Ratings based on 109 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by Table4Two from Florida

First and Last Trip to Gran Bahia

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Jamaica is a beautiful country. It's such a shame that our experience at this resort did not match our expectations of a relaxing vacation in paradise. We did enjoy the beautiful beach (on the far side) and mountain views. The grounds are also very beautiful and well-kept. The resort is clearly showing wear, but we would've forgiven that had the staff been friendlier. They weren't necessarily rude, but more indifferent. there were a few exceptions, such as some of the wait staff in the Orchid buffet restaurant. The sales ladies always wore smiles, but we didn't want to be bothered with a sales pitch on vacation. Check-in was pretty unremarkable, but our issues started right away. Immediately after check-in, we called to request a new room when we discovered that our "view" was of a concrete slab. The sheets on the bed were also stained. We were told that the advantage of that room was the hot tub, to which we said no thanks (we are not fans of water-borne bacteria/disease). We were asked to check availability of a new room in the morning, so we sprayed the sheets with our travel can of Lysol and slept in an unstained corner of the bed. We were accommodated the next day, but the new room had damp sheets and bedding, which smelled of mildew. The smell was not slight or faint either. We requested new sheets when we came in from dinner that night and changed them ourselves. The food was okay and so was the entertainment. We had dinner at Mikado one night, which was above average. I enjoyed the Jamaican heritage dance show on Saturday night. Still, neither my boyfriend nor I felt like we were on vacation. We had a great time spotting cool sea life and swimming in the ocean (which is why we gave it 2 stars), but our experience wasn't so great back at the ranch. If I could sum up the feeling, I'd say we felt like the resort staff's pesky house guests. I'm told that we Americans set too high a bar, but I don't think clean sheets and friendly service is too much to ask. Maybe it was the color of our bracelets? Nonetheless, we will visit Jamaica again but we will be staying elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Charlett from Toronto, ON, Canada

Absolutely Stunning!!

Posted Sep 22, 2013
My husband and I went to this resort for a one week vacation and to attend a wedding. The lobby is breath-taking and the grounds are stunning, a 5 star resort all the way!! The staff are friendly and try to make you happy at all times. The golden club staff are the best and resolve any issues immediately. We are planning to make this resort our home resort in all future Jamaica travel. The suites are also equally beautiful and very clean. The food is the best on the island, be prepared to gain weight!!
3 out of 5
by sheree703 from Pennsylvania

Okay

Posted May 17, 2013
My family and I love to go to Jamaica for our vacation each year. We've been to several different resorts around the island. This is by far our least favorite. While the rooms are nice and the grounds are kept clean, the staff leaves a lot to be desired. The people are not friendly at all. The other resorts we've visited always made is feel welcome and catered to. The staff here never talked to us our entire stay. They try not to make eye contact, and when they do, they still do not smile or say "hello". This is not what we're used to in Jamaica. We were expecting the usual smiling friendly faces. My family and I made the most of our vacation. We enjoyed the weather, the water, and each other, but we will not be coming back to this resort again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by kramer1

Jamaica vacation

Posted Dec 12, 2012
This is a huge all inclusive resort. The grounds are well maintained and clean. The variety and quality of food at the buffet is excellent. My room was clean no bugs of any kind. There is a wide variety of activities and nightly entertainment to enjoy. You will not be bored guaranteed. Get out of the resort and see the island. Do the Blue Mountain bike tour and don't miss Dunns River Falls. Bob Marley museum tour was both educational and fun. The hotel is located between Montego Bay and Ocho Rios. I will definitely be back! Ya Mon!
4 out of 5
by anglina1952 from California, USA

yes

Posted Dec 6, 2012
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Poor breakfast
the beach was nasty,the food was alway's the same and not good
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Azfam from Clifton, AZ, USA

Excellent Vacation

Posted Dec 5, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants
This was my wife and I first time to Jamaica and we loved the country. Great culture and beautiful country. I feel like the Gran Bahia met all our expectations and one day in the future I would hope to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by SE7ENINJAMROCK from Kansas City, MO

Never before...

Posted Sep 1, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
...have I experienced such a glut of help, service, and excellent amenities! This place had everything I could have thought of and then some!!! Seriously, I'm normally notorious for finding something wrong w/ a place and then going on about it, but this place had my jaw on the floor from the first sight to the last!!! The only thing I would change is the internet service which you can only get for free from the lobby... but if you're on vacation, why the heck would you be on the internet??? (Although, I did need to send a couple emails so family would know I was safe.)
3 out of 5
Recommended
by RoRoluvs2trvl from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Just ok... nothing more

Posted Aug 30, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet, dirty hallways
With a name like Grand Bahia Principle I was expecting something..... well... more. The hotel rooms themselve are nice. Just ok. Nothing spectacular. The hallways to the rooms are flat out disgusting. The carpet is old and dirty and smells, and always seemed to be needing some vacuuming. And the cleaning staff never gave us face towels?? We always had to ask for them.. and sometimes never got them. The highlight of the hotel are the grounds which are kept up quite nicely. All the common areas are nice and clean. I guess I really can't complain for the reasonable price. And thank goodness for all-inclusive. The staff in friendly.. a little too friendly. But they made things fun. The restaurant Orchid was good. The buffets were always very nicely laid out and clean. We didn't care too much for Mikado of the Grill. Oh, they like to advertise FREE-Wifi but its only in ONE area, the lounge. So if you like having to leave your room for "free wifi" its a good deal. Otherwise they will trick you into buying a internet card for $30 (like we did) which worked off and on. Works for 5 minutes, then you have to sign in all over again. Not worth it. But all in all I"d say the hotel is worth the money.
1 out of 5
by TerryUrsula

We just checked into the hotel on august 5th. we are here for 6 days. Nothing is what we expected.

Posted Aug 5, 2012
Pros: Free Internet
Cons: Nothing close, Noisy, Poor breakfast, poor food poor service unfriendly wait staff
The food at the buffet was tasteless. The service was worse than "poor". Me and my husband have traveled to many places, and this by far has already been one of the worst experiences ever. We were leaving our room this evening and heard another visitor complaining because the maid wouldn't leave towels. What's up with that Gran Bahia? The grounds here are beautiful, if the service matched this would be an incredible vacation. I guess since we are here for another 5 days we will make the best of it. One more thing. We paid for the "Best Suite", and ended up with a pool view instead of ocean front. Paying for the GOLDEN STATUS isn't worth the $$$ Hope this review helps someone. This is the first BAD review I've ever written.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lowry from Fl

Very welcome feeling at this hotel my third visit great place!

Posted Aug 2, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet
Had a great time at Bahia principal hotel would recommend to friends and family any time.looking to visit next summer or sooner great beach friendly staff.....