Ratings based on 13 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
by fran621from fort wash, md

franbsurvivor

Posted May 16, 2013
Was there in October 2012, had a ball, staff could have been a little more polite. Bar tender was the best. Didn't like the casino, ran out of money, had to pay you the next day. Rooms were very nice and plenty of space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by iHATEPICKINGNICKNAMES

Staff problems

Posted Mar 26, 2013
Pros: Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
I did not like that the staff asked me to get them food. On two seperate occasions from two different staff members I was asked to get food. I am not on vacation and spending all this money to be the staffs waiter. Otherwise I thought the hotel was lovely. The beach could be a little more groomed but it was beautiful and very spacious regardless. I did not enjoy the buffet food, but the food at the different resteraunts that the hotel offered was amazing! Overall I had a pretty good time. Not sure if I would go back to Jamaica as there are so many other countries to see, but I wouldn't discourage someone from staying at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MontegoBayMonfrom Long Island, New York, USA

What Could Be Better?

Posted Jan 31, 2013
Pros: everything was perfect!
Cons: no cons.
After our trip to Barbados in November, Kathi & I stayed at The Sunset Beach Resort & Water Park in Jamaica from 1/19 to 1/26 as an extension of our 25th anniversary celebration! We both had a perfect time! It was noticeable that most guests were Canadian. We figure that with so many Americans being without even health insurance... out of work, or way over taxed... it's no surprise that people from a Dying Nation have limited opportunity to take a vacation such as this. Sunset Beach Resort is top notch and making life long Canadian friends was an added plus! Real Good People! We were given a key to the room safe and this made it easy to leave the room with no worries! We started each day with coffee and breakfast as we moved on to "Fun In The Sun"... starting at The Lazy River. My wife thanked me each day for bringing her to Sunset Beach. They had two swim up bars, tubes in the pools... and great staff and guests! All pro's ... no con's! No matter what your preference, this place is perfect for people of every category and age. The staff and guests are all so very nice! The room was great. The air conditioner in Tower A kept it very cold when needed. The buffet food at the Banana Walk Cafe could not have been better! The Buffet was so good... that of three restaurants we could have visited, we only went to one... The Bella Vita... and that was pretty good also! My wife liked the idea that The Grill was open til 1 am each night. They have great burgers and cheese dogs, and lots of other things like the excellent Jerk Chicken! Everything we ate was delicious! We loved Fabian who greeted us with a rum punch. We chatted with him numerous times during our stay and we'll miss him greatly until we return. One might ask; "are there no con's?" Not really... no. There was one woman, a Dentist from Kentucky I think... who smoked like a chimney with small kids. I tried to promote my Vapor E-Cigarette as a viable, healthy alternative method of smoking. While she was repeatedly indignant, I rose above it and was nice to her anyway. Other than that... the vacation was literally "perfect." We will go back! If you are looking for a place to go in Jamaica, look no further. Sunset Beach Resort in the heart of Montego Bay... right on the Montego Freeport Peninsula... is the perfect place for you! I ask myself, what could be better... & so will you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Karenmfrom Nj

Wonderful trip

Posted Oct 24, 2012
Pros: all inclusive
Cons: No free Internet, beaches very natural
Spent 7 nights at Sunset Beach Resort for our honeymoon. Ran into many other honeymooners as well. This hotel is not the fanciest place (like Sandals or secrets) but for the value it was great. Staff attentive and friendly, food choices were varied enough not to be bored after a week, food was well prepared and delicious. The italian restaurant was my favorite! Will definitely be returning with family and will also try their 2 other locations in Ocho Rios and Negril. Short trip from airport is a plus but get the round trip transport from the hotel. We had to pay $30 each way by taxi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by luv2travelocityfrom New Orleans, LA, USA

the staff was great and made me feel at home

Posted Sep 28, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, all inclusive resort
Cons: No free Internet
I got married there and it was the happiest day of my life. My wife didnt have to worry about a single thing and this made for many very memorable moments. I suggest and recommend this stay for any and everyone at least once in their life. I am looking forward to our next stay and we have only been home for a couple of weeks now. Can't wait til our first anniversary!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by PuntaPintafrom Lynn Haven, FL, USA

Single Ladies Trip...FUN FUN FUN

Posted Aug 16, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
My best friend and I went on this trip, we caught a $400 weekend special airfare and all inclusive hotel resort trip so we snatched it up and left 3 days later. We had so much fun! We are in our 30s. The food was delicious. The transportation in town was provided by the resort for a nominal fee, it was awesome. The staff was friendly and great. We met so many nice people. Went to Margaritaville at night to dance and had a blast. I will say this though, dont run off without a friend, the men know your single and know your american and may have an agenda. They are some sweet talkers! and I even got a foot massage in the club. But I left it right there. There was an instance where some men we met at the club jumped the resort wall to try and get to us so maybe the resort should police the resort a little better. But hey, whats an all girls trip without a little harmless excitement. I love this place and now that Im married, I plan to take my husband there also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by darcy23from British Columbia, Canada

This resort is well worth the money

Posted May 26, 2012
This resort was fantastic. The staff were super friendly and knowledgable. The room was very clean, the housekeepers were really good at tending to the room daily. The food was awesome, the Banana Buffet was great as was the Italian restaurant. The beaches were beautiful and well kept. The overall resort was well laid out, although the Italian restaurant was slightly hidden. The only complaints we would have are the scrambled eggs, not sure what they put in them but they weren't very good, the mattress was a bit stiff for my liking, but my husband didn't seem to mind. The only other issue would be noise, the walls don't seem to be very thick so you can hear guests in the next suite. It wasn't really too bad, and we weren't really inconvenienced by this. Other than that the overall resort was quiet. Although they do have wifi in the lobby, it would be a benefit to the resort if they provided wifi to all the rooms. It's also great how close the resort is to the airport. It makes it quite convenient. After having flown 8 hrs and it was nice to hop into a taxi and arrive quickly. All in all we would definitly recommend this resort.
1 out of 5
by NET31

The Worst Stay Ever

Posted May 17, 2012
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy, Poor breakfast
The front desk staff was the worst I’ve ever experience (I.e. it took them 2 days to get me & my wife a room with king size bed “that was no guaranteed”). The food was on no level acceptable. The drink selection was limited (i.e. only 1 beer choice regular of lite). The bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. The public restrooms were broken. The elevators worked occasionally. Their currency exchange rate was $11 less than a local bank.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tondrafrom West Chester, PA, USA

the staff was so friendly.

Posted May 10, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
My husband and I had a wonderful time on out anniversary trip to Sunset Beach. This was my first real vacation and I had no complaints. The staff, food, service and room was exellent!! I would like to see the gift shop prices go down. I paid $20 for sunglasses which to jme was way too high. All and all a wonderful resort and I can't wait to take my kids next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by luv2traveljamfrom Grande Prairie, AB, Canada

AMAZING!!! AMAZING!!!

Posted May 9, 2012
Pros: everything is a pro!!
This hotel was amazing, the staff is amazing, everything is amazing..i read all the reviews and was a little nervous about this hotel because of them..however none of it is true!! My husband and I stayed in an older room and didnt have an issue at all. The bugs in your room, well people its an outdoor hotel and signs clearly saying "NO FOOD IN YOUR ROOMS" so dont take food to your rooms and your fine. The staff work round the clock keeping this hotel and beach clean and "guests" were the ones leaving plates and glasses and garbabge all over. I still can`t believe the amazing staff, they were there for us, with a smile and so very polite,all ages,if they didnt love their jobs,they were very good actors!! the entertainment was amazing, the food was amazing, all of it AMAZING!!! we are already planning on another trip to Jamaica and this hotel!! A bit of advice however is, dont go unless you are ready to be treated like royalty and are able to relax and enjoy a laid back life for the time you are there. This resort has something for everyone!! I could go on for hours about it, this is now "our Place" we will keep coming back as long as we can!!