Ratings based on 19 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from new york

good family vacation

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: rooms need to be upgraded or refurbish
Location: location is good many tours in nearby areas to visit
most friendly workers very accommodating adequate food, entertainment fair
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Dallas, TX

Small Resort on the beach.

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: The resort had a lot of things to do: para-sailing, kayaking, putt-putt, water park with two slides and a lazy river, gym, and other activities.
Cons: THE FOOD! My wife and I felt like we had the same thing everyday. Even some of the restaurants tasted like the buffet. The Asian restaurant was great!
Location: Location felt far from river-rafting. We wished we would have stayed some place with rolling waves - Montego Bay was very secluded and protected.
Complements: The staff was very nice and accommodating which was probably our favorite part of it. Complaints: It was a decent resort. Felt a little run down; I think the resort was trying to slowly update it, but it looked like it needed some renovation on the outside. The beach was very rocky and hard to walk on because of the broken shells on the shore. The spa/massage parlor smelled like methane.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great vacation!

Posted May 27, 2015
My family had a wonderful time . the food was out of this world! Service was excellent.I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from NL Canada

Fantastic place to stay.

Posted May 4, 2015
First time in Jamaica well be back again and here at the Sunset if at all possible. Everything was more than expected. Was a little hesitant after mixed reviews. I guess if your looking to be pampered a on hand and foot then its not the place for you. My kind of place relaxed layer back. I'm a beer and wings guy not wine and cheese. So if your looking for wind and cheese try secrets next door. But if your not then this is the place to be.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Pittsburgh

Small beach, very little activities

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: restaurants food very good, buffet also most of the time. Waterpark very nice. Also some nights specialty dinners by the pool very nice, table settings, decorations, carved fruit...etc. Food servers were very friendly. There are no problems with restaurants reservations as long as you do it first thing in the morning, no limitations. Cons: beach is very small, only few beach chairs.... There is volleyball net, but you really can't play without hitting, disturbing people. If you like secluded, private beach, you will love it. Not us. We like long walks on the beach, so we really missed beach. We were in many all incl. resorts in the caribbean and Mexico, this one was the highest rated one, but in our opinion was infiriour to the other resorts we have visited. We took a day trip to Negril, it was beautiful, worth $100 for taxi...negotiate at all times...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from New York, NY

nice hotel, nice beach, friendly staff, good food.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Excellent recreation staff. Lots of return visitors.
Very pleasant. Great for families. Great for honeymooners.
4 out of 5
by fran621 from fort wash, md

franbsurvivor

Posted May 16, 2013
Was there in October 2012, had a ball, staff could have been a little more polite. Bar tender was the best. Didn't like the casino, ran out of money, had to pay you the next day. Rooms were very nice and plenty of space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by iHATEPICKINGNICKNAMES

Staff problems

Posted Mar 26, 2013
Pros: Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
I did not like that the staff asked me to get them food. On two seperate occasions from two different staff members I was asked to get food. I am not on vacation and spending all this money to be the staffs waiter. Otherwise I thought the hotel was lovely. The beach could be a little more groomed but it was beautiful and very spacious regardless. I did not enjoy the buffet food, but the food at the different resteraunts that the hotel offered was amazing! Overall I had a pretty good time. Not sure if I would go back to Jamaica as there are so many other countries to see, but I wouldn't discourage someone from staying at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MontegoBayMon from Long Island, New York, USA

What Could Be Better?

Posted Jan 31, 2013
Pros: everything was perfect!
Cons: no cons.
After our trip to Barbados in November, Kathi & I stayed at The Sunset Beach Resort & Water Park in Jamaica from 1/19 to 1/26 as an extension of our 25th anniversary celebration! We both had a perfect time! It was noticeable that most guests were Canadian. We figure that with so many Americans being without even health insurance... out of work, or way over taxed... it's no surprise that people from a Dying Nation have limited opportunity to take a vacation such as this. Sunset Beach Resort is top notch and making life long Canadian friends was an added plus! Real Good People! We were given a key to the room safe and this made it easy to leave the room with no worries! We started each day with coffee and breakfast as we moved on to "Fun In The Sun"... starting at The Lazy River. My wife thanked me each day for bringing her to Sunset Beach. They had two swim up bars, tubes in the pools... and great staff and guests! All pro's ... no con's! No matter what your preference, this place is perfect for people of every category and age. The staff and guests are all so very nice! The room was great. The air conditioner in Tower A kept it very cold when needed. The buffet food at the Banana Walk Cafe could not have been better! The Buffet was so good... that of three restaurants we could have visited, we only went to one... The Bella Vita... and that was pretty good also! My wife liked the idea that The Grill was open til 1 am each night. They have great burgers and cheese dogs, and lots of other things like the excellent Jerk Chicken! Everything we ate was delicious! We loved Fabian who greeted us with a rum punch. We chatted with him numerous times during our stay and we'll miss him greatly until we return. One might ask; "are there no con's?" Not really... no. There was one woman, a Dentist from Kentucky I think... who smoked like a chimney with small kids. I tried to promote my Vapor E-Cigarette as a viable, healthy alternative method of smoking. While she was repeatedly indignant, I rose above it and was nice to her anyway. Other than that... the vacation was literally "perfect." We will go back! If you are looking for a place to go in Jamaica, look no further. Sunset Beach Resort in the heart of Montego Bay... right on the Montego Freeport Peninsula... is the perfect place for you! I ask myself, what could be better... & so will you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Karenm from Nj

Wonderful trip

Posted Oct 24, 2012
Pros: all inclusive
Cons: No free Internet, beaches very natural
Spent 7 nights at Sunset Beach Resort for our honeymoon. Ran into many other honeymooners as well. This hotel is not the fanciest place (like Sandals or secrets) but for the value it was great. Staff attentive and friendly, food choices were varied enough not to be bored after a week, food was well prepared and delicious. The italian restaurant was my favorite! Will definitely be returning with family and will also try their 2 other locations in Ocho Rios and Negril. Short trip from airport is a plus but get the round trip transport from the hotel. We had to pay $30 each way by taxi.