Ratings based on 121 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from M

Amazing Hotel/Resort !!!

Posted Jul 26, 2015
My wife and I stayed in the Ocean Tower for 7 nights and it was amazing! The "Heavenly" bed was very comfortable and the room was newly renovated and beautiful! A/C and balcony were great and TV was very nice! Beautiful pool and lobby/entrance with waterfalls and Flamingos, Koi Fish, and Swan. Ice cold fruit infused water awaits you in the lobby along with greeters offering shell necklaces and fragrant flowers! Pool and beach are amazing as was the service poolside. We will stay here again without a doubt! Perfect location next to Whaler's Village and 5 min walk to Black Rock where we went snorkeling and saw 2 Giant Sea Turtles!! This really felt like a 5 Star Resort!!!
2 out of 5
by A traveler from calif

Resorts on the beach

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: The beach
Cons: The rooms
Location: Lahina....shopping
Was so excited to go to Maui and stay at the Westin, had stayed there years before so I thought I knew what to expect.....I was wrong! Overall the property is nice but if you book a garden view really what you are getting is a view of the parking lot and a much smaller room. Traveling with two teenager and having two dbl bed was not relaxing or comfortable! The heavenly bed did not feel heavenly, in fact they felt worn out, the hotel restaurant relish, food mediocre with $$$$ price tag. The swimming pool was just to crowded, couldn't enjoy that. The only positive staying there was the beach! Spent most of our time there. Sadly I will not recommend this hotel and probably not return.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Beautiful view spoiled by the housekeeping staff.

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: The room service staff was friendly and attentive. The food was delicious. The front desk staff was professional and helpful. Amazing view!!
Cons: It would help if they would clean the rooms and leave coffee for the guests.
Location: We could see the whales from the room. There is a great shopping mall next door.
When we arrived we had to wait 3 1/2 hours to get into our room. They told us the housekeeping staff had to clean the room. The next morning I left a tip for the maid along with a request for extra coffee. She took the tip and did not leave ANY coffee at all. I called the front desk and they sent a runner with extra coffee. The following day the maid cleaned but left only decaf coffee. I don't drink decaf. We wanted to spend most of our time in the room. From our room we could see the beach and the ocean. We could even see whales swimming from our room. We left when we thought the housekeeping staff would arrive. The day before checkout we constantly left only to return and find that our room had been skipped. At 4:30 I called and asked that they send someone to clean since we had dinner reservations at 5:00. We returned at 6 to find the room had not been cleaned. I went down to the front desk and after a phone call to housekeeping the gentleman assured me they were on their way. We waited in the lobby and returned at 6:30 to find the room had not been cleaned. The room wasn't cleaned until 7 pm. It was cleaned but there was no coffee, no bottled water, and no replacement robe for the one that was taken. Instead of enjoying our view on the last day we dealt with the housekeeping staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from California

Beautiful view.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location. Great view right on the beach!
Cons: In exchange for our beautiful ocean view on the 11th floor, we did have to endure Luau music or loud speakers from special events venue every night.
Location: Water sports, adjacent to great restaurants, upscale mall with good selection of merchandise.
Second honeymoon perfect. Beautiful property. We enjoyed their restaurants, shopping nearby and being directly on the beach.
3 out of 5
by Swimmer1000 from Santa Barbara, CA

Nice

Posted Nov 13, 2013
The hotel was nice, the rooms clean and comfortable and customer service nice. My only problem is for as nice as the hotel is, having to fight for a lounge chair by the pool was not pleasant at all. Lots of rude people staking claims on lounge chairs. Never seen such horrible behavior on any of my vacations before. The hotel needs to add enough lounge chairs for hotel customers by the pool. This would fix the issue.
2 out of 5
by Clevermac

Under going major construction

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Had I known this hotel was under major construction I would have not stayed here. Have stayed many times in the past. The manager Jeff was not sympathetic at all. He was a jerk about the construction noise and offered us no other choice but to move to a room with double beds in the same building????
5 out of 5
by climbingandgambling from Dallas, TX, USA

5 Star for Management: Needs extensive updating

Posted Jan 8, 2013
Pros: family friendly, pool, beach access, wildlife, location, management response to problem with stay
Cons: Noisy, needs updating, value
My wife and I stayed at the Westin over the week of Christmas. The hotel was full of families and is in a great location. The pool was spectacular and the access to the beach was perfect. The hotel is a bit dated and needs to be updated. However, if you are not going to be in your room that much, then the pool and other amenities are fantastic. There are a ton of birds in the area and it makes for an impressive concert at dusk (I enjoyed this, some people may find it loud, but it was impressive). There is a coral reef directly off the beach (great fish). And the whale watching sunset cruise left from the Westin (highly recommend this during the Whale watching season). We had a couple of problems with our stay. The response to our complaints and issues were well received and properly handled by management. One issue was handled while we were still on property (noise complaint from the people staying above us, handled in an expedited manner), and another was handled after we returned home (a problem that killed half a day of our trip). Both the hotel management and the SPG management were prompt with their responses and were appropriate for our complaints. I feel that my concerns were well addressed and the hotel and SPG fully resolved the matter. Thus my overall rating for the management is 5. The rating for location and pool area is 5. In need of updates and cleanliness is a 3 (we paid a premium to stay over the holiday and the cleanliness did not match what we should have received).
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Poppatravel from San Diego, CA, USA

For being a 5 star hotel, it needs improvements.

Posted Jan 3, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: Noisy
The hotel is a very nice hotel and located in a good place in La Haina. They charged us $250 extra for a fee that we were not aware of because it was a “resort fee.” This was supposed to be for water, a tote bag they provide us with and for a picture. The room has a lot of qualities when you walk in. Lots of water, birds, fish and so forth. Very relaxing to see. The pool was clean and offered a lot of amenities for both adult and children. Disliked the fact that they only have one restaurant, the food was mediocre and overpriced. $27 for a buffet that offers mediocre food. There was not a lot of selection. The snack bar is only opened until 2pm or 3pm I believe and you are paying about $4 for a cup of coffee and for $7 for a sandwich. I suggest you go drive about a mile or two down to the left of the hotel on Honoapiilani Rd and go to Java Jazz, and the other restaurants they have around the area. It’s not walking distance so if you have a car it would be much better. Better value for your buck. Now let’s get to the rooms. There was a lot of water damage on the doors, ants and other little insects in the room. We called to let management know and they moved us rooms but it was the same thing. The robes they offer in the rooms had stains on them. Did not know if they were washed or not but it was disgusting. Bottom line is that for the price I paid I was not too happy with the quality of the hotel. If you really don’t care about the rooms and cleanness then this place is the place for you. Employees were very nice and very helpful. The guys at the towel counter all they would do is be online watching sports and were chilled. The bartenders were also very nice and kept a conversation going.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by summer66 from Chicago, IL

Great Hotel ! Would stay again!

Posted Sep 12, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
Great Hotel..Our first room wasn't so nice so we talked with the Hotel Manager and she upgraded us to one of their better rooms. This room was fantastic. Awesome views...Awesome cleanliness and Room Service was great. Word of Advise....if you are on a budget, try not to eat at the hotel restaurants. They are a little pricey! Aloha
5 out of 5
Recommended
by luvWestin from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Family friendy

Posted Aug 10, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, clean
My family and i stayed here and it was amazing.! We have stayed among the hawaiian islanfds before but the Westin stood out. It was beautiful even though rooms looking onto the mountians were breath taking. I would recomend the buffet it is expensive but 100% worth it. Also if you stay there check out the Whalers Village next door we ate breakfast lunch and dinner there! There is a McDonalds and some other places but best of all "Nikki's" they make AMAZING food they Maui ribs were to die for! and yogurt land right across was amazing went every day. Going for a walk along the beach was a favorite the view was amazing and lots of nice picture spots. The pools are so clean and the slide is a blast the employees are so kind and thoughtful. I hope some of you go here and see for yourself but i garentee you wont be dissapointed.