Ratings based on 145 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
by CSW1 from Olympia, WA

Spectacular & Serene Island Escape

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Wow - best vacation ever! We immediately felt at home at the Makena Beach & Golf Resort - incredible welcome, setting, activities, food, & service = total relaxation. We will go back again and again. Loved the Astronomy evening!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Maichan from Stamford, CT

Such nice service, beautiful property, great deal

Posted Sep 22, 2013
This hotel made our amazing experience in Maui all that much more fantastic.  What really made the stay memorable were the staff, from the welcoming and helpful people at valet who greeted us everytime we left and came back, the front desk, waiters at breakfast, poolside/beach staff (they come around periodically offering ice water! I've been to my share of resorts and never got offered this before), and housekeeping. Everything was said and done with a genuine smile, and they all helped us in any way they could. Another plus was that the valet staff always offered to give us towels or cold bottled water for no extra charge whenever they saw us heading out. That's such a nice service that you don't find at many places.  Especially coming from fairfield county/new York area, the kindness and happiness we felt from the staff was such a refreshing experience. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in wailea. Another plus - the beach here is reeeeeally nice!!! The pool is very mediocre but being in Hawaii, I'd pick a hotel with a spacious, clean beach over one with a grandiose pool any day. Mahalo!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lindsay81 from Clearfield, Utah

Friendly, comfortable & accomodating

Posted Sep 18, 2013
The Makena Beach & Golf Resort was amazing. The hotel is beautiful, the staff are so friendly & accommodating, the rooms are very nice & comfortable. The beach behind the hotel was so beautiful & some of our best snorkeling was done there. They also offer so many activities that can be booked right at the hotel. I booked our activities before our trip with some other providers & wish that I had done some of them with the hotel itself. Next time we return to Maui we will definitely be staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Friendsfromhouston from Houston texad

Location, sevice and value

Posted Sep 16, 2013
We could not have had a better experience!  Thanks so much to every employee we had the pleasure of interacting with.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler from Mountain House, CA

June 24-29,2013 review

Posted Jul 5, 2013
I like the service, the room is very clean. Food are Delicious but a little pricey. Birds were flying around the food area and eating exposed food off serving spoons. 
5 out of 5
by jlmrn1 from Atlanta, GA

Absolutely LOVED it!

Posted Jun 27, 2013
My friend and I stayed at the Makena Beach and Golf Resort last week for 6 nights. We were treated like royalty! Everyone we met, from concierge, to bell hops, to waiters-- everyone was so friendly and hospitable. The concierge was especially helpful in arranging the many activities to be enjoyed in Maui. We planned activities for every day we were there (Haleakala volcano sunrise bike tour, surfing lessons, Road to Hana, etc) and they gladly arranged everything. They were so knowledgeable and could answer any question you had. The resort is beautiful with lush vegetation everywhere. The location was perfect. Of all the areas we traveled in Maui, we agreed that our hotel was in the perfect spot. Close to other nice resorts, but also a little secluded to where it didn't seem all "touristy". We rented a car and easily got around Maui. There are a few restaurants nearby and many more in Kihei, just a short drive away. There are also several really nice restaurants in the resort. We ate the breakfast buffet at Cafe Kiowai twice. So yummy! Our room was nice and spacious. Newly remodeled. The beach and pool are beautiful as well, and not overcrowded at all. Waiters brought ice water to you while at the beach and pool, and also frozen grapes, all free of charge. Beach towels and lounge chairs on the beach were also provided at no cost. You can rent snorkeling equipment, as well as paddle boards and kayaks right there at the beach for a very reasonable price. There is coral reef rather close to the shore with plenty of fish to see. We also saw lots of big sea turtles, even while swimming! I would stay here again and recommend it highly! We had the most perfect vacation there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tdoggy from Folsom, CA

Excellent stay!

Posted Jun 27, 2013
The staff was Awesome! Every person I encountered was polite,helpful and treated my wife and I special. Beach was great as well.  I especially like that you could catch a boat to Molokini Right in front f the hotel! How cool is that? The concierge made all our reservations for us and we were greeted very warmly at every establishment they sent us to. It was quiet and relaxing, I don't think it cold have been any better for my first time in Maui.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Melindaa from California

AMAZING!!!!!!!

Posted May 25, 2013
My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. It was the best resort we have ever stayed at!!! The staff was so friendly and very helpful!! The food and drinks are a bit spendy but that is expected. We HIGHLY recommend Makena Beach and Golf Resort. We will be back!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Roxie2772 from San Antonio, TX

My favorite place in Maui!

Posted May 23, 2013
We enjoyed our stay in this property .. great staff and great food. The atmosphere is very relaxed. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We're definitely coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jack25 from New York, NY

Excellent resort and value!

Posted May 17, 2013
The wife and I just got back from our one week stay at the resort. This was our first time in Maui and we went for our baby moon. The resort is very nice and the staff truly made our stay wonderful. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff for the most part were great. Andy, the person who checked us in was very helpful and welcoming. Also the resort replenishes the water bottles in our room daily and provide towels and additional water bottles at the bell desk.   The grounds of the resort is kept immaculate. The pool area is well kept as well and we did not have any issues getting a chair and umbrella. Again, the staff was pretty cool at the pool area too. Very inviting and great fun to shoot the breeze with. The beach at the resort was also a great place to snorkel. We swam with a turtle on our first afternoon snorkeling there. One tip I would like to dispense is that if you will be snorkeling quite a bit during your stay in Maui, rent your snorkeling gear at a dive outfit like Maui Dive Shop, Bob's Snorkel, etc. The resort rental fee is a tad on the high side but again nothing too extravagant. The rooms are very nice as well. We stayed at a partial ocean view room with a king bed and it was very nice just waking up to the sound of the waves every morning. For the most part, we kept the sliding doors to the lanai opened and we had a nice breeze through the room. One word of caution is the restaurants at the resort aren't that great. We had the breakfast buffet one morning and we had dinner one night and the food definitely was not worth the price they are charging. I can't comment on Cafe on the Green. That place got good reviews but we never made it out to lunch there.    All in all, great place to stay and we will definitely stay here the next time we are in Maui.