Ratings based on 117 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by Swimmer1000from Santa Barbara, CA

Nice

Posted Nov 13, 2013
The hotel was nice, the rooms clean and comfortable and customer service nice. My only problem is for as nice as the hotel is, having to fight for a lounge chair by the pool was not pleasant at all. Lots of rude people staking claims on lounge chairs. Never seen such horrible behavior on any of my vacations before. The hotel needs to add enough lounge chairs for hotel customers by the pool. This would fix the issue.
2 out of 5
by Clevermac

Under going major construction

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Had I known this hotel was under major construction I would have not stayed here. Have stayed many times in the past. The manager Jeff was not sympathetic at all. He was a jerk about the construction noise and offered us no other choice but to move to a room with double beds in the same building????
5 out of 5
by climbingandgamblingfrom Dallas, TX, USA

5 Star for Management: Needs extensive updating

Posted Jan 8, 2013
Pros: family friendly, pool, beach access, wildlife, location, management response to problem with stay
Cons: Noisy, needs updating, value
My wife and I stayed at the Westin over the week of Christmas. The hotel was full of families and is in a great location. The pool was spectacular and the access to the beach was perfect. The hotel is a bit dated and needs to be updated. However, if you are not going to be in your room that much, then the pool and other amenities are fantastic. There are a ton of birds in the area and it makes for an impressive concert at dusk (I enjoyed this, some people may find it loud, but it was impressive). There is a coral reef directly off the beach (great fish). And the whale watching sunset cruise left from the Westin (highly recommend this during the Whale watching season). We had a couple of problems with our stay. The response to our complaints and issues were well received and properly handled by management. One issue was handled while we were still on property (noise complaint from the people staying above us, handled in an expedited manner), and another was handled after we returned home (a problem that killed half a day of our trip). Both the hotel management and the SPG management were prompt with their responses and were appropriate for our complaints. I feel that my concerns were well addressed and the hotel and SPG fully resolved the matter. Thus my overall rating for the management is 5. The rating for location and pool area is 5. In need of updates and cleanliness is a 3 (we paid a premium to stay over the holiday and the cleanliness did not match what we should have received).
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Poppatravelfrom San Diego, CA, USA

For being a 5 star hotel, it needs improvements.

Posted Jan 3, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: Noisy
The hotel is a very nice hotel and located in a good place in La Haina. They charged us $250 extra for a fee that we were not aware of because it was a “resort fee.” This was supposed to be for water, a tote bag they provide us with and for a picture. The room has a lot of qualities when you walk in. Lots of water, birds, fish and so forth. Very relaxing to see. The pool was clean and offered a lot of amenities for both adult and children. Disliked the fact that they only have one restaurant, the food was mediocre and overpriced. $27 for a buffet that offers mediocre food. There was not a lot of selection. The snack bar is only opened until 2pm or 3pm I believe and you are paying about $4 for a cup of coffee and for $7 for a sandwich. I suggest you go drive about a mile or two down to the left of the hotel on Honoapiilani Rd and go to Java Jazz, and the other restaurants they have around the area. It’s not walking distance so if you have a car it would be much better. Better value for your buck. Now let’s get to the rooms. There was a lot of water damage on the doors, ants and other little insects in the room. We called to let management know and they moved us rooms but it was the same thing. The robes they offer in the rooms had stains on them. Did not know if they were washed or not but it was disgusting. Bottom line is that for the price I paid I was not too happy with the quality of the hotel. If you really don’t care about the rooms and cleanness then this place is the place for you. Employees were very nice and very helpful. The guys at the towel counter all they would do is be online watching sports and were chilled. The bartenders were also very nice and kept a conversation going.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by summer66from Chicago, IL

Great Hotel ! Would stay again!

Posted Sep 12, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
Great Hotel..Our first room wasn't so nice so we talked with the Hotel Manager and she upgraded us to one of their better rooms. This room was fantastic. Awesome views...Awesome cleanliness and Room Service was great. Word of Advise....if you are on a budget, try not to eat at the hotel restaurants. They are a little pricey! Aloha
5 out of 5
Recommended
by luvWestinfrom Vancouver, BC, Canada

Family friendy

Posted Aug 10, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, clean
My family and i stayed here and it was amazing.! We have stayed among the hawaiian islanfds before but the Westin stood out. It was beautiful even though rooms looking onto the mountians were breath taking. I would recomend the buffet it is expensive but 100% worth it. Also if you stay there check out the Whalers Village next door we ate breakfast lunch and dinner there! There is a McDonalds and some other places but best of all "Nikki's" they make AMAZING food they Maui ribs were to die for! and yogurt land right across was amazing went every day. Going for a walk along the beach was a favorite the view was amazing and lots of nice picture spots. The pools are so clean and the slide is a blast the employees are so kind and thoughtful. I hope some of you go here and see for yourself but i garentee you wont be dissapointed.
2 out of 5
by FLTraveler513from Florida, USA

SO overcrowded!!

Posted Aug 8, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, self-parking, great concierge
Cons: Noisy, crowded
We just returned from visiting the Westin in Maui for 7 nights. We couldn't believe how overcrowded it was!!! Every morning all the cars in the parking lot had been blocked by double parking because there aren't enough spaces. There were car alarms constantly going off in the mornings because people could not find their cars or remember where they parked. (We had a "mountain view" room on the 2nd floor and couldn't see anything but the parking lot and a huge tree and we were right next to the elevator that was constantly "dinging." Thankfully, they moved us to the 8th floor away from the elevator after one night.) We chose the Westin because of the pool(s) but that turned out to be the WORST experience of our entire trip!! All of the pools are extremely crowded and it's impossible to find a chair because everyone goes down to "reserve" their spaces for the day so early. Every time we were lucky enough to get a space at the "adult pool" there were kids swimming in it. Maui is beautiful but we will definitely be staying somewhere else next time!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Julestravelingfrom Sydney NSW, Australia

Great location and right next to Whalers Village. Beautiful backdrop facing the beach with amazing sunsets

Posted Jul 14, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: Poor breakfast
Hotel was nice. The king size heavenly bed was a bonus. We were given a complimentary bottle of champagne for celebrating our one year wedding anniversary which was nice considering the hotel is quite expensive. Breakfast was also expensive considering we had buy one get one free vouchers for the full buffet. This was US$40. So if we didn't have the vouchers it would of been $80. Ridiculous. Resort does not ave a swim up pool bar however they offer drink and food service which is good. Pools are great ESP for kids. Only one smaller adults pool, however need to get your pool chairs early as alot of people place their towels in them and don't even use them as they are down at the beach. The hotel should have a time limit of guests reservings the chairs as plenty of guests would walk around asking if they were taken and not being able to use them was frustrating to see especially when there are limited numbers. Oh I head that you can dine at the Sheraton down the beach (approx 1km walk) and it is better. We did not realestate this till our last day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by wrywrtfrom VA

Hotel was beautiful, peaceful, clean

Posted Jul 13, 2012
Pros: Quiet
Cons: No free Internet, far from the airport
We went just before the season started on june22 and that may be why it was so peaceful. Beach was close and clean. The shopping center was nearby though we didn't shop there. We took their shuttle to Lahina for dinner most days. I loved shopping for memorabilia at lahina. The trips are costly- Road to Hana, to the park, so you might want to rent a car. The Bf buffet was good but pricey at @28 per person but everything is costly in Hawaii. be prepared for that. The airport is far away but we used the speedy shuttle and it was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
by travelstephanielouise

Increcible location, amazing bed, overall happy

Posted Jun 21, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet, beautiful grounds
Location outstanding. Beds incredible. Pools wonderful. Restaurants, very good especially the breakfast buffet. Spa, small but nice. Beach PERFECT