratings based on 57 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nahloo from Texas

Amazing vibe

Posted Sep 10, 2013
I went to this hotel about a month ago and loved it! The room was great, the alcohol was strong and flowing, and the beach was amazing. They had nightly shows which were good. They had really good tour guides and the activities within the hotel were great too. I only took one star for the food. Some days it was great, and some days...not so good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by DebDoy from Florida

Riu Negril Wonderful place

Posted Jul 23, 2013
The hotel was absolutely gorgeous and the staff was over the top polite and helpful.  Everyone was so nice and we really enjoyed staying here.   Only thing that I was disappointed about is that it appeared to be no one under 21 when I booked the reservation however there were children and families at the hotel.  Should be made more clear in the booking area about that
3 out of 5
by TimandAlicia from Villa Rica, GA

Not as good as Expectations!

Posted Jun 6, 2013
I would like to begin by saying the hotel and grounds and room were gorgeous! However, other than the breakfast buffet, the food left something to be desired! My husband and I literally left the resort to eat at the Sweet Spot, which was GREAT! With that being said, that kinda blew the concept of "all inclusive." Our catamaran and Rick's Cafe excursion was so much fun and ended with my husband jumping from the cliff. The food at Rick's was amazing...hands down the BEST hamburger I have ever eaten! The Black River Falls and YS excursion was exactly what we wanted out of our trip to Jamaica and again, amazing food! Trying to make reservations for dinner was RIDICULOUS! Reservations had to be made two (2) days in advance for dinner, and you only have about a 2 hour window in the mornings to make the reservations and inevitably there were NO seats left!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by traveler543 from Texas

Excellent Vacation

Posted Jan 2, 2013
Pros: Free Internet, Free breakfast, great beach
The resort is comfortable, has all amenities I was looking for, and makes a relaxing vacation very easy. The rooms were clean, but definitely not overly fancy (i.e. old, small tv and a couple lamps missing their shades). However, you shouldn't be spending much time watching tv in your room when you're at the beach. The beach was gorgeous, the staff was very friendly, there were a ton of easily available entertainment options, the watersports group was amazing and even the on-site club was amusing at night. Overall, it was a great vacation and I was happy with the value. If you do go though, make sure that, as with any vacation, you keep your hotel doors locked (including your balcony door regardless of which floor you're on) and your valuables in the safe or supervised. Due to the nature of the resort and the beach, it is pretty easily accessible by non-resort persons and I wouldn't expect anything of value to remain where I left it if I walked away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jog4me from Washington,

Beautiful Hotel, great location to the beach, night life and the Reggae Marathon

Posted Dec 7, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
Had a great stay. really enjoyed the fish for dinner and the chicken patties. Convenient location for the Reggae Marathon. I would definitely be back.
1 out of 5
by NJorBust from New Jersey, USA

Disappointed Travellers

Posted Nov 1, 2012
Cons: No free Internet, sand fleas that bite, mediocre food, unfriendly staff; lack of hospitality
The Riu Club Negril hotel was a great disappointment. My husband and I came back with lots of bites from what we are now learning to be "sand fleas" or "no-see-ums" (itchy and hard to eradicate once bitten). In hindsight, if we had done more research, we would have found other travellers complaints and chosen another resort. Hurricane Sandy did not have a significant impact since this hotel was in the Western part of the island. However the beaches were filled with seaweed that washed up after the storm. The hotel staff were slow to clean up the beach. We went into the ocean water only once during our 5-day stay. The pool was poorly maintained, with moldy walls and floating debris. Unfortunately, the only good thing about this resort was that the grounds were immaculately kept. It seemed like the Riu Negril staff spent more time & effort on the grounds than taking care of the guests. Ending up leaving a day early. Not a good experience. We are not picky travelers but overall, would not recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by traveler2tips from Maryland, USA

Excellent, had a very enjoyable vacation

Posted Sep 23, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants
I spent 7 day and enjoyed my self tremendously. Staff was very helpful and informative, eager to assist. Entertainment was ok, I wished the entertainment staff was a bit more mature. They joked around to much and keep interrupting the entertainment. Overall, very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by 1Bag42 from United States

They're all there to help you have a great time!

Posted Sep 18, 2012
Pros: all-inclusive
Cons: No free Internet
My husband and I have been to a few other Caribbean islands, but this was our first time to Jamaica. We're so happy that we chose to stay at Riu Negril. (We stayed at Club Riu, not the Riu Palace. Riu has two resorts in Negril.) We've both worked in the resort and tourism industry for years and were very impressed that everyone at Riu Negril, from the bartenders, the entertainment staff, to the waiters really seemed like they all wanted to make sure we had a great time. Booking agents were available to help with excursions, and thankfully, they weren't pushy. The food was great with Jamaican dishes and plenty to appeal to the various international guests. We loved the jerk chicken stand right on the beach! For an all-inclusive, the alcoholic drinks were strong. Kudos to our favorite bartender, Charlie. The beach was beautiful with more than enough lounge chairs to go around. The only flaw was a leaky air-conditioner in our room, but we just put down a towel. No problem, mon. We'll definitely look into other Riu resorts for future vacations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lovesthecaribbean from Colorado

Beautiful beachfront property!

Posted Aug 7, 2012
Pros: all-inclusive
Negril's beaches are beautiful. The people are very friendly and the nightly entertainment was really fun. Our favorite was the steel drum orchestra on the beach on one of the days. Also, we ate the jerk chicken from the beach grill every single day - sooo good! The "king" bed was two double beds pushed together (with two separate sheet sets) so my husband ended up sleeping on the crack for the most part. The room also smelled like dingy cigarette smoke, but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room so it didn't matter. There was a leak in the bathroom ceiling but that started on our last day so also not a problem. The room was kept clean and we lucked out with an ocean view from our balcony with a standard room! There was one staff person who was rude, which seemed very unlike the rest of the staff. Overall, this was a wonderful vacation and we will definitely go back!
3 out of 5
by sigmatravel from Chicago, IL, USA

This property did make us feel welcome, however the RIU Tropical (remodel) would have been a better choice for us.

Posted Jul 22, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Quiet
Cons: Nothing close, No free Internet
The beach sand was rocky The beds were not king sized The tub is too high The service is not as good as 2004 No entertainment one saturday night Failed to refill the bar Had to call several times for towels Overall package too costly Not enough tours to choose from The food was outstanding .....