Ratings based on 79 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
by hpala from Huntington Beach, CA

Perfect for us and many like us

Posted Oct 22, 2013
If you are looking for an affordable, comfortable condo in Lahaina town, this is the place. It's been highly upgraded from the old Maui Islander days. The "condo makeover" with the in-room washer dryer, full small kitchen, and great bathroom and shower is very nice and a wonderful surprise for us. If you are like us and want to hit the water and sports activities, sightseeing and maybe some shopping and dining in Lahaina, this place is perfect. If you want to watch a beautiful view from your room while drinking cocktails all day, go somewhere else. No view here! Just a comfortable room to come back to after surfing or snorkeling. Throw your towels and bathing suits in the dryer, cook a quick lunch and jam out again, or jump into the very nice large saltwater pool to cool off. Easy walking distance to all of Lahaina, including all the great shops and restaurants. No worries about trying to find a place to park, which is a major hassle in that town. They do charge $15/ day for that privilege but so do most other places and the convenience is great. Like I said, this place is very convenient for people who want to get out and do a lot of activities. It's lousy for people who want to hole up in a fancy hotel room with a beautiful ocean view. Don't just look at the ocean, go get in it!   Oh yeah, they have free high speed wired internet with cables. So bring a laptop you can plug in if you want internet, or have a broadband cellular connection because the wireless is limited. They also have two nice but smallish TV's with cable, but we hardly even turned them on. Watch TV on a one week trip to Maui???   Also, no daily maid service unless you pay extra but do you change your sheets everyday at home??? I prefer to be left alone with no strangers coming into the room everyday. We love Maui and Lahaina every time we go and the upgraded Aina Nalu was a very pleasant surprise.
1 out of 5
by OOOWhyme from Kauai, HI, USA

Don't Bother!

Posted Feb 14, 2013
Pros: convenience to lahaina
Cons: Noisy, expensive for what you get
You pay for $15 per day parking. They want to extort $20 for cleaning the room The toilet paper is so thin you can read a newspaper through it. The shower water each morning is the temperature of Hamster Urine. The shower floor was slippery. The light over the vanity is dim enough for a candlelit dinner... not bright enough to see in the mirror to shave. Our view was to the parking lot, blocked by a large electrical box. If you want to risk staying here, make sure you ask for a second story room, because whenever someone walks or rolls something along the walkways above you, it sounds like feeding time at Alcatraz. If you don't you'll be put in a ground floor "Suite", and the receptionist will disavow any knowledge of your reservation. Be also prepared for the families of wolves hanging out in front of or near your door, yelling, screaming, and just plain having a noisy good time!
2 out of 5
by lovemaui22

This hotel do not make me feel welcome

Posted Nov 6, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: No free Internet, Noisy, Poor breakfast
I spent my maui vacation in 3 hotels, including this one. The first 2 were great in terms of hospitality and room quality. When I came here, I felt I did something wrong after the recepcionist was really rude to me. Pool broken and no free parking. Definitely many more options in Maui. Do not stay here.
4 out of 5
by lovemaui22

Rude staff

Posted Oct 23, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
Cons: no breakfast, smelly rooms
average hotel, rude staff. Good thing they have free internet but WIRED. So my ipad did not work in the room, i had to go to the lobby for it. No elevator so I crack my back try to bring it upstairs. Service wont come unless you call. No free parking. You will pay 15 dollars per day. There is an parking lot 1 block away at 12 dollars per day. 2 pools, one small one big, the small one was on maintenance so all the guests had to use 1 pool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Oregonfampluswine from Portland Oregon

Pretty good.

Posted Jul 27, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
This condo has all you need for a good trip. I would not rent a place without AC and in room washer and dryer. The rooms were nice but smaller than expected. Being in lahaina was great. Lots of nice restaurants within walking distance. If you are looking for a grand hotel, this is not your place. Kithchen is okay for 2-4 people but too small for 6. Biggest complaint is no table. Most VRBO rooms have small tables, so try them first. pools were also small but rarely busy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Flysjets from Riverside, CA, USA

Felt better than home! Awesome pool!

Posted Jul 6, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
My girlfriend was initially disappointed that the hotel I chose wasn't right on the ocean. After the first night at the Aina Nalu, she was happy it wasn't. Being centrally located in Lahaina, and within walking distance of downtown, we realized that not having to deal with the hustle of an ocean from hotel was more peaceful and more relaxing than we had hoped for. I went to Maui to relax and enjoy daily life as a local. The Aina Nalu and it's helpful staff made that all possible. Room comfort was top notch. Kitchen ammenities, the beds, and layout of the rooms were first rate. My only suggestion would be to out larger flat screen TVs in the living rooms. Thanks again for making our trip a memorable one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by cheeksx2 from Ewa Beach, HI, USA

We were so pleased with the location and atmosphere!... It felt like home!

Posted Jul 4, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, comfortable, great location, well kept/maintained
Cons: expensive parking - that's hi though!
Upon first arriving at the Outrigger Aina Nalu, I had done some rather intensive research, but still wasn't sure if it would live up to our expectations. Well, it did! The grounds were well kept, and the atmosphere was private and quiet. Our room, equipped with a kitchen and one bedroom was more than we expected. It was very clean and decorated nice, quickly feeling like our home-away-from home. We were pleased most with the location of this place. Though we had a car, we walked into downtown Lahaina everyday. It's right there in the heart of Lahaina, within walking distance from every restaurant, bar, store you could want to try. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would stay again in a heartbeat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jnacoll

Great location

Posted Jun 27, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Great location, walking distance to anything in Lahaina. Nice pool area. Only thing it is missing is a view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mere from Olympia, WA, USA

Wonderful Hotel!

Posted May 30, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet
We really enjoyed our stay at Aina Nalu. The staff was so friendly and warm, the grounds were lovely with artistic detail, and the saltwater pool was a life-saver when we were blown off the beach. It's the perfect walking distance from Front street. We thought it was the perfect place to stay while in Lahaina.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by OnTheRoad245 from California

Easy reach to snorkeling and shopping

Posted Apr 12, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
The reviews said you could get upgraded, so I took a chance and we got a lovely 1 bedroom instead of a single room. Great kitchen, moved me to cook, lots of closet space and a fine bathroom with a washer dryer. Great for beach and also for wandering around.