Ratings based on 9 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
by KCoutNaboutfrom I am Canadian living in Long Island New York

The service went above and beyond the usual hotel!

Posted Nov 30, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, great views from the restaurant
The staff were very sweet and kind. Although I speak Spanish they spoke in English to me. That would be very welcoming to someone who did not have a grasp of the language. At one point I was having difficulty accessing the the internet. I went to the front desk explained my problem and within 20 min. a service man was at my door and resolved my problem.. Bottom line...if you want to feel a little bit like royalty for at least a day then stay at the Gran Hotel.....It was truly an experience worth having.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by PhilKuofrom Taiwan

In good historic location with good service

Posted May 9, 2012
Pros: Free Internet
The serice is standard and hotel is very classical and beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by qdiggerfrom Small town, Ohio

Really nice hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: the accoridan player on the street was annoying.
It is a really great hotel although when I checked in, the electricity was out which was around 3:00 PM, it was out until at least 7:00 PM. Luckily I had plans so I was not in the hotel most of that time. I have to say that the hotel was working on the problem and has battery-powered lighting up in the halls to insure safety. It is by far the nicest hotel I have stayed in Mexico City and would use again no doubt. Beautiful lobby and bathrooms.
2 out of 5
by ryanjfrom LA

Nice old Colonial Hotel with a great location but...

Posted Feb 4, 2011
Pros: location
Cons: Noisy, Poor breakfast
Man its noisy. The location in this case is a plus and a negative issue here. The proximity to "El Zocalo" makes it a nice hotel for tourists but the noisy downtown (with loud music from shops in the morning and loud music from nightclubs at night) makes this Hotel a horrible place to rest.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

fabulous!!!

Posted Oct 25, 2010
Stayed at hotel for 3nights. Was there when the Soap was being tape but I was on the 4th floor so I did not hear any type of band either Rock nor Mariachi.... There was alot of people in the foyer starting early in the am to late pm but that was for 1 night only! The other nights we enjoyed cocktails and listening to the piano ...I am planning on staying there again....My only complain was that room service would not answer their phone after 8pm... I would have to contact operator and then they would connect me right thru to them!s
5 out of 5
by A traveler

fabulous!!!

Posted Oct 25, 2010
Stayed at hotel for 3nights. Was there when the Soap was being tape but I was on the 4th floor so I did not hear any type of band either Rock nor Mariachi.... There was alot of people in the foyer starting early in the am to late pm but that was for 1 night only! The other nights we enjoyed cocktails and listening to the piano ...I am planning on staying there again....My only complain was that room service would not answer their phone after 8pm... I would have to contact operator and then they would connect me right thru to them!s
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Nice Hotel, but Beware

Posted Oct 17, 2010
This hotel is beautifully appointed. My room was very spacious and very clean. The staff was friendly and attentive (to a point ... see below). The wait staff in the breakfast restaurant were a little slow. My room was extremely quiet for being in the heart of the historic center (to a point ... se below). Caution! Because of this hotel's beauty and location, it appears to be a popular location for many activities. During my four-day stay there were activities taking place almost daily which restricted you from parts of the hotel and ambience that you thought you were paying for. On my last night there, they were filming a Mexican night-time soap opera. After the filming was over, they had a party for the crew and actors in a conference room (not a ballroom) DIRECTLY under my room. The party included a very loud rock and roll band that did not allow for any sleep. We complained to the front dest at 11:30pm who said it should have ended at 11:00pm. At midnight, the band ended and we had silence for about 10 minutes until a loud mariachi band started. After several calls to the frontdesk we were told that he could do nothing. We called the police and finally the party ended at 1:15am. The hotel informed us that this was normal in Mexico and our cab driver confirmed that they are constant hosts to large, loud parties. Unbelievable disrespect for their paying guests.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

A Beautiful Time

Posted Jun 9, 2010
One of the most beautiful hotels we have stayed in. It is like a boutique version of The Ritz Carlton; it has the feel of the 1920s. The attentiveness and superior level of customer service by the hotel staff exceeded our expectations. The GM is extremely gracious and went to great lengths to assure our stay was to our utmost satisfaction. The Terraza restaurant has phenomenal views of the Zocalo. Everything was excellent. Thank you.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Gran Hotel in Mexico City Center

Posted Nov 11, 2007
This Hotel is stunning. The Tiffany glass ceiling, the 1890 elevator, the Art Deco iron work all make for a feeling of elegance. Rooms are large and nicely furnished. The courtyard side was extremely quiet. Breakfast in the dining room was inexpensive, the service was very good, and the view is of the Zocolo, the enormous square in the center of the City. \nSubway stations within a few minutes walk made getting around easy. For 20 cents you can go any where in the city. \nWe plan on returning soon.