Ratings based on 112 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Ohio

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Took my adult children for a long weekend. The resort is beautiful, the views are great, the grounds well-maintained. We loved the swimming beach and the jerk chicken at the grill. There is a lot of walking involved because of the size of the grounds. Get your pool towels early because they run out and don't replenish regularly during the day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Vacation March 2015.

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: The location, beaches, bars, cleanliness, and the food.
Cons: More towels in the rooms and some top shelf liquors at the bars.
Location: There are plenty of excursions like, Ocho Rios, Dunn River Fall, Dolphin Cove, Bob Marley Experience. etc.. Local restaurants, shopping
Our stay at the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica was great. My wife and I had an excellent time on our stay March 2015 and hope to return. We loved it. The staff was very pleasant, the food was delicious and the beaches was awesome, could use some more beach chairs during the busy seasons. We had a great time at the snack bar, Chris and the rest of the staff was awesome. We ate a lot, drank a lot, smoked it, relaxed on the beach, experienced the nude beach, and swam in the blue tropical waters. The party boat to Dunn River falls, Blue Lagoon tour, and the Bob Marley experience was great, a must do for everyone. Hope to return soon. Thanks, Sobie & Prea.
3 out of 5
by A travelerfrom Chicago

Relaxing and enjoyable getaway

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Large comfortable rooms. Open and inviting public areas. Beautiful beaches with comfortable and plentiful lounge chairs
Cons: Food and restaurants. Food was OK but not inspired. Reservations for speical dinner restaurants were VERY hard to get, seemingly on purpose.
Location: We took a reft trip and loved everything about it. It was interesting to see what the inner island was like once you left the beach.
We were blessed with perfect weather. Hotel, beaches,and grounds were beautiful. We took a bamboo raft trip down a rainforest river and really felt at one with the island. Captain of raft was interesting and informative. I would reccommend this trip to everyone.
2 out of 5
by Table4Twofrom Florida

First and Last Trip to Gran Bahia

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Jamaica is a beautiful country. It's such a shame that our experience at this resort did not match our expectations of a relaxing vacation in paradise. We did enjoy the beautiful beach (on the far side) and mountain views. The grounds are also very beautiful and well-kept. The resort is clearly showing wear, but we would've forgiven that had the staff been friendlier. They weren't necessarily rude, but more indifferent. there were a few exceptions, such as some of the wait staff in the Orchid buffet restaurant. The sales ladies always wore smiles, but we didn't want to be bothered with a sales pitch on vacation. Check-in was pretty unremarkable, but our issues started right away. Immediately after check-in, we called to request a new room when we discovered that our "view" was of a concrete slab. The sheets on the bed were also stained. We were told that the advantage of that room was the hot tub, to which we said no thanks (we are not fans of water-borne bacteria/disease). We were asked to check availability of a new room in the morning, so we sprayed the sheets with our travel can of Lysol and slept in an unstained corner of the bed. We were accommodated the next day, but the new room had damp sheets and bedding, which smelled of mildew. The smell was not slight or faint either. We requested new sheets when we came in from dinner that night and changed them ourselves. The food was okay and so was the entertainment. We had dinner at Mikado one night, which was above average. I enjoyed the Jamaican heritage dance show on Saturday night. Still, neither my boyfriend nor I felt like we were on vacation. We had a great time spotting cool sea life and swimming in the ocean (which is why we gave it 2 stars), but our experience wasn't so great back at the ranch. If I could sum up the feeling, I'd say we felt like the resort staff's pesky house guests. I'm told that we Americans set too high a bar, but I don't think clean sheets and friendly service is too much to ask. Maybe it was the color of our bracelets? Nonetheless, we will visit Jamaica again but we will be staying elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Charlettfrom Toronto, ON, Canada

Absolutely Stunning!!

Posted Sep 22, 2013
My husband and I went to this resort for a one week vacation and to attend a wedding. The lobby is breath-taking and the grounds are stunning, a 5 star resort all the way!! The staff are friendly and try to make you happy at all times. The golden club staff are the best and resolve any issues immediately. We are planning to make this resort our home resort in all future Jamaica travel. The suites are also equally beautiful and very clean. The food is the best on the island, be prepared to gain weight!!
3 out of 5
by sheree703from Pennsylvania

Okay

Posted May 17, 2013
My family and I love to go to Jamaica for our vacation each year. We've been to several different resorts around the island. This is by far our least favorite. While the rooms are nice and the grounds are kept clean, the staff leaves a lot to be desired. The people are not friendly at all. The other resorts we've visited always made is feel welcome and catered to. The staff here never talked to us our entire stay. They try not to make eye contact, and when they do, they still do not smile or say "hello". This is not what we're used to in Jamaica. We were expecting the usual smiling friendly faces. My family and I made the most of our vacation. We enjoyed the weather, the water, and each other, but we will not be coming back to this resort again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by kramer1

Jamaica vacation

Posted Dec 12, 2012
This is a huge all inclusive resort. The grounds are well maintained and clean. The variety and quality of food at the buffet is excellent. My room was clean no bugs of any kind. There is a wide variety of activities and nightly entertainment to enjoy. You will not be bored guaranteed. Get out of the resort and see the island. Do the Blue Mountain bike tour and don't miss Dunns River Falls. Bob Marley museum tour was both educational and fun. The hotel is located between Montego Bay and Ocho Rios. I will definitely be back! Ya Mon!
4 out of 5
by anglina1952from California, USA

yes

Posted Dec 6, 2012
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Poor breakfast
the beach was nasty,the food was alway's the same and not good
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Azfamfrom Clifton, AZ, USA

Excellent Vacation

Posted Dec 5, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants
This was my wife and I first time to Jamaica and we loved the country. Great culture and beautiful country. I feel like the Gran Bahia met all our expectations and one day in the future I would hope to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by SE7ENINJAMROCKfrom Kansas City, MO

Never before...

Posted Sep 1, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
...have I experienced such a glut of help, service, and excellent amenities! This place had everything I could have thought of and then some!!! Seriously, I'm normally notorious for finding something wrong w/ a place and then going on about it, but this place had my jaw on the floor from the first sight to the last!!! The only thing I would change is the internet service which you can only get for free from the lobby... but if you're on vacation, why the heck would you be on the internet??? (Although, I did need to send a couple emails so family would know I was safe.)