Ratings based on 59 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler from minnesota

Decent value

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: The price is reasonable for what you get. We weren't expecting 5 star so we were not disappointed. The front desk staff were outstanding.
Cons: One of the male cooks at the dinner buffet copped an attitude with me. Beach bar staff rude and crabby in late afternoon. Hence 3 stars for the staff
Location: 2 hour snorkel trip on the catamaran was a hit. Margaritaville fun and Ricks cafe just ok. Entertainment at the resort each night isn't bad.
We stayed 7 nights March 14-21. We were checked in promptly by the concierge and assigned a room in building 4. This place is pretty big and building 4 is a long walk to the lobby, restaraunts, bars & pools. I asked for a closer room and the next day we were placed in building 2. Much better. We went for a beach vacation and aren't picky about food. The beach is ok. Very calm water. I would rather have some wave action as is found on seven mile beach. My girlfriend kept saying it felt like we were at a lake, not the ocean. At dusk the little black biting flies are an issue. The resort fogged every night to ward off the bugs, but the fogging was very unpleasant and you're forced to breathe it for 20 minutes or so. The jerk chicken on the beach is really good. Dinner ok. One night they had grilled lobster tails and prime rib. I didn't use the safe. I left my iPad, ipod and watch laying on the table in the room and never had a problem. In fact, after we switched rooms I had left my watch in the bathroom and cleaning staff brought it to the front desk. Expensive watch too. I brought a travel coffee maker so we had coffee in our room. Plenty of bottled water provided in the room. Comfy bed. King - not 2 twins pushed together. Typical towel on the lounger game going on. Pool water was dirty. Some areas reek of sewage. Cesspool cover on the beach by the lifeguard chair slightly overflowing and formed a little stream through the sand into the bay where people swim - disgusting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Texas

Fun place very beautiful

Posted Mar 24, 2015
My husband and i talks about our experience at Riu even now. We will be going back. The staffs are so sweet and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nahloo from Texas

Amazing vibe

Posted Sep 10, 2013
I went to this hotel about a month ago and loved it! The room was great, the alcohol was strong and flowing, and the beach was amazing. They had nightly shows which were good. They had really good tour guides and the activities within the hotel were great too. I only took one star for the food. Some days it was great, and some days...not so good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by DebDoy from Florida

Riu Negril Wonderful place

Posted Jul 23, 2013
The hotel was absolutely gorgeous and the staff was over the top polite and helpful.  Everyone was so nice and we really enjoyed staying here.   Only thing that I was disappointed about is that it appeared to be no one under 21 when I booked the reservation however there were children and families at the hotel.  Should be made more clear in the booking area about that
3 out of 5
by TimandAlicia from Villa Rica, GA

Not as good as Expectations!

Posted Jun 6, 2013
I would like to begin by saying the hotel and grounds and room were gorgeous! However, other than the breakfast buffet, the food left something to be desired! My husband and I literally left the resort to eat at the Sweet Spot, which was GREAT! With that being said, that kinda blew the concept of "all inclusive." Our catamaran and Rick's Cafe excursion was so much fun and ended with my husband jumping from the cliff. The food at Rick's was amazing...hands down the BEST hamburger I have ever eaten! The Black River Falls and YS excursion was exactly what we wanted out of our trip to Jamaica and again, amazing food! Trying to make reservations for dinner was RIDICULOUS! Reservations had to be made two (2) days in advance for dinner, and you only have about a 2 hour window in the mornings to make the reservations and inevitably there were NO seats left!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by traveler543 from Texas

Excellent Vacation

Posted Jan 2, 2013
Pros: Free Internet, Free breakfast, great beach
The resort is comfortable, has all amenities I was looking for, and makes a relaxing vacation very easy. The rooms were clean, but definitely not overly fancy (i.e. old, small tv and a couple lamps missing their shades). However, you shouldn't be spending much time watching tv in your room when you're at the beach. The beach was gorgeous, the staff was very friendly, there were a ton of easily available entertainment options, the watersports group was amazing and even the on-site club was amusing at night. Overall, it was a great vacation and I was happy with the value. If you do go though, make sure that, as with any vacation, you keep your hotel doors locked (including your balcony door regardless of which floor you're on) and your valuables in the safe or supervised. Due to the nature of the resort and the beach, it is pretty easily accessible by non-resort persons and I wouldn't expect anything of value to remain where I left it if I walked away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jog4me from Washington,

Beautiful Hotel, great location to the beach, night life and the Reggae Marathon

Posted Dec 7, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
Had a great stay. really enjoyed the fish for dinner and the chicken patties. Convenient location for the Reggae Marathon. I would definitely be back.
1 out of 5
by NJorBust from New Jersey, USA

Disappointed Travellers

Posted Nov 1, 2012
Cons: No free Internet, sand fleas that bite, mediocre food, unfriendly staff; lack of hospitality
The Riu Club Negril hotel was a great disappointment. My husband and I came back with lots of bites from what we are now learning to be "sand fleas" or "no-see-ums" (itchy and hard to eradicate once bitten). In hindsight, if we had done more research, we would have found other travellers complaints and chosen another resort. Hurricane Sandy did not have a significant impact since this hotel was in the Western part of the island. However the beaches were filled with seaweed that washed up after the storm. The hotel staff were slow to clean up the beach. We went into the ocean water only once during our 5-day stay. The pool was poorly maintained, with moldy walls and floating debris. Unfortunately, the only good thing about this resort was that the grounds were immaculately kept. It seemed like the Riu Negril staff spent more time & effort on the grounds than taking care of the guests. Ending up leaving a day early. Not a good experience. We are not picky travelers but overall, would not recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by traveler2tips from Maryland, USA

Excellent, had a very enjoyable vacation

Posted Sep 23, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants
I spent 7 day and enjoyed my self tremendously. Staff was very helpful and informative, eager to assist. Entertainment was ok, I wished the entertainment staff was a bit more mature. They joked around to much and keep interrupting the entertainment. Overall, very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by 1Bag42 from United States

They're all there to help you have a great time!

Posted Sep 18, 2012
Pros: all-inclusive
Cons: No free Internet
My husband and I have been to a few other Caribbean islands, but this was our first time to Jamaica. We're so happy that we chose to stay at Riu Negril. (We stayed at Club Riu, not the Riu Palace. Riu has two resorts in Negril.) We've both worked in the resort and tourism industry for years and were very impressed that everyone at Riu Negril, from the bartenders, the entertainment staff, to the waiters really seemed like they all wanted to make sure we had a great time. Booking agents were available to help with excursions, and thankfully, they weren't pushy. The food was great with Jamaican dishes and plenty to appeal to the various international guests. We loved the jerk chicken stand right on the beach! For an all-inclusive, the alcoholic drinks were strong. Kudos to our favorite bartender, Charlie. The beach was beautiful with more than enough lounge chairs to go around. The only flaw was a leaky air-conditioner in our room, but we just put down a towel. No problem, mon. We'll definitely look into other Riu resorts for future vacations.