Ratings based on 237 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom B

Had fun but had issues

Posted May 4, 2015
No AC the first 6 days. Fire alarm at 1 am with THREE all is clear messages afterward, spaced apart. Our bedroom door had to stay open due to heat and we were the room directly above the entrance and luau so we heard that noise for much of the night. Hotel gave us a fan to use. No ice on our floor, because machines went out, but ice chests on other floors. Hotel gave free breakfast and parking to make up for the trouble, but only after I asked, three days into our trip. Movies in room are $16-18 apiece. Breakfasts were pretty good, nothing special, Variety marginally good. great exersize classes!!! That part was awesome! Beautiful beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom ohio

Very happy

Posted Mar 27, 2015
We had an ocean front room the view was breath taking our room was comfortable and very clean. I would stay there again in a split second.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Washington DC

Wonderful Location and Excellent Facilities.

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Location and facilities, both were excellent.
Cons: Train the staff, particularly in the Reception and Bell desk.
Location: By the beach, near enough to shopping malls and facilitative arrangement - transportation to shops and near-by locations.
The hotel is well situated and quite modern. A more friendly reception staff (including the Bell desk) could have made the experience totally untarnished. We enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
by A travelerfrom Oregon

The first room was unacceptable.

Posted Mar 25, 2015
I'm not sure if it was because we booked through Travelocity but when we checked in they put us on the third floor overlooking the roof. That would not have been so bad but on the roof, right outside our room, was a large satalite mounted to the roof and, even worse, a very large piece of equipment sitting on the roof. That is all we could see from our room. I complained and we eventually got moved to a room with a view but they charged us an additional $125 per day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A travelerfrom Michigan

Large room with great view of the beach.

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Open & airy. Nice grounds & walkway to nearby hotels/beaches.
Cons: Just the above comment.
Location: Great location to shopping, beaches, restaurants.
On the downside, we asked for the burned out light bulb over the sink to be replaced. It was never replaced, had to use the full length mirror by the door to put on make-up, which was inconvenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Beautiful resort

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Our stay was very nice, we stayed in the cottages and would stay there again!
2 out of 5
by A travelerfrom San Diego

Bring a toilet plunger and lots of money

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: The staff was great. They were all very friendly.
Cons: Prices, drinks, food, pool, rooms, internet, handicap access, décor, ice, entertainment, maintenance, poolside service, all need improvement
Location: Maui is always great and has many things to do.
The staff is wonderful and the landscaping is beautiful, but this hotel is very tired and needs to be seriously upgraded. The old air style conditioner was rusted; the ceiling above the terrace needed repair; the toilet backed up twice; the general condition of the cottage was very poor for the price paid. The bar served the worst Mai Tai I ever tasted. It was worse than an airplane Mai Tai. At $13 each they could afford to provide better drinks. They hit you with extra costs every turn you make, such as $15 for valet parking or $40 for a chaise lounge with shade. The pools were old style without any modern features. There was no waiter service in the pool areas. Food was also overpriced and terrible quality. The resort is spread out so be prepared to walk a lot to everything. The Luau was fair except for the Master of Ceremonies. He was like a very poor imitation of a 1950's Las Vegas lounge act. He was so bad, it was almost amusing. If you need the internet choose another hotel. The WiFi was terrible. It was unavailable frequently without adequate IT help. I could not connect for the first 24+ hours I was in the hotel, and then it would be down at least once a day. Don't waste your money on this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by wilson22from Lincoln, IL

Work in Process

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Overall the resort was nice with great beaches and pools.  Many of the cottages are being updated however we got one that had not yet been updated and the bathroom was pretty bad.  The lobby was nice and renovated and we were told people who were staying in the hotel rooms that they were nice and renovated.  Some of the wait staff in the restaurant could have been a bit friendlier and more attentive to their customers.  
4 out of 5
Recommended
by CeeJay73from California

A Gem

Posted Oct 25, 2013
My wife and I celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary and decided to stay in this resort. Let me just say that I think we have found the place we will stay anytime we visit Maui.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ILoveWestMauifrom Virginia

AWESOME!!!!

Posted Oct 23, 2013
An awesome stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort. The staff was so very friendly and helpful. The restaurant on the premises had some delicious entrees to choose from. Not to mention the atmosphere.  OMG!!