Ratings based on 21 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Memphis Tn

YEAH MON

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: LOVED the open lobby and bar floor plan.
Cons: By the lobby being open the way it is, it could use more ceiling fans through out for when there is no breeze blowing through.
Location: Nice location, but the resort has something for you to do or attend each day keeping you going. near by shopping is very nice also.
The Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive is one of the best Hotel and resorts I have ever stayed in. It was the BOMB hands down!!!!!!! My personal opinion, no other resort or hotel can touch it. The staff is so FRIENDLY and HELPFUL. A must stay if I go to Montego Bay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from San Antonio

Great atmosphere . Friendly staff.

Posted Jul 2, 2015
I really enjoyed myself at Sunset Beach . I have nothing bad to say. Meals were awesome at Caribbean Cafe and the all night diner. The buffet had many choices to choose from at all meals and their hours were convenient if you were out on an outing. There were great activities planned for the resort. Everyone worked hard to keep it a pleasant atmosphere. I also really enjoyed the variety of drinks available. My only concern was with one employee named Sandra. She was our guide on the hip strip shopping trip. Some of her actions were shady. To be more specific , she was friends with the vendors at the craft market and she saw a few of us being harassed and she just sat there needless to say after that being the 5 shop stop , I had limited funds and let's say she was present when I was hassled to buy something on credit and I had to pay the money to her when I got to the resort.and she would give to vendor. Also determined by your skin color were sent different directions and noone left without buying a thing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from new york

good family vacation

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: rooms need to be upgraded or refurbish
Location: location is good many tours in nearby areas to visit
most friendly workers very accommodating adequate food, entertainment fair
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Dallas, TX

Small Resort on the beach.

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: The resort had a lot of things to do: para-sailing, kayaking, putt-putt, water park with two slides and a lazy river, gym, and other activities.
Cons: THE FOOD! My wife and I felt like we had the same thing everyday. Even some of the restaurants tasted like the buffet. The Asian restaurant was great!
Location: Location felt far from river-rafting. We wished we would have stayed some place with rolling waves - Montego Bay was very secluded and protected.
Complements: The staff was very nice and accommodating which was probably our favorite part of it. Complaints: It was a decent resort. Felt a little run down; I think the resort was trying to slowly update it, but it looked like it needed some renovation on the outside. The beach was very rocky and hard to walk on because of the broken shells on the shore. The spa/massage parlor smelled like methane.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great vacation!

Posted May 27, 2015
My family had a wonderful time . the food was out of this world! Service was excellent.I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from NL Canada

Fantastic place to stay.

Posted May 4, 2015
First time in Jamaica well be back again and here at the Sunset if at all possible. Everything was more than expected. Was a little hesitant after mixed reviews. I guess if your looking to be pampered a on hand and foot then its not the place for you. My kind of place relaxed layer back. I'm a beer and wings guy not wine and cheese. So if your looking for wind and cheese try secrets next door. But if your not then this is the place to be.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Pittsburgh

Small beach, very little activities

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: restaurants food very good, buffet also most of the time. Waterpark very nice. Also some nights specialty dinners by the pool very nice, table settings, decorations, carved fruit...etc. Food servers were very friendly. There are no problems with restaurants reservations as long as you do it first thing in the morning, no limitations. Cons: beach is very small, only few beach chairs.... There is volleyball net, but you really can't play without hitting, disturbing people. If you like secluded, private beach, you will love it. Not us. We like long walks on the beach, so we really missed beach. We were in many all incl. resorts in the caribbean and Mexico, this one was the highest rated one, but in our opinion was infiriour to the other resorts we have visited. We took a day trip to Negril, it was beautiful, worth $100 for taxi...negotiate at all times...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from New York, NY

nice hotel, nice beach, friendly staff, good food.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Excellent recreation staff. Lots of return visitors.
Very pleasant. Great for families. Great for honeymooners.
4 out of 5
by fran621 from fort wash, md

franbsurvivor

Posted May 16, 2013
Was there in October 2012, had a ball, staff could have been a little more polite. Bar tender was the best. Didn't like the casino, ran out of money, had to pay you the next day. Rooms were very nice and plenty of space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by iHATEPICKINGNICKNAMES

Staff problems

Posted Mar 26, 2013
Pros: Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
I did not like that the staff asked me to get them food. On two seperate occasions from two different staff members I was asked to get food. I am not on vacation and spending all this money to be the staffs waiter. Otherwise I thought the hotel was lovely. The beach could be a little more groomed but it was beautiful and very spacious regardless. I did not enjoy the buffet food, but the food at the different resteraunts that the hotel offered was amazing! Overall I had a pretty good time. Not sure if I would go back to Jamaica as there are so many other countries to see, but I wouldn't discourage someone from staying at this hotel.