Ratings based on 176 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by GinaF326from Philadelphia, PA

Wonderful resort Friendly staff!

Posted Dec 30, 2013
My family of 5 stayed at this resort from 12/13/13-12/21/13. I cannot say enough good things about this resort. The workers all worked their butts off to make sure your stay was suburb and nothing less. They all treated you as if they appreciated you being there as their livelihood depended on it. From the moment we stepped off of the shuttle bus from the airport, we felt welcomed. My 3 teens, who were never there before, were Welcomed. My husband and I, who have been there before, "Welcome Home". The food was wonderful. We ate at the buffet every night except 1, we ate at the steakhouse. The selection of food on the buffet was incredible and was different every night. I'm not sure which resort the negative posters had stayed at but it definitely was not Riu Ocho Rios. Also, many, if not all of the workers are contract workers. If they get any complaints, their contract does not get renewed and they are out of a job. You do get a sense that it is a dog eat dog world there. But because of the contract work, the chances of you experiencing a negative worker are very slim. I would stay at this resort again in a heartbeat. The only drawback is that the shuttle bus ride is about 2 hrs from the airport. If you do not have a good shuttle bus driver, one who tells you about the areas you are driving through, the ride seems like eternity. Also, there are a ton of stray goats, horses and dogs roaming around the side of the road. If you are an animal lover like us, you're heart will be in your throat as you wait to hear the thud under the bus tires as these strays get VERY close to the road!!! We did see some animals which did not make it across the road, this was extremely sad coming from a country who treats our animals so humanely. Our housekeeper, Alicia, was amazing. She let us video her making towel animals on the beds. If you are interested in bringing them a little gift, they really appreciate Bath and Bodyworks things. From what they were telling me, they can't get it because it is so expensive. We actually had a few of the full size bottles in our luggage. We gladly unloaded it to them as we were over weight going over in our luggage. Also, you find yourself tipping every worker. 5 bucks at dinner, 5 bucks at breakfast. We tried just eating on the fly during the day, not sitting at a table so we didn't have to tip again.
1 out of 5
by A travelerfrom NY, United States

NOT UP TO RUI STANDARDS

Posted Nov 26, 2013
I WAS IN JAMAICA 11/21/2013. FROM THE TIME WE PULLED UP TO THE RESORT, I WAS DISAPPOINTED. WE WERE 4 IN OUR PARTY, CELEBRATING MY SON'S 21 ST BIRTHDAY. VERY DISAPPOINTING. I HAVE BEEN TO THE RIU IN COASTA RICA AND THE ONE IN PUNTA CANA....THIS WAS THE WORST. FOOD WAS NOT UP TO STANDARD, IT WAS NOT CLEAN, VERY RUN DOWN. JAMAICA IS A RIP OFF. WE STOPED BY THE ROAD SIDE TO GET SOMETHING TO EAT FROM THE AIRPORT AND PAID $14.00 USD FOR ONE LUNCH(JERK CHICKEN). SOMETHING I WOULD PAY $6.00 IN NY FOR. WHEN THE LADY TOLD ME $40 I ASKED IF THATS JAMAICAN MONEY???? Also hotel had very cheap liquor...
5 out of 5
by singhsfrom nj

ya men

Posted Nov 11, 2013
It was very nice experience. Everything was perfect. Flights hotel staff food beach party entertainment .we went even downtown excellent. 
5 out of 5
Recommended
by mpwaltefrom USA

Great everything

Posted Oct 8, 2013
The hotel was great food always something to do. The only advice I would give is the tours and taxi I could get everything for about half the price just talking with them. Next door to the hotel is a great restaurant worth checking out short walk on the beach. Spent a week there it was by far the best hotel in Ocho Rios.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JamROCK123from Brooklyn, NY

Vibrant vacation!

Posted Sep 12, 2013
I was at Riu Ocho Rios August 16 - 22 2013 and it was one of my most memorable vacations.  I stayed on the Deluxe side of the hotel where they have the larger rooms (suites) with a balcony which I didn't even use.  It's a very lively and entertaining resort. There was unlimited food which was delicious and a variety, unlimited liquor and great live entertainment. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beach is wonderful and spacious lined with coconut trees which they picked and you can drink right there. If you want peace and quite you can also find that..just stay away from the activities.  The resort is huge enough! There were a lot of Jamaicans visiting from all over; Canada, US, UK.  I enjoyed the jacuzzi and the sauna; played table tennis.  I had a great time and would highly recommend this resort!
4 out of 5
by Nick2edfrom Canton, Ohio

Beautiful Resort !!

Posted Aug 11, 2013
My husband and I stayed at this resort from July 21st to July 26th,2013.The staff was very frendly and worked their butts off to see that everything was perfect for us .The beach,pool and entertainment was amazing.Anyone that has visited this resort and has anything bad to say about it apparently does not appreciate perfection.I would highly recommend this resort when visiting Jamaica.Going back in 2014...( YAH MON )
1 out of 5
by heath09from Florida

Roach Motel

Posted Jul 27, 2013
About 30-40 of us stayed at this hotel from July 18-25 for my neice's wedding.  We all decided to stay here because it was close to wedding venue and on hotel's website, they proclaimed to be a 5 star hotel.  I was extremely dissapointed with front desk service and the overall condition of the hotel.  This hotel is by no means a 5 star hotel.  I'm from Florida and i could have gone to South Beach, spent less money and stay in a real 5 star hotel.  This hotel is equivalent to a 2 star hotel in the USA. The front desk check-in process was stressful and at 3:45pm when we arrived I was told I had to wait for 30 more minutes because the housekeeper was still cleaning room albeit check-in time is at 3pm.  After about 2 hrs., I was finally able to access my room but luggage hadn't arrived to my room yet.  I was told at check-in time that my luggage was going to be taken to my room which didn't happen until I called front desk and then had to walk back down to lobby to get someone to take luggage to room. When I walkef back to room,  my luggage was left outside door where everyone had access to my luggage. The food was mediocre and the majority of the employees were friendly.  The best food i ate was the jerk chicken at the jerk shack on beach.  The rooms are infested with roaches, ants and silver fish.  In my mother's room which was on the deluxe side, the air condition did not work correctly and the room was damp and had a moldy smell.  We contacted the front desk to have it fixed but that never happened.  Some of my family members were roomless until 9pm on check-in day and the front desk personnel had the audacity to say if they weren't checked out by 12pm they would be charged a fee. The beach and water is beautiful, however, the entertainment was not kids appropriate at times.  In my opinion, a lot of the poor customer service is more so upper management of the hotel and not the staff.  I will return to Jamaica but i will never stay at RIU Ocho Rios again, even if it was complimentary. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Deern090

Great Serviecs

Posted Jul 3, 2013
From the moment we arrived until we left we were greeted with smiling courteous faces!! The atmosphere is relaxing and inviting. If we didn't leave for excursions, staying there at the resort all 5 days had plenty of entertainment, drinks and food to keep us entertained!! 
4 out of 5
Recommended
by NeverEnufffrom NJ

Fabulous Food!

Posted Jun 7, 2013
We were very surprised at what a great experience we had with the resort food!  There was so much Jamaican food served every day, both in the restaurants & on the beach at the jerk hut. Note: don't bother with the specialty restaurants, the food is average & the buffets have much better variety.  Upon checking we were pleased to find out that we had been upgraded to a Junior suite.  Our room was clean but our air conditioner did not work so well. We called three different times for service but no one ever came to fix the problem. Our minibar was restocked regularly. The maids always kept our room immaculate. The beach is beautiful although there were a lot of cigarette butts in the sand. You can snorkel right by the seagrass and see plenty of fish.  Bring your own snorkel because if you want to borrow one from the resort you need to leave a cash deposit each time. The entertainment in the evening is pretty lame.  Some of the staff was very friendly and helpful, others not so much.  The bar served the same drinks every place you go, but you can ask each bartender what their specialty drink is.  The resort is really close to Dunns River Falls and Mystic Mountain zip lining and bobsledding.  There is a fabulous restaurant called Scotchie's right outside the property. Get a taxi to take you there for authentic jerk. If you want to buy any coffee or rum cream your best bet is to get your driver to take you to a local supermarket.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by cruzone1from Azusa, CA

Beautiful Beach!

Posted Jun 4, 2013
The hotel was beautiful. The food was good. The rooms could use some updating. I would suggest that you request a room that's not too far from the elevator. We were in room 2436 and the room closest to the elevator was 2401 which meant we had a LONG walk every time we needed to go to our room. Overall we had a great time at the hotel. The entertainment staff is unbelievable! Don't miss out on the Michael Jackson night if you see it on the calendar! The MJ performer was on point with his impression of Michael! And if you want decent seats...get there early!